Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westmont Hilltop High School

Public | 9-12 | 576 students

We are best known for intensive focus on academics.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

I think westmont is way better than Richland.I think they give you the best high quality education in the area. They really push you and make you work I like that.I am a former student at the high School and I have to say I'm very pleased with the education its very good.The teachers are amazing and very understanding.Westmont Is very rich and wealthy and a great place to live we take care of our surroundings.We were given an award for no bullying and bully free zone god job westmont!! Everyone is very helpful ecspecially the guidance counselers they will help you with anything.Im proud to say I'm a hilltopper!!!westy pride:)!!!


Posted September 6, 2013

The Guidance Counselors are intolerant and lack awareness related to GLBT. The guidance Counselors are so worried about having job security - they are unwilling to provide appropriate guidance and instruction to students. They "suggest" and are unhelpful - thus a good proportion of students are lost after graduation. The teachers also do not utilize the block scheduling appropriately as students text during classes, watch movies and few didactic opportunities are implemented. Overall the school needs a good scrubbing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

This school seems to have been good at one time from what I can read here. I think the falling cost of housing is changing that. I know I had to switch to private after attending this and the middle school, and trying for years to cope with the kids in both. Considering the fact that the supposed good school system was part of why I moved here I am not to happy about having to pay for private school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

This is the place to go to get picked on. I am so glad it's over :(
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2013

Bad atmosphere and uncaring faculty when it comes to the bullying westmont is so famous for. Time to change schools for sure.


Posted September 12, 2009

I am a former student and received a fabulous education in this school system. This is a quality program that allowed me to breeze through my university degrees. Thank you Westmont!


Posted March 14, 2007

I am proud to say that I am a Hilltopper! Westmont has presented me with so many wonderful opportunities that I have experienced to further my education both inside and outside of the classroom. With so many different clubs and sports teams, there is no one who should ever have to feel like there is not something for them! At Westmont, the teachers are very personable and devoted to our learning. Many teachers are here until 5 or 6 at night just to get work done for the next day, so that we can learn as much as possible. I am a junior and I am sad to think that I only have a little of what is left of this year, and next year to be with my friends at Westmont. GO WESTY!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2006

My daughter loves this school. She is doing extremely well academically and working very hard. These are the things that will prepare her for college and beyond. The advanced placement classes are difficult as well as the block scheduling but the kids adjust and rise to the expectations. The faculty is great, and the kids are great. There are lots of extracurricular opportunities. Its just an all around wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

quality academic programs, especially the English Department. Wealthy area, as well as a fairly new school. Better than any other area school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2004

Westmont Hilltop High School prepared me very well for my university experiences. The excellent academic background and study skills that I aquired at WHHS helped me succeed in earning my bachelors, masters, and doctoral degrees.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

Westmont Hilltop High School did not give my children the right kind of education to help them in college. This school was only good for High School education, not college. If you want your kid to continue on for further education, like college/ university, make them attend somewhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female64%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female78%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female49%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 15%
Hispanic 1% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Westmont Hilltop Middle School
Cathedral Catholic Academy
Our Mother Of Sorrows School
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania State University
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Matthew Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (814) 255-2704

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania State University
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Fair Oaks Dr
Johnstown, PA 15905
Website: Click here
Phone: (814) 255-8726

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT