Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Tualatin, OR
Students enrolled: 250
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
MITCH charter school is an amazing school. I have had one child start off in a traditional public school setting and one child at MITCH since Kindergarten. The schools are night and day. MITCH offers an academic program that ignites a child's learning and pushes them to the best they can be. With a well rounded integrated curriculum my kids learn a topic and it is reinforced in all subjects. My child who was not engage in public school is fully involved in MITCH and working at or above grade level now. It is amazing what this school has done for my kids. And the Director at the school is amazing. She truly loves the kids and does everything in the interest of the children. She greets them every morning as they enter the building, in the rain or snow she is ALWAYS there. She knows what is needed to make a school of excellence and she will get MITCH there. The school is already outstanding in my eyes compared to what the public schools had to offer. I am excited to see what else the director and faculty do to make this school to stand out even more.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 2

Posted October 18, 2014
- a community member
Good for elementary but middle school has a lack of opportunities. They do have a technology class for middle school but they only teach typing and sending e-mails.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was not challenged academically at Horizon Christian and she would not have been challenged at our regular public elementary. At MITCH she is in a small class size and is constantly challenged academically. The school has gone through many changes in the last two or three years with many upset families that have written negative reviews. I can honestly say that the school is moving in the direction it was originally dreamed that it could be. The AG integration program is awesome, the school is pursuing the Core Knowledge School of Distinction which is providing frequent and coordinated staff development. The students are given precise guidelines for behavior and set up for success. Truly this school is growing into the shining star of the district that it was meant to be.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 2

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
I'd say MITCH has the wrong leadership at the moment. Pick new leadership and get going again.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
M.I.T.C.H. Is not the school it once was. Since January of 2014, 14 staff members have left the school. The things that made this school unique are gone. There is no more sense of community anymore. Parents aren't involved in any decision making either. Problems wit in the school are worse than ever. Parents are not happy with decisions that are being made. No only is the atmosphere at the school bad but so are the test scores. The test scores are really bad and haven't improved. This school is barely hanging on. Think twice before sending your kids here.
1 person found this helpful


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 4

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
MITCH is a public charter school with smaller class sizes than most public schools. The average class size does not exceed 25. If you are considering this school know that the curriculum is difficult, there is a lot of home work. You also need to be willing to financially make up the deficient of state funding with a parent contribution of approximately $500 for your family. Since Mitch is a charter school it does not receive the same funding as normal public schools. Parent time is also needed. I feel very grateful that we were selected through the lottery.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Thank you Gov. Kitzhaber and TTSD for being innovative with education. Mitch charter school, a great school, like many others in our district targets the education of children with a hands on approach, but within a smaller community. It is an environment where teachers rigorously push the children to learn, yet rely on parents to be significantly involved. As a parent, I am grateful that a school like this exists in our backyard. As for the negative accusations in the post below, biased, uncaring and unfair assuming there was a teacher like that...they definitely are not here now.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 4

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
We've had our child at MITCH for 4 years now and continue to be very happy with the academic excellence and rigorous curriculum that the use. This students at this school are backed by amazing parents that support the staff and school around every bend. Although MITCH is in a time of transition, things are moving in a very positive direction.


Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
I have had my children at this school of excellence for 6 years. They consistently are learning material that I didn't tackle until I was in high school. It continues to be rigorous and outstanding on all regards. Unfortunately there are a few parents that don't understand what true commitment to academic excellence means and they have created issues for the school. I would challenge anyone with issues with the school to try to find a better school elsewhere. Go team MITCH. Let's keep the focus on the kids and leave the rest of the agendas at the door.

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- 1

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
This once wonderful school is now being ripped apart at the seams. Two amazing teachers have resigned in the past 4 months. The administration is structured like a dictatorship with the wonderful teachers and parents having no voice. While the academics are amazing, it is not worth the heartache of being a part of such a sufficating institution.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands-
19550 SW 90th Court, Tualatin, OR  97062
(503) 639-5757
Last modified Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Multi-Sensory Instruction Teaching Children Hands- Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top