Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 265 students

Holy Family School is a Catholic faith-centered community, which serves the, “wh
 
 

 
 

Living in Nazareth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2013

Holy Family has exceded all my expectations. They meet the spiritual needs of my children by example. Academics are excellent and beyond the local public schools. Spanish is a plus. Most of all, Holy Family represents a true scence of community where my children look forward to going to school. They love thier teachers and classmates. The principal has been an excellent role model on how Catholic Schools should be in today's world. Thank you Holy Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My oldest son graduated from Holy Family last year. I am pleased to say that Holy Family prepared him exceptionally well for high school. He has even commented on what he has learned compared to his peers in his new school. My younger son is still at Holy Family and is thriving. He commented the other day he will miss Holy Family when it is time for him to graduate. He too is getting the same skills my older son got when he was at Holy Family. It has been a wonderful investment in our children's future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

My boys absolutely love hfs! My husband and I are not only pleased with the academics, but with the nurturing and loving environment that the teachers create. They go that extra mile. Hfs puts those smiles on my boy's faces:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I read some things here regarding discipline at HFS that I disagree with. I've not seen or heard of any harsh discipline from the pricipal or teachers. I know of several students with learning disabilities who are getting extra help with reading and math one on one with special aides. I also know that at this school students with special needs are also helped and encouraged by their peers. I can't imagine a more encouraging and nuturing learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

If your child has any academic issues this is not the school for your child. The children who are the over achievers are the ones that this school focuses on- the children who struggle w/learning are not helped like they should be!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

The principal is to harsh on the students and rules are too strict
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

HFS is a great place for academic and religious education. The national standard IOWA tests indicate most students entering 3rd grade are reading at the 5th grade level. Upper grades are performing at high school level for math and science. Best of all is the Christ centered education. It is evident in how the students respect each other and their teachers, and through their outreach efforts to the community through works of charity. I proudly send my daughter to this school and am consistently amazed at the academic leaps she is making there. The school may not have all the extra-curricular activities available at public schools, but they excel at the basics of education and good citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My children haven't experienced any unfair or harsh treatment from the principal or any teachers for that matter. I will say, it seems she is tougher (in enforcing existing rules) on the older students, but I wonder if that isn't exactly what they need as they become big fish in a small sea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

The princple is very unfair to the children, her punsishments are too harsh.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Wow ... HFS has been through a lot of changes. Too many principals too quickly. Currently the children aren't happy, nor are the parents. I pray that the current adminstration open their eyes to what is going on. The school has all of the ingredients to be great, but the principal has to address the current turmoil, and fast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

Finally ... we have true, Catholic leadership at HFS. The new principal, who has improved spirituality, discipline, the front office, and safety at the school, is now turning her attention to curriculum. I cannot believe how much she has accomplished in a short time. Many of the teachers are wonderful, though a small minority need extra training. The new principal is also addressing those issues. If you are looking for a TRUE Catholic Education, HFS is the place for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

This is a parish sponsored school that is reflecting the basic tenents of the Roman Catholic Church. Sprituality and Academic Excellence go hand in hand within this school's enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

Principal needs more interaction with parents and students, not as out going and personable as previous principal. Previous principal more involved, knew each and every student by name, was present at basketball games and other sports. Really supported his students. Was very involved in christmas pagent and other presentations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Colette Fisher
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Local Catholic High School
Local Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Convent Ave
Nazareth, PA 18064
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 759-5642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT