Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Fairless Hills, PA
Students enrolled: 3,221

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pennsbury High School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
PHS is a very large school with 3000+ students moving between two adjacent campuses. It has many wonderful traditions, great school spirit, and many great opportunities, but there is stiff competition for those opportunities. I've had two kids herel, one who completed 4 years and graduated and one who is a freshman. While we are generally satisfied, and both kids were able to find a niche (one with theater and German Club, one with Marching Band), I can see how a child without a specific focus or interest could find the school very overwhelming. The honors / AP program seems great, and my older daughter had great teachers in honors courses, but the regular track is average and has both teachers who inspired by kids and less-than-wonderful teachers who have bored, or demovited, my kids. Kids must be able to advocate on their own behalf, e.g. to ask for help, to sign up for activities, to find opportunities, and my younger daughter, who is on an IEP, is struggles to ask for the help from teachers that she needs. My kids have also encountered a subculture of drug use and drinking which has caused them to, drop a class, drop a friend, and avoid certain social circles.

Pennsbury High School 3

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
Pennsbury High School presents many opportunities, but it is not a particularly nurturing environment so students must rely on their own motivation to get what they want out of it. My daughter had more good teachers than bad ones, found extracurricular activities that sparked her interest and creativity, and seems to be reasonably well prepared for college. But I think it is possible for students who are less confident or clear on their needs to fall thru the cracks of the huge community. The few times I felt the need to advocate on her behalf, the administration responded quicklyand appropriately.


Pennsbury High School 1

Posted April 04, 2013
- a student
This school is absolutely terrable. there are almost no teachers who will help/ work with you without giving you attitude. there are many fights and people cursing and drama going on. I feel that i have learned nothing throughout all my years here. there are bugs all over the school. I was afraid to even put feet on the ground because of all the ants and other bugs there are. there are cockroaches in the bathrooms and its a unhealthy and unsafe environment for kids and teachers to be in. Walking in between buildings can be nice when its warm but its brutal when its cold. Even if its cold and below freezing they will still make you walk. even if there are busses theres only about 5 to transport every kid and than you get introuble for being late to class. the teachers are conceited. I have friends who go to other schools and they seem to never have any problems like pennsbury does. If you are at a disadvantage with learning disabilities or have money issues pennsbury gives you problems and wont work with you to be more succesful. they sometimes will give you homework to do online and if you dont have a computer they wont give you credit. pennsbury is a terrable school. dont go there

Pennsbury High School 3

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
The school is fine if you are all honors or AP students. The exextracurricular activities take too much time out of the students, which switched the priority as a student. Instead of spending more time on academic work, the students spent more time in exextracurricular activities, i. e. the "famous" marching band takes at least 20hours/week in September, at least 30hours/week (couple times around 40hours) in October and November. They leave the poor kids no time to manage even though the exextracurricular activities suppose to help the kids to learn how to manage their time.

Pennsbury High School 4

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Very good school, though not quite the level of nearby richer Council Rock area high schools. Old building, although well maintained. Pennsbury still has the same gym from when the school was built back in the mid 1960's. It's an embarrassment, considering the modern gyms in other schools in the area. There are issues with the teacher's contracts at times. They have a very good wage and benefit package, which sometimes comes into play at contract negotiation time, when the union is asking for more or the board is asking for concessions. A couple of strikes over the years. Overall, good teaching staff, yet some of the older ones are just putting in time until retirement.


Pennsbury High School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
As parents, we are very happy with the Pennsbury High School. This school offers every AP class, and has great arts and sciences. Their programs are top notch and well organized - i.e. world class marching band, young engineers / programming clubs, full set of athletic programs, etc. School pride is very evident, and I always get a good feeling when I'm around the students. For whatever reason, the students I meet are always well mannered and show good respect to adults. This speaks volumes for the school leadership - almost like a "we expect more" attitude. This is great to see as a parent.

Pennsbury High School 3

Posted November 30, 2010
- a student
Currently, I am a junior at this school, and I don't like it at all. You VERY rarely get teachers that truly love what they do. For the majority, they are just there to make money. As an honors student, I feel as though the pressures are way too high. In parallel classes the teachers just don't care. In honors, they leave you on your own expecting that you should know everything. And in AP you have 3 to 4 hours of homework every night. Although the education were getting is VERY good, we are taught the wrong way. Were taught to memorize now, and forget later, which is why a lot of us are good test takers, but have trouble when we get to college because we never learned that common knowledge. Most of the students are miserable, and the general atmosphere is bad. Most of the students are relatively nice, but I use that term very loosely. All in all, on my graduation day, I'm going to be the happiest person alive, I cannot wait to leave Pennsbury.

Pennsbury High School 5

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
Pennsbury is a great school and they understand students problem and help students any time


Pennsbury High School 3

Posted February 26, 2010
- a community member
Overall, PHS is an average school. Most teachers do not seem to care about what they're teaching, with some exceptions. they just use the textbooks and force students to copy notes. they have an i-don't-care attitude. the school is also too big. PHS uses two campuses, and students have to travel back and forth, which can be tiring. they rid of the shuttle buses, so students have to walk everyday, except when it's raining/snowing. the administrative staff are the most unsupportive and so impatient. but PHS offers many extracurricular activities and have decent classes to choose from. they also have a good music program.

Pennsbury High School 3

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
Pennsbury HS comprises well over 3000 students who travel between two buildings separated by the school football field. Previously, it had been segmented as a 9/10 school in one building and an 11/12 school in the other. Plans to reorganize once again are being discussed. The HS has some outstanding curricular and extracurricular programs, including highly respected theater and music programs, as well as offering a wide variety of AP classes. On the down side is its very size. Classes have been large, and with cuts in tax revenue, they are likely to grow larger. Pennsbury HS is a school where self-motivated, talented students cannot only survive, but thrive. But for the rest, parents must be vigilant and active to make sure that their children are getting the education and services they need--not because teachers and administrators lack desire, but simply because the school is so large.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pennsbury High School
705 Hood Blvd, Fairless Hills, PA  19030
(215) 949-6700
Last modified Pennsbury High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pennsbury High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top