Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lehigh Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 269 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Allentown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2013

This is our thirdyear attending LCA and we couldn't be happier. I currently have 3 children in the school. The teachers are hard working, fair and demonstrate the love of Christ. My kids love the enrichment program which seeks to challenge those excelling. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

Great academic AND Christian school! After transferring from another Allentown school (which eventually closed), my son's math grades have dramatically improved! He's being challenged as well. If a subject is "easy" for him, he is given a higher level of work. Staff made us feel like FAMILY. Other parents were very friendly. Prior to enrolling, I interviewed 2 parents -- one which was African American like myself. I received rave reviews. We'd experience NO BULLYING issues as well. We're headed to our 2nd year there -- 3rd grade, and look forward to staying through to 8th grade. Overall, I am very, very pleased -- and so are 2 other parents that have transferred over to the school. We are ALL returning for the next year! The kids love it, and so do we. Regarding the Christian aspect of it: Scriptures are studied and memorized. The students AND at least ONE parent is expected to behave in a Christian manner. Simply put, if this is not what you want, go elsewhere. Frankly, this very policy -- expected of a Christian school -- is what makes the community at LCA so great. Its not a PERFECT school, but wake up -- those don't exist. Overall, I am very, very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

Academicly is good, but! They should not call it "Christian" because there is nothing christian in there, honest!! That's a name to cover themselves. They want the kids to ne robots., to act certain way. The clicks are terrible! If your kids misbehaves! The whole school knows and you as a parent feel vulnerable. You can feel the looks of everyone judging you. They won't. Be nice to you. If you are a different ethnicity they fallow you everywhere when there is an open house. Like you going to steal something. Worse school! Ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Quality Christian education, caring staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

my child attended this school, and is a good school in some ways, but I personally did not liked it. Not all teachers are what they seem to be, and the parents either. even if is the last school in the nation, I won't put my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I attended LCA from 1984-1994. The quality of leadership and curriculum prepared me for a proffesional degree in college. The sports programs were competitive even against the local public schools, a great emphasis was placed upon higher education but slower students were never looked down upon but encouraged by other students, teachers and learning programs. I received a well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

My son attended LCA from preschool thru 8th grade, and my daughter still attends. The academics are far superior to public schools in the area, and the teachers and principal are wonderful. They have always gone out of their way for my children. They are not only very competent but also caring. My children have been given an excellent foundation for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

My daughter has attended this school for three years and has had very good teachers. Only thing I don't like is having to pay for public education (taxes) and having to pay for this too! Unfortunately, Lehigh Christian Academy can't fix this---only our politicians can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I really like LCA. The teachers are great, the principal disaplines the children when necessary. Our old school did not.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 71%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1151 South Cedar Crest Boulevard
Allentown, PA 18103
Phone: (610) 776-7301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Thomas More School
Allentown, PA


The Swain School
Allentown, PA




Cetronia School
Allentown, PA


Lehigh Park El School
Allentown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT