Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Harrisburg, PA
Students enrolled: 1,318

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harrisburg High School 3

Posted August 23, 2011
- a student
Being a person that has gone to this school i can honestly say that it isn't the best high school and yes the curriculum is outdated but so are the books. I went to FLfor a year and and was a bit confused on why the work was harder down there than here. But again the kids act that way because NO ONE is saying or doing anything about it. The sad fact is that yes it is outdated and the kids are rude but it doesn't mean that they have to be moved to the ghetto like on parent said. That's just wrong. Instead of putting the school down and talking trash learn to speak up and especially if your child goes there. Simple of the matter they give kids test to see where they are in math and reading and whatever the score is they will put the kids in the class he or she belongs. I was in put in a eleventh grade math level by the time i was in ninth grade. So if your son is in the seventh grade math level guess what they will be out there. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH HOW THE SCHOOL IS TEACHING GO TO THE MEETINGS OR SET UP A MEETING WITH THE TEACHERS AND THEY WILL WORK WITH YOU TO SET UP A PROGRAM THAT WORKS FOR BOTH PARENT AND CHILD! Stop putting the school down and do something that can help

Harrisburg High School 3

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
I AGREE WITH BOTH SIDES OF THE FENCE. NO THERE IS NOT ENOUGH PARENT INVOLVEMENT WITH THE SCHOOLS. PARENTS ARE UNAWARE OF THE PROGRAMS THAT ARE OFFERED AND DO NOT URGE THERE CHILDREN TO JOIN ANYTHING! PARTLY DUE TO THE INCREASE IN TEENS NOW WORKING, OR THE LACK OF ENCOURAGMENT. AS A RESULT THE DISTRICT NOT JUST THE HIGH SCHOOL HAS FAILED. ONCE EVERYBODY FORGOT ABOUT THE KIDS, THE KIDS WERE LOST. SO ALL THE BLAME SHOULD'NT BE PUT ON THE STUDENTS.. CUT THEM SOME SLACK, HAV'NT THEY SUFFERED ENOUGH.


Harrisburg High School 1

Posted June 05, 2010
- a community member
there students come down to bishop mcdevitt and rob the students from our school. students from there wrote vulgar things on the bishop mcdevitt property. they are very LOUD when they leave school and walk past mcdevitt. McDevitts student body as well as I cannot wait until we are relocated in lower paxton twsp. My family will also be relocating from our Paxtang area which is about 3 miles from John Harris because of the communitys turn for the worst. John Harris needs to be moved to the "South Side" or "Projects". Section 8 is also taking over the area of Melrose Gardens Smh! the school has done nothing but make harrisburg into one BIG ghetto. I wouldnt school my dog at John Harris let alone my child! Children: you all are in my prayers!

Harrisburg High School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
i recently moved here from another state and was amazed at how this school takes education or should i say the kids act like education is a joke. This will haunt them in the future. The drugs and lack of parent involvement are terrible. The teachers i feel sorry for because until the parents get a hold of their kids it's a wrap.My son is doing 7th grade work andis in high school and the kids act like this is hard, it's a shame.

Harrisburg High School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Harrisburg High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
I know this school has not received good ratings but they are trying so hard. They have dedicated teachers and coaches who are working against the social and economic problems that come with an urban school. There are so many success stories that no one hears about -they only hear the studentsz who don't make it and not the ones who do go to college and lead successful lives.

Harrisburg High School 0
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a community member
I am an alumni from hhs. i graduated in the year 2008. i believe this school needs more parent involvement and support, the school is basically passing students who aren't even ready for college. im in college now and i feel as though i wasnt prepared for it. however there are great programs such as PAC and SBI. the music programs are also great. they have the best choir and band. the sport teams are great! especially the football and basketball teams!

Harrisburg High School 3

Posted September 12, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Harrisburg High School 1

Posted August 09, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Harrisburg High School 2

Posted April 06, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harrisburg High School
2451 Market St, Harrisburg, PA  17103
(717) 703-4300
Last modified Harrisburg High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harrisburg High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top