Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
354 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2015
- a community member
There aren't enough words to adequately describe this school. The education is top notch and the overwhelming amount of extra programs is wonderful. Lake Erie Ballet, guitar, piano,voice lessons and band are a few areas that lessons are offered. Swimming lessons and various athletic programs are also a part of the things that makes Villa more than just a school. The teachers care about every child and those children are taught respect and given discipline because they are loved. This school is helping me provide the world with an asset not a handicap. The Villa difference has to be experienced not just read about.

Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a community member
I don't understand the negative reviews, other than maybe the culture shock when transferring from city schools, it's confusing to be around students who respect adults, at first many see this as "uncool" as they're used to viewing adults as the enemy. My child attended 7&8th grade and quickly grew to love it, and it's small, welcoming family atmosphere. They're more accepting of other cultures, religions, etc. Than any govt. Controlled school, and welcome parent visits instead of making them feel as though they're interfering, they realize that these are OUR children, which seems lost on many schools. My only regret is not sending her from kindergarten on.


Villa Maria Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
To say this is a good school is like saying Communism was a good idea.

Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
My family is at Villa Maria Elementary because it offers a wonderfully open and warm environment for my children, it offers a unique academic curriculum incorporating the arts (which is often cut in other schools), it offers a pool to supplement their phys. ed. program, it offers teachers who truly care about each, individual child and their development, it offers an energetic and progressive principal with whom the kids can relate, and so much more. My kids love it there and we love it there, so there is not much more it can offer!!

Villa Maria Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2010
- a community member
I went there for two years: 7th and 8th grade. Needless to say, there were the worst two years of my life. The discipline is out of control. For example, we had two girls who got caught texting class that got SUSPENDED instead of just given detention or having their phones revoked. The entire time I was there I only went on a total of 2 FIELD TRIPS. When I was at my old school, we took that many field trips in 2 months. Then, the principal overeacts to everything and is constantly making up new rules, like on the first day of my eighth grade year, when we had an assembly that consisted of him laying 10 new rules for all grades and totally messing up the way people got picked up at the end of the day. It was like going to prison in daily shifts.


Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2009
- a student
Hi! I am in seventh grade at Villa Maria Elementary and I love my school! When I walk in every morning I sometimes forget that I am at school because of the atmosphere there. It makes me feel like I'm at home! The teachers are wonderful and very willing to help. There are days in which I stay until 4 o'clock to get help! The students are also very kind and really strive to befriend anyone new. If you are considering Villa then you are definitely making the right choice! Join the Villa family!

Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2009
- a student
I am a seventh grade student at Villa Maria Elementary. I really enjoy going to school there. The teachers are fun and we really learn a lot. The teachers make the school days go by so fast by teaching right, but making sure we have fun while we're learning. I am proud to be a student at Villa Maria Elementary school.

Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school community. Prides itself on a 'family atmosphere' and lives up to that reputation. Very concerned, caring and confident children attend VME. Wonderful arts program as well as sports (even its own pool which no other elementary school in Erie has!). Great teachers and academics. Wonderful principal who has been there forever!


Villa Maria Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
A terrific school that offers a broad arts curriculum. Students are able to take piano lessons during the school day; after school art and dance classes are available as well. The education is creative; student:teacher ratios are low so students get individual attention.

Villa Maria Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
it's a great school. Everyone made us feel welcome there. Such a great school! and a wonderful education :)

Nearby schools

Villa Maria Elementary School
2551 West 8th Street, Erie, PA  16505
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (814) 838-5451
Last modified Villa Maria Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top