Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 2,549
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westview High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
There is some amount of cheating that goes on (mostly by boys) and little is done to prevent it.

Westview High School 3

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Westview offers many AP classes and many clubs. Only a handful of teachers are top-notch, and most of the teachers are mediocre and quite a few really terrible ones. It's a very big high school, and neither the teachers nor the counselors have time to know or help the students.


Westview High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
A handful of great teachers, 10% good teachers, 25% are average and rest are bad. There are quite a few bad teachers who teach AP classes. It's terrible. If you go to the principal he has no clue about the bad teachers. They are losing some great teachers in science and math. The principal is new and doesn't seem to know what's going on wrt to teaching.

Westview High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers (only a few) are well organized, but most of the teachers don't do a good job balancing homework throughout the semester

Westview High School 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a student
It has options, good teachers, good curriculum, no bullying and a very nice overall environment. I came in as a freshman this year not knowing anybody coming from a small choice school in a different district.


Westview High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. The teachers, and students are great and I believe is the best highschool in Oregon. It has the highest number of AP graduates and great career tracks.

Westview High School 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school ever. It's clean, friendly, open, and has amazing teachers. I have a mouthful of positive things to say about this school, but to keep it short, I've never been to a better high school. What I like best is Westview's school spirit and athletics, but Westview also gave me some of the best teachers I've ever had in my school life.

Westview High School 1

Posted May 19, 2011
- a student
I'm sorry to say that I do have the same good experience as many of the reviewers here, and it's probably because I have one very different factor from the average student. I suffer from aspergers syndrome; when I lost a close family member, I started having depression and trouble in school. So, what did my school do? They sent me to a well-hidden school for students with mental instability. Now, there's nothing wrong with transferring a student to a place more compatible with their special needs, but Beaverton School District's special education program receives minimal funding and patronizes its students. Students with special needs are given no chance to excel, even though they may be just as intelligent as the next student underneath their problems. Beware BSD's mental health stigma!


Westview High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
great school with a beautiful campus. the kids here are great and always very friendly and they push themselves to reach there goals.

Westview High School 5

Posted May 27, 2007
- a student
this year has been a tough year for me. my grades have been falling down. all of my teachers have noticed and tried to talk with me. i appreciate the staff here and they all care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westview High School
4200 NW 185th Ave, Portland, OR  97229
(503) 259-5218
Last modified Westview High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westview High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top