Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delphian School

Private | K-12 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sheridan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $795.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

I love the teaching methods... A dictionary is a students best friend....Dorm life rocks!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

The best group of friends I've ever made. The most helpful application based education, and an incredible literary foundation for college and beyond.


Posted September 18, 2009

I love The Delphian School because it gives children and young adults the opportunity to be responsible for their own education. Each student has their own, individualized program that contains challenging curriculum as well classes and activities that they are interested in. Plus, there is the practical side to our program that gives the students hands-on experience where they have to rise to the occasion and get a product. Our ethics technology is something that sets us apart from other schools. When a student realized that they LIKE to study, do ethical things and help others be more ethical, they flourish so much! Our program is meant for the student, so that they may grow into the person that they want to be. So they can find the things they love about themselves and strengthen them. So they can handle the things they don't like about themselves. And, most importantly, so they may have the determination, integrity, ethics and know-how to achieve ANYTHING they want to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Some of the great things about Delphian are how they help students to learn and apply efficient study methods and habits. Each student works on their own educational program and moves as rapidly as they can apply and learn their subjects. Students also work together but they don't hold their schoolmates back, and there are no grading curves. A student doesn't move from one course or level to the next until they really grasp their materials. There are no D or C students moving up the grades to more advanced subjects even more difficult to grasp than the previous one they just managed to 'pass'. Our Delphian graduate son is currently attending a major university on an academic merit scholarship. He has real goals and real enthusiasm for accomplishing his goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Since I am too old to have been a student I am the next luckiest thing - the parent of a graduate. I had the security of complete confidence that Delphian was providing a safe, sane, productive, challenging and all around loving environment for my daughter. She thrived in academics, athletics and in projects requiring initiative, knowledge and persistence. She is my hero and Delphian helped her to become and maitain this. I love Delphian.


Posted September 17, 2009

The Delphian School is really incredible. All the staff and faculty are there to help you and make sure you achieve your education goals and are ready and able to do what you want to do in life. You are challenged both with in your studies and in sports, arts and many other areas. I made lifelong friends when I attended Delphi and I loved it so much, I sent my oldest son there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The Delphian School has everything that the American public school system is lacking. This is where I learned and actually understood history, literature, science, math, etc. But more than that, I learned to take responsibility, be a leader and that learning is fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The Delphian School emphasizes on fully comprehension of what you are studying and being able to apply what you learn to life. The unique curriculum is outstanding and sets it above all other schools I've come across.


Posted September 17, 2009

This school prepared me for life. Sending me here was the best decision my parents ever made. I am grateful every day for the things I learned at Delphian. I am so lucky to have had such an outstanding education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Delphi is amazing!! I gained so much from it in the area of academics and my ability to get things done. I also had tons of fun, and love all the staff and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Amazing staff and an incredible curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The Delphian School is the best school on the planet. It is small, so you know everyone. There aren't cliques or gangs. People have ethics, integrity and leadership skills. The curriculum is rigorous, and you come out of that school as a sane, intelligent individual. The school is go at your own pace. And the teachers are right there to help you or push you if you're in trouble. The information that you gain from this school is not found anywhere else in the world. And you have that incredible knowledge when you're about 18 years old. After graduating from the Delphian School, I know I can do anything that I want and succeed in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Delphi is a very challenging school that tests your abilities and sets you up nicely to enter a world and have the skills to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This school was the greatest thing that ever happened to me. I became able to study whatever I want and I know what I want to produce in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I graduated from The Delphian School, and it literally changed my life. One of the best decisions I ever made was to go there. The program is phenomenal--so much more than your average high school. Part of this is that the school teaches leadership, responsibility, ethics, competence, and integrity as part of the core of the curriculum, in addition to strong academics themselves. Not to mention it's beautiful and fun! Couldn't recommend it more highly. I still stay in close touch with the school and the many friends I made there (both staff and students.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

They are a great school. You become able as a person to pursue any dream you have.


Posted September 17, 2009

The Delphian School gave me an education like none other. Usually when students leave high school they never talk about what they liked about school because they were so focused on getting out. When students leave the Delphian School they constantly come back to visit because they loved it, and they are eternally grateful for the education they got there. I would never change my experience at The Delphian School and I'm glad that I graduated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The responsibility and sense of ethics, as well as a rock-solid education, are beyond that of most colleges. Never mind high schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Delphi is hands-down amazing. You have to see it to believe it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

The best education, no psych drugs or counseling, freedom to be a young adult and feel great, and the staff are super cool and very helpful in raising leaders for the future!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 39% 4%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
  • Some boarding, some day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20950 Rock Creek Road
Sheridan, OR 97378
Phone: (503) 843-3521

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






West Valley Academy
Sheridan, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT