Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a student
I graduated in 2012 and I have to say sending me to Collegiate was the best thing my parents ever did for me. Students here push each other to excel and teachers are willing to put in as much work as the student is. I went into college as basically a sophomore due to taking so many AP tests and I feel as though I was as best prepared as possible. On the social side of things there is a place for everyone at Collegiate. Yeah everyone has their own group of friends but everyone was pretty open to just chatting with anyone they had class with. If there was someone you really didn't like you simply didn't talk to them. In short, if you weren't trying to start problems with other people all the time most people liked you and were pretty nice.

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
It is a wonderful school. The teachers are so helpful. I have never seen anything like this before in a public school where the teachers and the administration is so committed to the students successs. We were thinking of sending our daughter out of the city for high school, but this is far far better than any private or public school that I have seen. Good luck collegiate. Parent of a ninth grader


Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 4

Posted October 06, 2009
- a student
It's a really good school and everyone is there to learn.

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 4

Posted October 05, 2008
- a student
i would say that this school is overall amazing! the teachers are incredible and the adminstration is very down to earth. at npca you have so many different classes you can barely decided what to take. and the guidance counselors really help you get into the school of your choice. the only thing that i do not care for about the school is that it has no sports. as an athlete i find it hard to go to one school and play for another. the school district says athletes miss nothing by going to npca but as an athlete i have never been to a pep rally and i miss the school spirit that i and had in junior high. as an athlete it is disheartening to see how much the school cares about theatre and the arts but it really does not care about athletes at all.

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2007
- a student
all around great school with good teachers atmosphere and can lead you to a good future


Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted August 23, 2007
- a student
This school is absolutely amazing. It is a great school to attend. I love it!

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a student
This is one of the best schools in the Erie PA District...

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted December 27, 2005
- a teacher
I'm actually a teacher, not a parent. This is a fantastic school. The teachers are dedicated, the students are interested in learning, well behaved, and the administration is extremely supportive. It is a great education, as well as a great place to go to school. As for sports, the students participate on teams from the other 3 city high schools (or county schools if they're from another district). There is a great Intramural sports program (headed by me, so I'm somewhat biased!), as well as lots of different activities for the students to choose from. Our Academic Decathalon team won first place at Nationals for the 'small schools' division last year, and is a great source of pride for the school.


Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted May 25, 2004
- a student
This school changed my life. I had bad experiences at 2 previous schools, and this school just made me enjoy going! Friendly people, friendly teachers, and they care. It rocks!

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This is the absolutely best school I know of. My daughter graduated from here last year and had her choice of colleges and scholarships. She was eventually awarded a $60,000 scholarship at the school of her choice. My son is in the tenth grade here also. I can't say enough good things about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy
2825 State St, Erie, PA  16508
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (814) 874-6300
Last modified Northwest Pa Collegiate Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top