Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delphian School

Private | K-12 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sheridan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $795.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter graduated from The Delphian School and I couldn't be happier with the responsible and ethical adult she has become. She has a world view far beyond her years which I largely attribute to the excellent curriculum available at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

We have two boys at Delphi. We started with one but once we saw the incredible results of our older one we also decided to start our younger son. Both are making very good academic strides but in addition, they have become more confident, more responsible individuals working on their academics on their own self determinism. My older son disliked grammar and algebra and saw no need for these subjects when he came to Delphi. Now he has become very proficient in these and even likes them! He says his viewpoint had been looking through a narrow tunnel and now his whole perspective on life changed and his viewpoint has broadened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

My daughter has excelled at the Delphian school. Her reading and vocabulary are what You would normally see in a college student of 2 years. She is also become a great person while being there. We are very pleased as the public school system just doesn't delivery this kind of product in a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

When our kids finished pre-school they were ready for college- Well almost! After homeschooling them and trying other private schools, we enrolled one of our daughters at the Delphian School in Oregon. Since attending the Delphian school, she has grown in more ways than she ever would have at home. She has become the student body president and a great leader. Her communication skills are caring and effective. She knows how to complete a project to a DONE. I really love the personal attention not only the students receive at Delphi, but also the attention and care given to the parents as well. I see that the Delphian School cares for the WHOLE family by staying in communication from all departments. I regularly receive communication from the science, foreign language, physical education, arts and senior faculty. My daughter loves being independent and thrives in an ethical, highly motivated to learn environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

The Delphian School is truly unique. The program is a competence-based system (as opposed to time-based grades), the structure and application of which ensures that children really understand and can apply what they're studying. Children learn methods to help them through any study problems with real understanding. The school's holistic approach to education takes into account the well-being of the child at every stage of development. They do not let a child progress past things he or she doesn't understand, while at the same time, the instructors encourage children to excel in all of their fields of interest. My daughters have been at the school for two years, and they've never been happier nor shown such enthusiasm for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

My son was quite precocious and public school was not giving him the academic interest he needed, thus he would find himself finding other not so positive activities to get involved in. Not terribly bad, but definitely we could see the 'writing on the wall'. He interviewed the school and after seeing what it had to offer demanded we allow him to go. That happened for the summer program and after that he demanded that he stay and graduate (he was 12). He's been there for nearly one year now and I've watched him grow academically (he's challenged finally), his interests broadened in other areas (sports, music, computers, math), and in his social skills. . The school is dedicated to helping the child reach their potential. I'd highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

The Delphian School has been an entire family envolement, one that has been rewarding for all. Our son graduated last June and is thriving in anything he does. He received from Delphi the most any parent could want from an educational facility, the tools he will need to live life to the fullest. But most importantly, how to apply those tools correctly and with certainty. Our family is a strong supporter of the Delphian School and would like to extend an invitation to every family that is searching for a true education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

My daughter is currently enrolled and this the second term she has attended. The most impressive aspect of this program is the strong academics combined with the leadership and team building skills that the students are challenged to learn and practice. The Delphian School has taken a bright, energetic, out spoken 13 year old and helped her develop her skills in leadership. Additionally, in the first year she worked to further develop writing skills that I would have expected from a first year college student. She wrote over 7000 words, all stories with great content, grammar and spelling. This was accomplished on her own command of the language and did not rely on the short cuts provided in this age of computerization and spell checks. Having my daughter away from home is a sacrifice, but that is far out weighed by the quality of education she is receiving and using!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

When our 24 yr old was 9 years old he called and registered himself (no kidding) for their summer program after meeting some of their students. Not only did he have a great deal of fun with their VERY active summer program, he got to choose the courses he was interested in, loved his studies, excelled in their half theory, half hands on program. They corrected his handwriting and brought his interest up in reading. Our 22 year old attended 2 years. His academic scores went to a whole new level after one year of HS. He loved the school. Our 18 yr old loved all 6 years, graduating in 2004. She played 3 sports, was a member of choir, student council, theater, toured Europe, went on 2 business trips (east and west coast), read hundreds of books, (classics) and made wonderful lifetime friendships. Drugfree, high standards, multi-national, challenging, beautiful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I'm not sure I could be happier with The Delphian School. My daughter has progressed from being a bit shy to being outgoing, motivated in the extreme and with a enormous self-imposed sense of honesty. She's always been good academically, the school has helped to push this so that she is challenged, not floating along. The staff maintain the respect of the students by their knowledge, caring and industriousness. They have the proper balance of being professional and being friendly. Participation on the sports teams has been broadening for my daughter and kept her very fit. Though my daugher is 3,000 miles away geographically, we are very close and I am involved with the school. I visit 2-3 times per year and I am welcomed as part of the group. Honestly, I have only positive things to say and recommend the school to any student who meets the standards for enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 39% 4%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
  • Some boarding, some day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20950 Rock Creek Road
Sheridan, OR 97378
Phone: (503) 843-3521

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






West Valley Academy
Sheridan, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT