Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Skyline Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
Our children are continually challenged to bring their best self to school each day. The staff works hard to create a respectful and safe environment. We love the IB program because it teaches critical thinking starting in kindergarten!

Skyline Elementary School 3

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
What used to be a wonderful school for quirky kids, even those with high functioning autism, is now an institution reserved for compliant typical students who don't make waves. My child, once welcomed, was eventually run out of the school by a new principal who has little compassion for kids who don't fit the mold. Would not recommend this School.


Skyline Elementary School 3

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
Skyline was a wonderful school under the expert guidance of Principal Ben Keefer. Unfortunately for the school and the children attending it, Ben was forced by PPS to become Principal at a larger struggling inner city school. His current replacement Jill Sage lacks leadership skills and is forcing the school in the wrong direction. Children are subjected to many arbitrary rules. For example: running, tag and touching are banned at recess, and middle school children are shamed for asking questions without raising their hands. Many long-term families have pulled their children and are sending them to private schools or Sylvan. It is a sad decline to a once great school. School staff obsess over improving test scores without remembering that happy children make better learners and unhappy children learn far less. It breaks my heart to give this review. A few short years ago, Skyline was a magical place. Now I too am moving my child to a new school.

Skyline Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Good school in picturesque northwest hills, friendly teachers and staff members, best community, awesome corn-fest...

Skyline Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
This school has been a wonderful place for my children. My children transferred to this school in the middle of the academic year. The transition was smooth, thanks to the fantastic staff and wonderful administration at Skyline. My family was welcomed with opened arms! My daughter has an IEP and the school worked very hard to make sure she continued to receive the services she needs. I am so thankful for this school. Skyline is a gem!


Skyline Elementary School 1

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
This school is great when kids are in elementary school. However,when the kids are in middle school some of the teachers can be lazy and dont have high standards for your child. I really dont reccomend this school for middle schoolers.

Skyline Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a parent
We transferred to Skyline because of the school size and LOVE this undiscovered gem. The principal and staff are caring, the students are age appropriate and kind to each other. The school is piloting the IB program which is very exciting academically.

Skyline Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2007
- a parent
Great academic program. Great teachers. Awesome natural environment and facilities. Supportive and involved community.


Skyline Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
We love Skyline.There are many e/c activities to choose from: soccer, basketball, baseball, music, Science, Scouts, Outdoor Club, etc.The teachers, staff, and parents are all extremely dedicated to the education/well being of our kids. When you look around at Skyline, the kids are happy and accepting of eachother. The teachers know everyone's names, and your child doesn't get lost in the crowd like at a larger school. We chose to live here because Skyline is our neighborhood school.

Skyline Elementary School 1

Posted March 08, 2007
- a parent
Quality of academic programs are poor. There is little or no availability for extracurricular activities due to poor funding. However the parent involvement is great.

Nearby schools

Skyline Elementary School
11536 NW Skyline Blvd, Portland, OR  97231
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (503) 916-5212
Last modified Skyline Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top