Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jacob Wismer Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

I believe this school is rated so high based on the students that attend, not on the administration. This area is very affluent and therefore the majority of the students are over-achievers. If all of these students were suddenly transplanted to a lower-rated school, that school's test scores would sky rocket and all of a sudden that school would be a 10/10. The principal at this school has made many questionable decisions when dealing with students and some teachers seem very nervous to say or do anything to assert themselves towards the principle - I prefer a school where the principal looks to the staff for input, not a dictatorship. Teachers are really great though - they all seem to care about the kids which is nice, however, if you're looking for advanced education, you won't find it here. We are looking at other alternatives that are truly more well rounded and not just based so heavily on test scores - because, as I said before, the majority of the kids here would test just as well no matter what school they attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

I have 3 children who have attended (two still attending) Jacob Wismer. I think it would be hard to find a school as great as this one. The teachers are great. I can say that because we have had 11 of them between my 3 children. They are progressive, energetic, kind, communicative, and we have not had a bad experience yet. The building is nice with a huge library at the heart and center. We have found the other children high achieving academically & well mannered. If I had to point out a negative, it would be that after school clubs & activities are not that impressive & that the class sizes are large (27 in 1st grade this year, 31 in 4th.) Also, the students are so high achieving that my average kids feel like they are not as smart as everyone else at times. The school has a very high population of Asian students. So much that my caucasian children are a minority. This is a unique experience for my kids to be having & I am hopeful that it is making them more open & accepting of other cultures.Lots of parents volunteer & the teachers seem to welcome the help. I have found the other parents to be very nice and definitely highly educated. All in all, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Whether or not you get a good teacher at this school is very hit or miss. We have had one that was so-so, one that was good and one that was absolutely fantastic. The leadership in this building is abysmal. The principal seems incapable of making decisions and when she does they are usually bad ones. Class sizes are up to about 29-30 students per class and will be even higher next year. All that being said, this school has an incredible parent volunteer base that provides opportunities for the students that would not otherwise be available, like: Junior Great Books, Passport Club and Art Literacy. Also, because many of the students at this school come from Intel and Nike families, many, many of these students are high achievers and come from families where academics are very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

I went to Jacob Wismer the first year that it opened. It started off great, with a responsible principal and nice kids. Everyone was very involved and it really felt like a community. The environment was very nice. However, the principal changed after a while, and lots of staff left as the years went by... many of the teachers kept getting pregnant. The hiring of teachers is very biased; they keep on hiring young females who pick favorites. The school has lots of money but wastes it on technology; they get the newest computers like every single year. I went to visit a couple years later when I was in high school and it was a wreck.


Posted October 21, 2011

Jacob Wismer is incredibly underwhelming. There is absolutely no leadership in this school. If you have a shy, studious child, he or she will be overrun by the bullies/obnoxious children. Wismer promotes 'group punishment', so again, if you have quiet children, as we do, they will lose their recess time because regularly thanks to the misbehaved children in the bunch. Militaristic style with no consistency. If you have young children, and considering a move to Beaverton, look at Bethany, Terra Linda, or Cedar Mill. The only positive I can think of is the tremendous parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I went to this school from kindergarten to fifth grade, graduated to Stoller Middle School, and am now in Westview High School. From kindergarten to third grade, we had a very kind, helpful and wonderful principal, but from then on we had new principals every year that didn't really contribute to the school. There's a ton of diversity at this school. I remember that everyone was kind and friendly to everyone, and that we were always excited to welcome new students and even new teachers. The teachers were always helpful and prepared us well for middle school. This school is an amazing experience for all kids.


Posted March 13, 2010

In 2010, 23 fifth graders were qualified to gifted and talented middle school program. Most parents in JW pick up their own responsibility in educating their kids. They also expect a lot from the school, but a lot of them were disappointed. Despite a lot of drills and quizzes, there is a lack of intention to enhance the intellectual ability of the students (which is also common in most schools nationally.). Some parents are so keen on making their children to be advance, they will find their ways to make sure their kids are well prepared before any sorts of test in school. As a result, the school has very impressive test scores. I find the school is just like any public school in the U.S. Well, it is a green school. I am more impressed by the dedication of the parents to make the school different.


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers at Jacob Wismer make learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My son attended this school for 3.5 years. Overall it is a pretty good school for average children. My son was highly advanced in math and reading and learned nothing in school on these topics for 3 full years. He was extremely bored and went from loving school to dreading school. Parent involvement was very high, but also very necessary with class sizes in the upper 20s. If any teacher wanted to accommodate advanced or remedial learning, parent help was necessary. We were very pleased with a lot of the parent run programs, including the geography and art programs. We feel the school has such high test scores because the parents take such an interest in their child's education, not because of high quality teaching. After 3.5 years we were finally frustrated enough to move our child to a different school. He now LOVES school and is learning in every subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

We moved to the Jacob Wismer 1 year ago from a small alternative school, so my standards are a little high. That being said, I think JW is a decent school for its large size. The facilities are nice, well organized and safe. There are a lot of Intel families and so there are quite a few intelligent, involved parents. There are also quite a few Asian and Indian families, so if you are looking for a community, you will find it here. But your student's experience will depend largely on the teacher (s)he gets... especially if there are special needs (504, IEP, TAG) to be met. Make sure you have a good match! The kids spend their entire day with the same teacher (except 1 hour of 'specials') and the same 25 kids... even at lunch. And the entire class + teacher loop for 2 grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

We moved near Jacob Wismer in large part due to the reputation of the school and area. We've been so pleased with our decision! Our daughter (Kindergarten) is absolutely thriving, loves her teacher, loves the school and is enjoying learning - what more can you ask in the early stages??!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Excellent School. Teachers and Administrators really care. They go the extra mile. Someone from the JW staff is always working late. The last school we were at was a ghost town at 4:00 pm. I live nearby and see that the principals are often leaving past 7:00pm. If (when) there is a problem, they are very quick, caring, yet firm. The children feel safe and it is a great environment to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Jacob Wismer is a good school for average or below-average students, but parents who want to serve the needs of higher achieving students should look outside the Beaverton School District. BSD and JW administrators are only concerned with the state test scores. There are a lot of students at this school, and rules are necessary. Rules about who you can sit with at lunch and overly conservative playground rules take any sense of choice away from the kids. There are many excellent teachers -- but there are others who should not be teaching. There is a lot of parent involvement, but it is usually centered upon what parents can do for their own children. It is very hard to get folks to volunteer for activities and programs that benefit more than just individual students. Don't be fooled by the hype!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

Jacob wismer is a great school. It has great teachers. The students are well behaved. This year it had new special technology class and it also has a lot of after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

A clean and safe school. However, if you have a really gifted kid, this may not be the best place. The school primarily focuses on helping the academically weaker kids to pass state tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

Many caring, dedicated teachers. Wonderful facility with new equipment, technology, books and lots quality enrichment activities including artists-in-residence program, educational assemblies and authors visits. Ethnically diverse. High level of parent involvement and volunteer opportunities. Amazingly organized and run like a ship to keep all 775 students safe and on-task. A great place and I feel lucky to have my kids attend one of the top schools in the Beaverton School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Good school. Excellent teached and program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Jacob Wismer is a great public school in terms of a warm, caring environment and dedicated teachers, a decent extra-curricular program. But now they are running out of space and are teaching a class in a portable on the field, which was small to begin with. The cafeteria is so crowded, lunch begins at 10:30 am! They do a good job with average or under-achieving kids but my gifted, overactive child is bored in class... but that could be because her particular teacher isn't the greatest at channeling bright kids' into challenging enough work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learners83%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learners75%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learners83%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female>=95%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 51% 4%
White 39% 65%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5477 NW Skycrest Parkway
Portland, OR 97229
Phone: (503) 533-1950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT