Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grove City Area High School

Public | 9-12 | 742 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

As a resident of Grove City I would not recommend this school district. Bullying is rampant and the administration does little or nothing about it. Even though there is an anti-bullying policy, the school does not enforce it. The cliquish mentally that exists is difficult to if not impossible to pierce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I choose to move my children into Grove City schools because of rave reviews I heard from residents of the area. I have done this despite the significantly higher cost of homes within this district and much higher property millage. I am very negatively inclined to the guidance department to the point of going to higher administration and referring to one member as a zombie. This is not to be insulting but to drive home the essence of his unwillingness to respond to my valid questions regarding my previously A students falling grades. When a concerned parent especially a new one makes three visits to guidance office with grades in hand, it is his job to respond beyond "I would tell you if she was dealing crack on campus." And "I don't know who she is." And it is his job to answer specific questions regarding the curriculum or direct me to who can. On the other hand, I found the principals to be very responsive, and before the end of the day, I had return phone calls with answers. Go directly to the main office with any issue. Be prepared to weather the expense and the cliquish, churchy nature of the community but once you are settled it is a safe and quiet community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

As a parent of both a special needs child and a gifted child, I found this school system to be adequate at best. They pressure children whom they feel will bring down their scores on test down to quit school by making their lives very unpleasant with bullying either by or with the encouragement of the staff. I would discourage anyone with school age children from moving into the district unless your child is what is viewed as the "right kind of student" and that changes depending on the staff you have contact with. There are a few very gifted teachers but the majority are poor or just disinterested in doing a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

As a current student at Grove City highschool i must say it isnt the worst school in the world, i have attended two other schools and as far as offered classes and advanced placement opportunities, Grove City holds its own. However, favoritism is huge in GCHS if you do not have a personal relationship with the teacher you will find yourself feeling very left out in class. When asking teachers for help many times they will laugh at you and make you feel stupid in front of the class. They make fun of the students in their tutorial classes and have an uncanny way of making one feel like a complete idiot for reaching out for help. Not all teachers are like this though there are some that are exceptional but the others unless you are advanced dont count on enjoying your classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2009

I feel they should offer classes , (math) that all students can learn, not just the gifted ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Grove City is an excellent School District. When I have been concerned about an area of my child's studies, the teacher and guidance counselor work with the parent and are very supportive. The school is more than willing to provide tutoring and after school help if the child is willing to avail themselves to it. The school district makes use of teachers from local colleges with new ideas and enthusiasm as well as the tried and true. Parent involvement is high for all students who choose to participate in a club or activity or sport. Certainly state testing is important, the testing shows my child's weaknesses, as they are not the same for every child. My high school aged child is taking advanced classes from the ability she demonstrates from the testing. Comparing GC with schools across the state on other sites, our community has much to be proud of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

GCHS, where do I start? They are more focused on the scores of the PSSAs and No Child Left Behind than the needs of the students. There are cracks and holes in the system that too many fall into. I do NOT recommend Grove City High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2006

I went to Grove City school and then I moved to another school and I think it is one of the best schools and best towns so I definitely recommend it
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2006

I have been helping in the learning support room for a few months and I have been impressed with the school's use of new strategies and development of new ideas. There are still a lot of areas to develop, but the school is on its way to bringing up pssa scores.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2005

Since the entrance of Rae Lin Howard as our school's principal, I have seen a large decrease in the student interest rate. Many students that I am personally acquainted with have presented, to me, a series of complaints dealing with the favoritism that takes place in the school and the ridiculous regulations that the school is now based on. In order for Grove City School District to 'Equip all students for the futures' they must first make learning an option, not a demand. Students must be placed in a classroom where they feel appreciated and respected by the teachers, in Grove City high school, this mutual respect is non-existant.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 21, 2004

I graduated from here in 1994 and only wish there were schools this great here in Virginia. Grove City is a small town (if you blink you will have missed it) and it is a safe town. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

176 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

181 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female56%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 71%
Black 3% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 Highland Ave
Grove City, PA 16127
Phone: (724) 458-5456

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT