Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 2,549
 

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Westview High School 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a student
It has options, good teachers, good curriculum, no bullying and a very nice overall environment. I came in as a freshman this year not knowing anybody coming from a small choice school in a different district.

Westview High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. The teachers, and students are great and I believe is the best highschool in Oregon. It has the highest number of AP graduates and great career tracks.


Westview High School 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school ever. It's clean, friendly, open, and has amazing teachers. I have a mouthful of positive things to say about this school, but to keep it short, I've never been to a better high school. What I like best is Westview's school spirit and athletics, but Westview also gave me some of the best teachers I've ever had in my school life.

Westview High School 1

Posted May 19, 2011
- a student
I'm sorry to say that I do have the same good experience as many of the reviewers here, and it's probably because I have one very different factor from the average student. I suffer from aspergers syndrome; when I lost a close family member, I started having depression and trouble in school. So, what did my school do? They sent me to a well-hidden school for students with mental instability. Now, there's nothing wrong with transferring a student to a place more compatible with their special needs, but Beaverton School District's special education program receives minimal funding and patronizes its students. Students with special needs are given no chance to excel, even though they may be just as intelligent as the next student underneath their problems. Beware BSD's mental health stigma!

Westview High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
great school with a beautiful campus. the kids here are great and always very friendly and they push themselves to reach there goals.


Westview High School 5

Posted May 27, 2007
- a student
this year has been a tough year for me. my grades have been falling down. all of my teachers have noticed and tried to talk with me. i appreciate the staff here and they all care.

Westview High School 4

Posted December 09, 2006
- a student
I went to this school and am now in high school, now I think I wish Westview had better teachers than sprots palyers.

Westview High School 5

Posted November 14, 2006
- a parent
This school is overall 'above average'.


Westview High School 5

Posted July 11, 2006
- a student
I personally think westview is a great school. The staff is amazing and they really care for you if you aren't yourself. If you haven't realized it yet, most of the teachers have hundreds of students so it is kind of impossible for them to get back to you immediately by email. Just email them! Its not that hard! I have had a great first year at this school and I could tell I was in a great environment. All the staff cared for me and they were encouraging me to take more challenging course work. It may be easy to fall into the cracks of this school but it is definitely not that hard to get out if you try to get the help you need. The new principle this year was great and tried to meet each of the students. Overall, Westview is THE BEST school here in Oregon.

Westview High School 3

Posted May 29, 2006
- a parent
As one parent stated before the teachers are very overloaded and do not e-mail or contact you immediately. My son's couselor has not been effective at communicating, which surprises me. My son went from almost a 4 point to no grade at all over the course of the year. Classes are not challenging and they do not see a need to change his courses. Too many kids, not enough teachers and not enough concern for the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westview High School
4200 NW 185th Ave, Portland, OR  97229
(503) 259-5218
Last modified Westview High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westview High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top