Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Albert the Great School

Private | PK-8 | 473 students

Prepares students for high school in a nurturing environment

 

Living in Huntingdon...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

We are finishing our first year at St. Albert, and have had such a great year. I can t say enough good things about the school and the parish community. We were welcomed immediately as a new family by the principal, Monsignor, and our Ambassador family, so my kids knew a friend and familiar faces on their first day. The teachers are wonderful and caring. The students are well-mannered, conscientious, and respectful. The education is consistent and solid. There are plenty of extracurricular activities and CYO sports; it seems like every kid is able to find his or her niche. It seemed like every week I was impressed by something new at this school: the way Monsignor knows every student s name; how the school teaches students to practice kindness in a tangible way; a fun event from the active Parents Association (especially Lunch with Santa); the monthly Peacemaker Award for each grade; the way the school and community rally around someone in need; and just the way the principal and teachers go above and beyond for the students and families. A teacher even donated a kidney to another teacher. I m very impressed and my family and I are so happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

As a previous student and a current parent of students in the school, I have to say that St. Albert's is a wonderful school. They offer many learning options for the children such as music, Spanish, Honors Math, and the Resource Room. I also feel they teach the children the importance of kindness, respect, and the Catholic faith. The parents, teachers, Mrs.Koons and Monsignor make this a wonderful environment for out children. Mrs. Koons and Monsignor definitely lead by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

As a parent of two children who go to St. Albert's, I proudly endorse this school. Mrs. Koons is the BEST Principal with whom we have had the pleasure to know and work. She has transformed our school into a top-rate learning institution and has incorporated the best practices of area schools. Students are provided with many opportunities to grow to their potential academically, physically, socially and spiritually. Parents and students, alike, are valued and respected. It is refreshing to encounter so many polite and happy students on a daily basis! We are so happy we chose to send our children to St. Alberts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Having 4 children, Saint Albert the Great has and always was the only choice for our family. We started there because it was the "parish" school. When we moved, the other choices we had were free, and ranked nationally, but we STILL chose St. Alberts because you just can't get the same kind of education anywhere else. Becoming a conscientious leader, using manners, living your faith all starts as a youngster that you carry with you as you enter adulthood. St. Alberts incorporates a multitude of resources to ensure all students achieve this and yet so much more. The school has a very involved Parents Association, highly successful CYO sport teams that everyone can play on, advanced courses, Learning Support, extracurricular activities, and a teaching staff that truly supports and cares about the students. My children's high school teachers have commented to me on numerous occasions that they can tell my children came from a Catholic grade school. My children, husband and I have made many friends from the school and parish that we associate with to this day. Going to St. Alberts is a lifelong commitment to friends, family and faith, & a "Great" place you can always call home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

STAG is one of a kind. Going to this school is like being a part of one big family. I have loved this school and parish from the moment I became a part of it. The kindness of students, teachers and staff is amazing. STAG provides all the resources needed for the students to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

As a member of this parish for eighteen years, I have witnessed kindness to our school children and a real caring for our parish community. This caring extends long after the children have finished the school day. My daughter is a graduate of St. Albert's and her experience there has prepared her for the world ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

Great school. Great parish. The principal, Cindy Koons, is very tuned in to current trends in education. She makes it a priority to bring 21st century learning to the school. The atmosphere of the school is very welcoming and friendly. My children are very happy there. We are an actively involved family, and St. Albert the Great School/Parish is a home away from home. My children are receiving a solid education while learning to live their Catholic faith!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I was a student at this school, and now my four children have attended. I am very pleased. My two older children, now in high school, are very successful both academically and socially. The fundamentals they have learned at St. Albert the Great will serve them through High School. College, and Beyond. No complaints here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I really like our Principal, she sets the example for the teachers, kids and parents alike. The children are taught our Catholic faith not just through word but also deed. Love your neighbor as yourself ! Beyond the core subjects SATG offers many extra classes for example Art, Music,Latin, Spainish,Theater,Chess, Cartoon drawing and many more.There is something to peak the interest of every child. We're very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

My family has been a part of St. Albert's for many years.This school has always been highly rated and has continued to maintain this status by having an updated curriculum, technology advances, and a highly qualified staff. First and foremost, though, is the teaching of the Catholic church and promoting the values of living everyday as the best person you can be! The principal and teachers are a group that is very dedicated, easily accessible, and know when to have fun! St. Albert's offers a Resource Room for those children that need additional help, an Honors Math Program, and many extra- curricular activities. Along with an excellent education, that prepared them for high school, my children as well as myself, have made lifelong friends. We consider St. Albert's a second home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I have had 4 children attend St. Albert the Great School. In fact, we moved to this area years ago in order to register at this school because it always had such a good reputation. St. Albert's has lived up to or exceeded each of our expectations. Teachers are well in-serviced, parents are highly involved, students are happy and active in their school community, even the maintenance staff is cheerful and helpful. There are some classroom computers, a computer lab, a newly-renovated library, a beautiful gym, an art studio, and best of all a Science Laboratory where the students in all grades perform experiments. The principal and pastor know each student by name. Families are all friendly with one another. Students have current books and classroom equipment. The facilities are constantly updated; we feel we have a perpetually new school. Safety precautions like video cameras are at entrances and safety plans for fire/hurricane/etc. are practiced. There is an anti-bullying program. Field trips and educational/enrichment assemblies are paid for by the very active Parents' Association. Many CYO sports teams. There are Honors Math and Spanish offerings. St. Albert's is a winner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

As a parent of three students who have attended this school for over 13 years now, I can say that we remain in this area for this school. The children are excited to go to school each day and look forward to the specials and innovative hands-on- activities that are embedded in the curriculum. Faith, academics, and service are paramount. Students and parents are here in a variety of activities day through night and on weekends. (See the website.) It is a wonderful, positive learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I have been a teacher at St. Albert's for many years. My own children have attended St. Albert's as well. I feel that they have received an excellent education and that the teachers are highly skilled professionals as well as excellent role models of what it means to be Christian. I have enjoyed my years at St. Albert's and I am proud to be a Catholic School Teacher!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2009

this school is okay. most of the classes are really easy with the exception of one, history. in general, the teachers are pretty good. we have a lot of assemblies. but we barely ever have field trips. so i think this school is just average and i cant wait for high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

The education and extracurricular activities are excellent. The parents are very involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

A great school with friendly students and parents. Smaller class size really adds up to individual attention. Great sports and extracullicular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 7%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cindy Koons
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Service Corps
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
103
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
103
Students typically come from these schools
Loesche
Greenberg
Pre-Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Basil Academy
Archbishop Wood High School
La Salle College High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

214 Welsh Rd
Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 947-2332

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Valley Christian School
Lower Moreland, PA


Murray Avenue School
Huntingdon Valley, PA




Greenberg Joseph School
Philadelphia, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT