Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richmond Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

I love this school. It's amazing to see how hispanic parents get involved in theirs students' studies and assignments. I can greatly say that I'm utterly happy with this school. I'm a binational teacher and I love Richmond and its staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2010

I love Richmond Elementary school. I'm a freshman in college who goes there to help in a classroom. The atmosphere and motivation from all those I work with is amazing.


Posted April 13, 2010

I attended Richmond like ten years ago. I now volunteer there and I feel like this school is getting better every year. Teacher's are great as while. I would really recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

The school is without focus, which is directly attributable to the Principal. It is strange how 4th Graders, who should be getting daily homework have none, while 2nd Graders are being overly burdened with multiple daily assignments. There also appears to be a lack of empathy with reagards to minor injuries. A simple bandaid does a lot to address the psychological aspect of pain, and allows a student to focus better on the tasks at hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I have taught for 37 years, some of those years in huge Districts like LA and some in little tiny Districts, like Detroit, Oregon. I have a taught every grade level from K-12. So I feel qualified to rate a school. Richmond School is outstanding in its leadership, energy, determination to help every single child reach their potential, in caring about the daily lives of children, in modeling positive behavior and in bringing together a professional, experienced, cohesive staff that cares very much about this school. Every day is used to continue reaching our highest potential, to become one of the most successful elementary schools in this state. Most Sincerely, Diane Millican
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2008

My daughter is a kindergarten student of Mr.Sherman. He is a dedicated teacher and my daughter truly enjoyes him and is learning. I will admit there are a few violent students in her class and the school has a generally violent feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

This is a horrible school. Kids are violent and curse. The teachers do not take action to try and change this school. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

Richmond provides an excellent ERC classroom, with a teacher who my son absolutely adores. Ms. Carter has a very special ability with the children in her class, and it is apparrent that the kids connect with her. It is a joy to watch my son go to school here; it is certainly a positive environment for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female33%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female35%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners30%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female56%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners63%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female69%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners53%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female38%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female55%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 21%
White 30% 65%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

466 Richmond Ave SE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 399-3180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT