Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Copper Beech School

Public | K-6 | 1023 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2013

I have two children in Copperbeach, both of them have excelled. Couldn't be happier as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

So far CB has been great (K&1st gr.). The teachers are wonderful, my son is doing well academically, and the school does lots of fun activities to keep things interesting and to build community. My only complaint (why I give 4 stars, not 5) is that it's so big. The parking lot is a nightmare if you have to pick up your child and parents are not readily invited in to help because of the sheer volume of families that would have to be included. That being said, there is a great sense of community there despite the size and the facility is beautiful, clean and I've never hesitated to leave my son there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

I LCopperbeech! We have had wonderful teachers so far, especially Kindergarten, and although it is such a big school, it definitley has a great community feeling and has lots of parental involvment . Copperbeech is simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The administration and staff really care about the children and their education.. It's not just a job to them and it shows. My son LOVES it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Teacher are excellent generally. They range from cowardly to bored and self important for no reason. The children are great though it's hard to get your child the testing and support they need. Gifted students are forgotten in the classroom. The curriculum does not support them. The administration is fake, but will bend the rules if necessary for you. Its too big to meet every child's needs and tenure is a curse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The entire staff really do care about each child that attends this school. My son is now in second grade and really enjoys the school. I highly recommend the Abington School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Teachers are great, Students are getting a great education.


Posted May 4, 2010

The students love to go to school every day and they love to learn! What a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

This school is just too big. Academics are great, but we came to the school from a private school, and the first thing we notices was a very poor sense of community and lack of parental involvement. I attended a PTA meeting and only 30 parents were there, and there are 1000 kids in the school. Playground is very understaffed. However,the teachers are great! We will be headed back to private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

When my oldest was ready for Kindergarten, I had my heart set on private school. However, it did not work out for us, so instead it was Copper Beech. It turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made. My children's teachers have been wonderful. the Principal and Vice Principal are wonderful. School is a little too big, but it is very well managed. I feel fortunate to live where I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My nephew attends Copper Beach and he loves it there, the teachers are great with him and he comes home excited about what he did.


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers,kids who LOVE to go to school,need I say any more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Excellent school! It is very large, and if it were smaller, I'd give it five stars. But for its size, it is extremely well-run. The principal hires very well ... new teachers are excellent. Good art and music. Lots of energy in the halls, and a laser focus on reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

The academics are on point and the teachers I have experienced are well trained and knowledgable. The school is very large and on the playground very under staffed. While I do feel the curriculumm is challenging to most children I have found that more advanced children don't see the challenges they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

It is good school for white children, however , the principal, Mrs Kline has a bias against other race. There is quiet notable discriminatioin going on in school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

I am very pleased with the education that my son is receiving at Copper Beech. My wife and I were hesitant about sending our son to Kindergarten in a public school. Our fears were quickly erased by the dedicated staff. My son's teacher Ms. Doyle is a superb teacher. She knows how to meet each child's needs (emotional as well as academic), while making sure that the children excel and learn at a high rate. We are also pleased with the amount of parental involvement. The principal, Dr. Kline, as well as the vice-principal, Mr. Osbourne are excellent administrators. They are very knowledgeable, as well as being extremely approachable. The school is always on point, and I know that my child is learning in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

I was scared to send my son to such a big school back at Kindergarten-age, but I'm so happy I did. There's some harshness from the over-worked aids and too much attention to test scores, but I think that's the unfortunate norm these days. Overall, the school atmosphere is excellent, the results superb, and the parental involvement high. It's a good school where kids can learn and have fun in a welcoming community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Lots of parental involvement; Small school feeling even though it's rather large. Excellent teachers, but very specific curriculum geared especially towards those wonderful PSSAs. Great Art and Music program. Character Education program in place and working well with students! Lots of community service opportunity for the students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2004

This school is cool! Dont let the name intimidate you! This is the best school! It has advanced classes, and classes for children who arent doing as well in subjects. There's computers, art, music, Phys Ed, there's Chorus, advanced chorus, math club, writing programs, Odyssey of the mind..but dont forget the mascot! The Cougar, this school opened in 2002, though it has a large population, I'd say the Student-teacher ratio is 24:1. This school is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female81%
Male91%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)45%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female90%
Male96%
Black75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female85%
Male75%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female77%
Male80%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female83%
Male66%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)53%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female81%
Male80%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 71%
Black 15% 15%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 North Easton Rd
Glenside, PA 19038
Phone: (215) 881-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roslyn School
Roslyn, PA


Highland School
Abington, PA





Center School
Abington, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT