Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Council Rock High School North
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
My child has little if any homework. What he does have gets done at school.

Council Rock High School North 3

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I have a male, junior, average student. He was placed in advanced classes for math & science for two years & struggled both years. Until I requested he be placed in regular classes noting was discussed with regards to his placement. The teachers & counselor kept him in the classes with Cs & Ds. The counselors here do the bare minimum for average kids. There is no parental contact unless I initiated it. He is ignored unless I demand a meeting to address the issues. The school overall has highly intelligent kids due to the affluent area, intelligent genes, so does well on test scores. My son has very little homework every year. He had more in middle school. I fear he will be very unprepared for college. I have hired a tutor to assist.


Council Rock High School North
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
While I was in the program I definitely thought there was too much homework and reading on a daily basis. However, now after experiencing undergrad and grad school programs I feel that Council Rock could have even used a little more homework.

Council Rock High School North
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Council Rock was very competitive and definitely promoted persistence and determination. The values learned in this curriculum will be used in college and throughout life.

Council Rock High School North
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Students that have went through the Council Rock program generally have respect for their peers. This includes students in other grade levels and even across individual schools. In my experience students also had a deep respect for their teachers and for people in positions of authority within the district. This was especially evident with teachers that participated in the sports programs.


Council Rock High School North
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Teachers have very good credentials and are well aware of demands impacting students. Subject matter was generally taught in a lecture format but active participation was encouraged and factored into course grading system. This increased the amount of knowledge retained as students were required to pay more attention on a daily basis. Teachers were always available after class or the school day to review topics covered and assist where necessary. Math teachers were particularly helpful in ensuring subject matter understood and retained.

Council Rock High School North
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
I am a former student of Council Rock school district and was very pleased with the experience. Preparation for college was extraordinary and the teachers were able to relate the subject material to practical real world situations. Social pressures are present but no more than any other competitive high school. Sports programs are time consuming however reinforce sound values, particularly the soccer and wrestling programs. Before and after school training sessions provided team bonding experiences and long lasting friendships. Disciplinary action responses to unnacceptable behavior were generally appropriate and effective. Examples were definitely made at times but this was necessary to portray the right message to students. Sure there were difficult moments however core values learned in the Council Rock program facilitated higher learning programs and ultimately a successful career path.

Council Rock High School North 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
I honestly hate going to this school every day. It's such a shame because Council Rock has such a good academic reputation, but it is completely wasted because of the social atmosphere. Some of the teachers are really great, but the reputation is mostly because there are a lot of smart kids. I agree with another post; the students that go here are possibly the lowest-quality people I have ever met. Don't let the 'good academics' fool you into sending your child here, it's not worth being miserable.


Council Rock High School North 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of two daughters who have both graduated from Council Rock North High School. Overall this high school has provided a quality education with a comprehensive curriculum, first rate teachers and a host of extracurricular activities, clubs, sports and opportunities so that the students can receive a complete and thorough educational experience. I am also very impressed, in this modern day of peer pressure and negative outside influences, with the steps and measures that the school employs to highten awareness of the dangers and consequences of drinking and driving, drugs, sexual relations, etc. Most important is the proactive stance that the school and administration takes with regards to other matters as well such as teenage suicide, a growing concern and problem across the country that Council Rock has met head on and provided counciling and continued and repeated education on. The school should be applauded in this regard. One area of potential concern is with regards to the math curriculum at the school. Despite being overall good students both of my children struggled mightily with math across all years of their high school experience. Thank you.

Council Rock High School North 2

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
Let's see...a large number of students initiate a huge food fight. Instead of dealing with it proactively, Council Rock, again, deals with it by having a 'police presence', then later, of course, overreacts and actually has some kids arrested? But alas, the usual 'my child does no wrong' parent strolls in and threatens to sue? And this is a well-disciplined school? How about calling the parents and telling them their kids WILL be responsible for cleaning the mess up after school? This type of behavior happens constantly. What do the well-behaved kids gain from this? Not a school district I want my kids to be in again...ever.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Council Rock High School North
62 Swamp Rd, Newtown, PA  18940
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (215) 944-1300
Last modified Council Rock High School North is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top