Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Haverford School

Private | PK-12 | 991 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Haverford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $530,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

Words cannot begin to describe how much I love Haverford. I'm very grateful for the opportunity to attend this school in 2007. Coming from an under achieving public school prior to Haverford, the transition was smooth and quick. Although the school's mission is to prepare boys for life, I learned something in addition to that. I learned a lot about myself and the true value of an education; it's not just a means to a financial end (1st generation college student), but it's also a vehicle for enlightenment and bettering ourselves. Yes there's no denying one of the earlier reviews about "bullying". It's more hazing than it is bullying; it occurs once in a while, but the administration (as well as the students) handles it well. There is low tolerance for bullying and the bully is asked to leave the school. Hazing/bullying occurs at every institution of learning regardless of prestige, but it is small at Haverford compared to other schools. The "traditional" teaching style and (not as cutthroat as in the past) competitiveness is supported by the large percentage of graduates attending elite colleges. Colleges support that style :) - 2011 Alumnus, Colgate University Student


Posted February 1, 2014

My son is in the lower school & I can't say enough good things. Our experience has been great. I have seen no competitiveness or bullying or teachers encouraging it. My son is non-athletic, shy, sensitive, sweet & calm, so I was worried when we decided to switch him based on the review below & am so glad I decided to ignore it. He is so happy at school. The boys are all incredibly nice & respectful of each other. Everyone gets along. His teacher is so warm & caring and is always in contact with the parents sending information and pictures. She teaches the boys to be kind & caring friends both in the classroom & during sports. I have had other teachers approach me (who I don't even know) tell me how much they love my son & how sweet he is. My son LOVES school, his teacher & art and science & can't wait to get there in the morning. The school also has a zero bullying tolerance and has kicked kids out for that. They understand technology is the future & integrate it into the curriculum. I think that sometimes Haverford gets a bad rep because of it's past , but that is no more & the new headmaster would never allow it. He is non-pretentious, down to earth & accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

This school provides high quality education, has very outgoing and brilliant teachers and students, and it really does prepare boys for life. I am a student in my 2nd year in the Upper School and I have become a completely different and matured person. The community is like a family and the opportunities that this school provides you are top-notch. With the excellent food and campus to top it off, Haverford is truly one of the best schools that a child can attend.


Posted August 16, 2013

Honestly, I love working at The Haverford School. It is a dynamic and diverse community that sets high expectations for itself and supports its students and faculty well. We work hard and play hard, but also have a lot of fun together. There is a very intentional focus on faculty collaboration, professional development, and research into best practices in teaching boys. I think the school achieves a healthy balance of the 3 A's and other extracurricular pursuits in "Preparing Boys for Life." Beautiful campus, great energy and school spirit, and the boys keep us young at heart!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2013

My son is a student. He loves going to school every day and the faculty is wonderful. They really care about the boys and they know how to teach boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

I felt compelled to respond to the disgruntled parent who thinks that new teaching methods are superior. How can you argue with success ? This school has produced many accomplished alumni with their methods. The world is a competitive place and the sooner that this is learned the better. If you want a protective environment for your children, then home school them, and let them live in the guest room until their 25. But as Billy Joel said in the lyrics to Captain Jack, " you're 21 and still your mother makes your bed and that's too long".


Posted August 18, 2012

I agree with the earlier comment about bullying. I can only speak for the lower school but was surprised to learn of it happening at a surprisingly early age. I believe the problem stems from the tone set by some of the administration and teachers who use scare tactics, as well as shaming and disgracing their students. The school is very traditional in its overall approach to teaching and seem to have no interest in embracing the conventions of the 21st century. In short, the curriculum and teaching style are behind the times and cater to certain type of student. Haverford seems to be riding the coattails of its legacy. A time where aggressive and dictatorial teaching was widespread and actually thought to work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

I am grateful that my parents sacrificed to send me to a school as wonderful as this. After graduating, I feel truly prepared for college. Academics are excellent and unparalleled. Over a third of my graduating class is now attending to Ivy League Schools, and another third is attending honors programs or 'ivy league equivalents' (ie U Chicago, MIT, Stanford, etc.). The teachers are incredible, and they spend time with each boy individually; furthermore, they have incredible backgrounds (almost all have graduate degrees, many from prestigious universities like Yale, Princeton, and Harvard). Athletics are excellent, and every boy gets to participate, no matter how athletic one is there is an opportunity for everyone. One of the coolest aspects of an all boys environment is that boys get to participate in the arts (you are actually considered cool if you are a good musician, actor or artist). Also the resources at the school are amazing, I got to participate in a joint research program with U of Pennsylvania. Finally, I found the environment to be very down to earth, I know that I will be friends with many of my classmates for the rest of my life.


Posted June 28, 2011

Haverford's focus on excellence in academics, athletics and the arts prepared me for the various challenges I faced in college, graduate school and my career beyond.


Posted July 5, 2010

Haverford is a great school. After coming from a bad public school, my son attended here and really excelled. The transition he made from public to private went smoothly thanks to great teachers and students. It is a very well-rounded school in both academics, athletics, and art/music programs. There is no better school for your son than here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Education is excellent. Community is not. Teachers are very harsh on the children and have them competitng against each other. Not very nice for younger children. Also, there is a fair amount of bullying amongst the boys. Teachers background is not impressive for the money you spend (2010 - $26,000). If that wasn't enought, they also are very aggressive to annual funding. So you are not done with yearly tuition. Botton line - if you desire a loving environment, this is not the place for your son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

Our son started this year. He seems genuinely excited about school on a daily basis. The teachers seem exceptionally good and the administration and faculty seem to work as a real team. We are very impressed to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

This school is excellent! The teachers are amazing! The learning environment is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

Haverford School is an academically very strong, nurturing school. The faculty is amazing. The teachers and the headmaster are truly interested in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Black 6% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Lancaster Avenue
Haverford, PA 19041
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 642-4583

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Baldwin School
Bryn Mawr, PA


The Shipley School
Bryn Mawr, PA


Coopertown El School
Bryn Mawr, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT