Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 190 students

We are best known for excellence in programs & staff.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2014

We really wanted our neighborhood school to work, but our kids were getting lost in the large class sizes and masses of worksheets. Once we switched to SWCS, they thrived. The classrooms are fun, engaging, and the community is very strong. Yes, it is charter which brings financial challenges that require fundraising (but isn't that the state of all schools?) but here we can definitely feel like our kids needs are being put first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Everything I'd like to say has already been said by the other 1 and 2 star reviews. In short, SWCS did not provide the alternative education we expected and wanted for our child. Philosophies boasted on the schools website fall short. Once you are in the focus is on raising money for the school. That and everything already stated in the other low reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

My child is very happy at SWCS. She is excelling academically and much more engaged and challenged than at her previous school. While this school may not be a great fit for all children, an independent learner who benefits from full integration of creative and intellectual endeavors will do well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

My daughter came to this school in 6th grade and stayed till 8th. During her time here she broke out of her shell, made many friends and bonded with teachers. She is now going into highschool full of confidence. Academically she is right where she needs to be thanks to the awesome teachers at SWCS! My son also attends this school and has come a long way socially fitting in and making friends. He is high functioning Aspergers/autistic and SWCS has helped him learn the social skills he needs. Academically he is excelling according to all the state testing, so thank you SWCS! You have done a wonderful job with my kids! They both love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

After a few years at Southwest Charter, my kids were not where they needed to be academically to fit back in to the mainstream school system. They had fun at farms, rivers, plays and museums during their time at SWCS, but are missing chunks of learning that have left them struggling now. We are spending a lot of time and money getting them caught up to where they need to be in all subject areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

My son has autism. We had two wonderful years with this school. School placement is always difficult with special need children especially when resources are limited. We love this school because teacher and staff have the right level of flexibility, open-mindedness, positive attitute, sense of humor, and willingness to try new things. We met the most wonderful teacher and children in this school and we learned a lot from them. Education is a shared-responsibility between school and parents. We feel grateful that this school gave us an opportunity to successfully intergrate my son into the neuro-typical world. It is actually quite creative to effectively use public facilities to save costs given that charter schools are receiving much less fundings compared to traditional public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Our child attended SW Charter School for three years. We chose SWCS as an alternative to PPS. We thought the 'Place-based Learning' approach and emphasis on natural science would be a good fit for our child who had struggled in a more traditional learning environment. Although there are a few individuals at the school dedicated to providing a supportive, engaging education following this model, we were mostly disappointed. SWCS is anti-academic (i.e. garbage collection = science!), has unaddressed bullying issues and very high teacher and student turnover (The 3 teachers we had have all left the school. The class rooster was @ 20% revolving door, with a significant drop by the end of the year). There is no library, computer lab, gym or grass play areas, and a general lack of the basics. Our experience (not unique to us) was that important educational decisions concerning a student were dictated by the administrator (with disregard for parental input) and non-negotiable. For our time there, SWCS did not deliver a quality alternative education option. Additionally, they were counter-productive in bringing child, family and school together for good educational outcomes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

Southwest Charter School was working hard to change the education system the first two years they were open. Since then, the school has hit a downward spiral. They're prime concern is with survival and it does not leave them time to focus on the needs of the students. Over the past two years, I withdrew both my children from SWCS. If your child has special needs of any sort, that is not a priority at SWCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

We have been a part of SW Charter for going on 2 years now. We currently have all 3 of our kids in K, 2 and 4th grades. It does take some effort to get the kids to the school, but if your kids are important to you, I can assure you, that once in school their time is well spent. The staff and teachers, and smaller class sizes allow the education to go where the kids are and light fires in them. No DOUBTS from us, hearing our KINDER kids crying because she wants to go to school FULL DAYS never happened in the local neighborhood schools. At SWC our kids are learning, and learning more by doing. IMHO it's an effort that's well worth it. PS ---> Get in NOW while you can with the new location it will be FULL again soon. Nothing is worse than knowing where you want them to go and not being able to have it happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

Our experience with SWCS has been fantastic. The school focuses on community-building and encourages critical thinking. Science, history, and art are skillfully woven into the core curriculum. The cllass sizes are small so everyone gets the attention they need and deserve. Every single teacher seems dedicated to quality teaching. This school is truly a gem and we feel so fortunate to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Southwest Charter School has been great for my quiet, shy child who we were afraid would 'get lost' in a large classroom. Class size is capped at 22. There are 16 kindergarten students this year, equally split between boys and girls. I love that the kids go outside to learn and explore rain or shine. The teachers are passionate about the school and the kids. The school is not in a traditional building and does not consistently offer traditional sports. If this does not matter to you or you consider it a plus, definitely look into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

The secret is out -- this is an amazing school. What a unique approach to education -- place based learning. Furthermore, SWCS has great student-teacher ratios, caring and involved parents and wonderful students. Oh -- and the teachers are incredible. A true gem -- we had no idea a public school could be this good, this, coming from a family who was in private school here in Portland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Really excellent place of learning. The staff is passionate, caring, and dedicated. And, the school is moving into a really impressive new space on the South Waterfront.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Southwest Charter School (K-8) is moving next week to its new South Waterfront location: 0680 SW Bancroft. When PPS did not grant it a charter, the State did (hence you will not find it on PPS's list of Charter Schools). Interestingly enough, there are many parent educators that send their own children to this school. I feel very thankful we found the school because I consider it a jewel. The School Director, teachers and staff make it a special place. The staff know your child by name. My child came to the school already with the love to learn and be challenged and the school continues the love from all the little things the teachers incorporate into the everyday lessons. The teachers write their own curriculum, they can respond to the class and their quest for knowledge in the direction that benefits the class. Classes are 22 students maximum. No school is perfect, and this school has had its own set of challenges, but with it finally moving to its own home, it will have more time to attend to other wants and desires of the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I love SW Charter! My child was bullied at her last school on a daily basis and came home in tears. At SWCS they have a no tolerance policy for that. She is treated with respect by her teachers and, the school staff are amazing. Her class goes outside the classroom to research and examine the world through new eyes. Now that they are in their new larger building in the south waterfront there are no limits as to what they can do. Tell everyone about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

We have been involved with Southwest Charter school since our doors opened. We are very proud to be a part of this community. Thank you, Michelle Rundorff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

We left our very highly rated neighborhood school frustrated by the large classes and by a principal who was more interested in protecting the appearance of a well running school instead of trying to make the school great. There were some good teachers, some less so, most were average. Overall, it felt like everyone was just trying to get by. SWCS is totally different. Most important, the teachers are amazing, across the board. The classes are small, so the teacher actually knows our kid - really well. And the instruction is far more engaging. While the basics are properly covered, they also do a lot more hands on experiential learning. Our first grader taught us more about the lifecycle of a salmon than I ever thought I'd want to know. He's learning and he loves school. enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

SWCS is rated "Excellent" by the Oregon Department of Education. This rating is a hard-fought victory; earned through the combined efforts of an exceptional teaching staff, extraordinary ancillary staff, and dedicated leadership. SWCS's Place-Based education philosophy is in a word 'engaging'. The teachers are engaged, and inspired to write curriculum that in turn engages the children. Rote memorization, photocopied worksheets and antiquated textbooks have been replaced by a fully integrated, validated curriculum of authentic learning experiences. The recent move of SWCS to Portland's South Waterfront neighborhood is the beginning of a new era of public school excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I didn't know what to expect when I enrolled my son in KG at SWCS. Wow, have a been pleasantly surprised. The teachers are phenomenal and love what they do! Small class sizes and great kids/parents. The curriculum is great and the kids go outside to learn 2-3 time per day. My son teaches me stuff about community/environment all the time now. I highly recommend looking into SWCS. Talk to some of the other parents there. The sense of school community is unlike any other school I have seen. And the new building in the South Waterfront will be one of the best school locations in Portland. The waiting list for some grades can be pretty long. We got in on a lottery. Tip - If you find yourself really interested in SWCS you can enroll your child in the last part of this year (if there is space) and then you are guaranteed a spot next year without having to go through a lottery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

My son loves his school. He knows that he is safe, respected and cared for as an individual. He's thriving, well above grade level in reading and at or above grade level in math but even more important than that he loves the process of learning new things. He's inspired to push himself outside of the classroom, he even asks me to make him math quizes! I wanted my son to be a thinker, to love learning, not just to know facts and I know all that will be achieved at Southwest Charter School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female29%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female50%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female63%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female55%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female55%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female73%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female63%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female63%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female71%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female86%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female38%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female88%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 65%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A51%
Female 34%N/A48%
Male 66%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rated "Outstanding" on the Oregon Schools State Report Card (2010)
  • Rated "Outstanding" on the Oregon Schools State Report Card (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Anne Gurnee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (503) 244-1709

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Science
  • Technology

Resources

School facilities
  • Garden
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

More from this school
  • We believe; Our small size benefits each child by allowing us the flexibility to explore methods and techniques not logistically possible in more traditional settings. Community and parental involvement, as well as classroom volunteerism, is critical to our success. Children learn best when participating in authentic, hands-on learning experiences that are closely tied to the community. Our place-based approach improves student achievement, help students develop a closer connection with the community in which they live, creates an appreciation for the natural world, and cultivates a desire to serve as active and committed citizens.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Portland Public Schools K-6 programs
Surrounding Districts K-6 programs
Home School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

0680 SW Bancroft St.
Portland, OR 97239
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 244-1697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT