Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seven Sorrows of BVM School

Private | PK-8 | 276 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Middletown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2009

i love seven Sorrows! its like the most coolest school! i am also currently a 7th grader and its such a great school for your kids to learn about the catholic faith! =) Please coem to our school! especially 7th grade students!! we need some more to beat the 6th grade class! =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

I am curently a 7th grader at Seven Sorrows and this is an amazing school full of school spirit and great education. All of the teachers work with you if you do not understand the information. I love Seven Sorrows because all of my friends are here and would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

High turnover of teachers. They can't seem to keep them here. Many internal problems with administration. 3 principals in one school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I am a 2007 graduate and couldn't have received a better education. Not to mention the family atmosphere and small classes that greatly add to character and growth. I love SSBVM!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2006

I think that this is an awesome school. It is great to go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2006

Quality of education is good, some teachers better than others. Son is now in 2nd grade and doing better in school because of the above. Music, art, gym and computer class are available, something that alot of public schools are starting to phase out is recess is still happening here. There will be a new school built within the next three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

I have 2 children attending Seven Sorrows BVM School in Middletown PA, I would not send them anywhere else but Seven Sorrows, the teachers, the principal and all the staff are the greatest, the class sizes are small enough that the students get enough teacher student time, the cirriculum is based on religion as the foundation, and the education I feel is the best thing I could do for my kids, they have every type of sport or activity that any public school has to offer, they offer so much more than I ever imagined to our kids, parental involvement is greatly appreciated, the office staff is always there when needed, I just cannot say enough about the wonderful things I have seen, and have been a part of at seven sorrows. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 16%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:55 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Suzanne Gausman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (717) 944-5419

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Harrisburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Race and Conewago St
Middletown, PA 17057
Website: Click here
Phone: (717) 944-5371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fink Elementary School
Middletown, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT