Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middleton Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 582 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

My oldest child attended kindergarten and Middleton and we had the best experience. She was in all-day kindergarten, which probably made the difference in being exposed to more learning opportunities. During the year she learned how to read, handle difficult math questions and solve problems. Socially she became more confident thanks to a strong, loud teacher. The opportunities for music class and computer lab are great.. We were so glad to have our daughter attend the school, even if just for a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I had an all together different experience with the kindergarten program at Middleton. While my daughter did attend 2 years of preschool prior to attending Middleton I realize that this is a luxury some can not afford. I believe the teacher did a wonderful job of integrating teaching socialization to those that had not been in classroom environment before while also nurturing those that had. Our child's class size was what I expected from a community that people flock to for the best rated schools. Our daughter came out of kindergarten reading, writing well and feeling confident in her abilities. I have yet to meet anyone working in this school who does not give 110% to their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

As the school year ends we are very disappointed with the 1/2 day kinder program. We have heard 1st grade gets better so we are hoping for a better teacher and academic program next year. We will be sending our younger child to private kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the posting about kindergarten. The 1/2 day program is less rigorous than the preschool my child attended. The teacher/student ratio is very high in that class. In general, teachers and admin do very little to support kids who are ahead. Parent suggestions that will provide extra enrichment for a child, at no cost, are shut down because they don't meet "policy." It is extremely frustrating to watch an advanced child make little progress because the school won't provide ideas, enrichment, support, or suggestions to help that child succeed. Among the positives; wonderful music teacher, librarian, PE and technology programs. The facilities are newer and well thought out. Great parent involvement and community support for the school. Some classroom teachers are top notch and really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

If you have kindergarten age children I would strongly recommend paying the $350/month for full day kindergarten. It seemed silly to me that our neighbors were doing this, even the ones with one parent staying home. After a short time at Middleton we see why, the 1/2 day program is similar to a play group only with almost 30 children and one teacher compared to the 12:1 ratio our kids had in preschool. The full day kids have a smaller group and a full time aid combined with a great, energetic teacher which is providing them with so much more of an actual school experience than the 1/2 day kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

Parents at this school are very involved and work with their kids at home. Most kids come to this school knowing what they need to both academically and socially. The teachers I have experienced here seem to do the minimum knowing parents will pick up the slack. My child's teacher talks about her large class sizes and need for help constantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I noticed the only reviews posted are from 2006. Since a new elementary school has been built in our area, class sizes have dropped dramatically. That was my only concern back when my son attended Middleton. My daughter starts kindergarten next year and I'm very please with the new class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

After hearing a lot of horror stories about public schools, we were concerned about what to expect for our kindergartner. We have been nothing less than ecstatic with the quality of his teachers and the principal. Luckily, this is a high income community, so there is a lot of stay-at-home moms who volunteer in the classroom every day. Without that kind of involvement, the teachers would be working day and night to keep up. There are very strict rules for behavior and the school employs a 'golden horseshoe' program that rewards kids for good behavior. We wouldn't move out of this school district for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

Having moved to Sherwood from out of state, I have a fairly objective view of schools in this area. The one parent's comments about: a) classroom sizes are large and b) parent needs to be involved with the teacher to ensure your child's personal learning style is comprehended are true for any school in this area including Tigard/West Lynn/ Lake Oswego. Schools have not kept up with the growth. These are not unique to Middleton. I believe parents should be involved no matter what school you go to. Pluses for Middleton: +The teachers we have been involved with as parents are very good and dedicated, with creative ways of reaching the kids. Large classes are a challenge for any teacher, but I am impressed with the creative approaches that keep the kids engaged. +Teachers have been sensitive to different learning styles, and have processes in place to allow for individual levels and styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Middleton boasts the highest academic testing scores in the area. While this is certainly an accomplishment, the focus of the school, like most Oregon Public Schools, is standardized testing. There are very large class sizes at Middleton; higher than State averages and the individualized attention given to students falls painfully short. The school's primary goals seem to be high test scores and fundraising. Parents whose chidren attend here need to be consistently involved and in touch with teachers, communicating their child's educational needs/abilities and should pay extra attention to not only what their children learn but how they learn. Otherwise your child will be lost in the world of standardized median learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This is a great school. My oldest has been going here for 3 years and my youngest is in kindergarten. They are both in a clean, happy environment every day. The teachers I have come in contact with are VERY involved as is the pricipal. I would NEVER switch my kids from this school. The parents are also very involved with all aspects of the children including donating time, energy and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation58%

Reading

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation20%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Science

All Students82%
Female81%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation9%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 66%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 2% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23505 SW Old Hwy 99w
Sherwood, OR 97140
Phone: (503) 825-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Francis School
Sherwood, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT