Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Meyer - she inherited a train wreck and has righted the direction of MITCH (see previous outdated reviews). We believe in her vision for the school. The updated Board has eliminated the drama and solidified Mrs. Meyer. The new PSO has been a positive direction in fundraising and social events. The recent family events (Father/Daughter Dance and Mother/Son Movie Night) were terrific - great family environment as I brought both son/daughter to both events for a special time!

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
In addition to the educational growth that I have experienced in my son and daughter, one teacher and the Asst Princ. teamed together last year to assist my son in a growth issue. He has overcome it and actually thrives due to the time taken by these educators. Can't say enough about their dedication to the kids - this is the main reason they will continue at MITCH.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
4th graders average about 1 hour per day of homework. Parents review and help correct the lessons. Can't believe how much I have forgotten! Not sure what the "correct level" should be at this point.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
MITCH strives to teach respect (it is one of the motto points and is embedded in the hallways) and values that the kids will carry forward (hopefully!).

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Current programs such as Reading Buddies (can't remember the true name) and lunch time interaction has been beneficial in teaching these values.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
The School Wide Positive Behavior Program has paid dividends. I was skeptical at first when it was implemented last year but the results are tremendous. The expectations are clearly defined as are the ramifications.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Very disappointed to see the school using behavior charts instead of more modern and effective methods

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 2

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Originally I was quite excited and hopeful for the school - but the lack of traditional features (like grass outside) or even a library makes me wonder if it was a good decision. Early in the school year I received a kind of nasty email about the kids not paying attention (addressed to all the parents) from the PE teacher that I found unnecessary and it left a bad taste in my mouth. The PSO hosting a "Daddy Daughter Dance" and a "Mother Son Movie Night" feels a bit sexist and exclusionary to a mother of daughters.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a community member
I am very happy with MITCH. I have two elementary age children and hear from numerous families that come in from other schools how much further advanced grades are at MITCH. The school is moving to a five day school week in the next school year. The school has so many exciting things outside of the classroom as well. The Executive Director is very approachable. I encourage you to call her and find out more.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
My kids love Mitch. They are doing math two grades above their normal grade. They read and write better than their friends in other schools. Mitch is great. Period.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
19550 SW 90th Court, Tualatin, OR  97062
(503) 639-5757
Last modified Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top