Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Penn Wood High School - Green Ave Campus

Public | 11-12 | 794 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2013

As a student, I am hurt by the insults here to our teachers. I've been a student in the district since first grade, and I've consistently had very talented and dedicated teachers. Even the students agree that the problems PW has don't stem from the staff or the educational offerings. PW has a reputation that is deserved to a degree, but things are definitely improving. Recent graduates are attending schools like Harvard, Johns Hopkins, and Swarthmore, the once defunct marching band is competing again, the speech and debate team is a statewide contender, and our sports teams are doing very well. There are a lot of problems with this school; the curriculum is weak, standards are comparatively lower than at other schools, facilities are too small, and decaying, but there is a distinct renaissance taking place. Test scores go up each year, a new-ish principal is galvanizing the students, and things seem pointed in the right direction. Residents still smarting over the break-up of the old "Lansdowne-Aldan High School" may never get over it, but PW is presented as worse than it really is. No worse than BP, UD or even O'Hara. Bottom line is that students can and do achieve success here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2012

All my children attend the William Penn District. I pay mad taxes and for a system that isn't uplifting my children. My children attended private school and got a really good education. I can't afford to send my kids to a private school but the school taxes in Lansdowne are ridiculous.. My children tell me how the teachers aren't involved enough because of the size of these classes. I live in Lansdowne and I travel in Yeadon there is no way that many kids live in our district. They have to find a way to check if they are part of our district. Most but not all are children that have disipline issues and they bring it to our township. Please Pennwood step it up and save our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Penn Wood isn't the best school but it's certainly not the worst. There are many programs for students to take advantage of. The issue is that there is limited funding for resources ( parents must get involved write your state representative for more funding, etc) and a large amount of students coming from other areas that lack motivation. Test scores are a result of a lack of preparation which is on the the part of the school district and student's willingness to prepare themselves. What's happening is a lack of parent involvement as well. In most schools, if parents show lack of concern for their student, teachers will not bend over backwards and beg your student to be punctual, disciplined and willing to learn. Even in tuition paid college, instructors do not care if your student skips all classes. So really , if your student can't be responsible in high school, why pay college tuition? I believe that parents and teachers play a huge role in students' success. It can't be all on the teachers and administration. In addition, it can't all be on the parents.


Posted September 24, 2010

People underestimate the quality of this school... the students are willing to learn and the teachers are more than willing to teach. We have a reputation as a "bad" school... but as a student here, it's not bad at all. We have our struggles because we don't have much money, but does that make us worse than schools in wealthier communities? I'm in all honors classes, paricipate in extra curicular activities and take dual enrollment classes at Drexel University... without Penn Wood I wouldn't have gotten these opportunities. Bottom line, people should have an open mind about us... our reputation is offensive and inaccurate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

The faculty and staff rarely return phone calls. The school is very poorly organized. They don't follow their own policies and procedures except when it comes to punishing students, which they seem to enjoy doing. Everytime you call any number at the school, you always get an automated response. When does the office staff ever answers phones?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I don't like the school at all. Some of the teachers are worst than the children and don't really care about the children. I don't see what my daughter is learning except how to fight. Not until she came here has she been in so many conflicts and I don't see much action being done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

i am actually a senior at penn wood high school and is not all that bad but yes they do underestimate us as a student body. My mom and dad pay all these taxes for them to give me tons of unnecessary worksheets and for my counselor to not do her job. Well I am making the best of it taking honor classes,ap classes, and dual enrollment. I am envolved in extra ciricular activities and thats what matters. The wood keeps giving me lemons and I'm making gallons and gallons of lemonade each step of the way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2008

Well, I graduated from this school in 2007 and I go to school in Atlanta. Penn Wood wasn't the best high school in the area but it definitely wasn't the worst. I learned and I was able to participate in the activites and sports that the school had to offer. As long as you were motivated and tried to go after oportunities and keep yourself in the upper level courses ( we had 9 AP's not 2) and you did dual enrollment, succeeding in college wasn't a problem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2007

Most teachers do not care. Some teachers are great and it shows, but the administration will make it tough for most teachers to want to stay. Huge turnover in teachers and school district administration. Stability and consistency is important and it is not here! Why do most teachers run out the door immediately behind the studnets at the end of the class day? Why do the guards kick students out the door 10 minutes after the last bell? Why are there minimal extracurricular activities (mostly sport, only 3 non-sport activities)? Why is there such a large support of detentions, in-school suspensions, out of school suspensions, alternative schools (yes plural)? Why are there only 2 AP classes? Cultural awareness is minimal. But it is not just cultural; it is also religious awareness, ethnic awareness, demographic awareness, etc.


Posted November 9, 2007

I went to 'The Wood' an the schooling was great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2007

Pennwood High school is a disgrace. The staffs lack of commitment to the students is evident in their performance. There is a lack of control and discipline. This school does not promote success, it sets children up to fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Penn Wood High School, as with any high school, needs improvement. Classroom size is too large for an instructor to be effective in their method of teaching. The tone of the school has change drastically therefore making the transition for non-minority teachers difficult. I would like to see the school become a bit more challenging academically. Penn Wood has a melting pot of diverse cultures however, the high school could be improved by introducing cultural awareness training among students and faculty members.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

303 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

306 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

310 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
8%

2009

 
 
2%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female44%
Male42%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female51%
Male38%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students13%
Female15%
Male10%
Black12%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students69%
Female77%
Male61%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 15%
White 5% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Green Ave
Lansdowne, PA 19050
Phone: (610) 284-8080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT