Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Newtown, PA
Students enrolled: 2,033
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Council Rock High School North
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
While I was in the program I definitely thought there was too much homework and reading on a daily basis. However, now after experiencing undergrad and grad school programs I feel that Council Rock could have even used a little more homework.

Council Rock High School North
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Council Rock was very competitive and definitely promoted persistence and determination. The values learned in this curriculum will be used in college and throughout life.


Council Rock High School North
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Students that have went through the Council Rock program generally have respect for their peers. This includes students in other grade levels and even across individual schools. In my experience students also had a deep respect for their teachers and for people in positions of authority within the district. This was especially evident with teachers that participated in the sports programs.

Council Rock High School North
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Teachers have very good credentials and are well aware of demands impacting students. Subject matter was generally taught in a lecture format but active participation was encouraged and factored into course grading system. This increased the amount of knowledge retained as students were required to pay more attention on a daily basis. Teachers were always available after class or the school day to review topics covered and assist where necessary. Math teachers were particularly helpful in ensuring subject matter understood and retained.

Council Rock High School North
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
I am a former student of Council Rock school district and was very pleased with the experience. Preparation for college was extraordinary and the teachers were able to relate the subject material to practical real world situations. Social pressures are present but no more than any other competitive high school. Sports programs are time consuming however reinforce sound values, particularly the soccer and wrestling programs. Before and after school training sessions provided team bonding experiences and long lasting friendships. Disciplinary action responses to unnacceptable behavior were generally appropriate and effective. Examples were definitely made at times but this was necessary to portray the right message to students. Sure there were difficult moments however core values learned in the Council Rock program facilitated higher learning programs and ultimately a successful career path.


Council Rock High School North 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
I honestly hate going to this school every day. It's such a shame because Council Rock has such a good academic reputation, but it is completely wasted because of the social atmosphere. Some of the teachers are really great, but the reputation is mostly because there are a lot of smart kids. I agree with another post; the students that go here are possibly the lowest-quality people I have ever met. Don't let the 'good academics' fool you into sending your child here, it's not worth being miserable.

Council Rock High School North 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of two daughters who have both graduated from Council Rock North High School. Overall this high school has provided a quality education with a comprehensive curriculum, first rate teachers and a host of extracurricular activities, clubs, sports and opportunities so that the students can receive a complete and thorough educational experience. I am also very impressed, in this modern day of peer pressure and negative outside influences, with the steps and measures that the school employs to highten awareness of the dangers and consequences of drinking and driving, drugs, sexual relations, etc. Most important is the proactive stance that the school and administration takes with regards to other matters as well such as teenage suicide, a growing concern and problem across the country that Council Rock has met head on and provided counciling and continued and repeated education on. The school should be applauded in this regard. One area of potential concern is with regards to the math curriculum at the school. Despite being overall good students both of my children struggled mightily with math across all years of their high school experience. Thank you.

Council Rock High School North 2

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
Let's see...a large number of students initiate a huge food fight. Instead of dealing with it proactively, Council Rock, again, deals with it by having a 'police presence', then later, of course, overreacts and actually has some kids arrested? But alas, the usual 'my child does no wrong' parent strolls in and threatens to sue? And this is a well-disciplined school? How about calling the parents and telling them their kids WILL be responsible for cleaning the mess up after school? This type of behavior happens constantly. What do the well-behaved kids gain from this? Not a school district I want my kids to be in again...ever.


Council Rock High School North 4

Posted April 29, 2012
- a student
This school, I believe, was better than Newtown Middle. The reason I don't give higher than a four is: not much help at times, some teachers make you feel like nothing or annoying, and the only way you get kicked out is by doing a serious crime, other than that everything is pointless rules or the trouble people cause are little to nothing to the district.

Council Rock High School North 1

Posted September 18, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student at Council Rock North, and I can honestly say that I hate it here. The school, in terms of academics, is excellent. However, the students who attend this school are some of the most low-quality human beings in this world. If you are a transfer student, like I am, you're life here will be a living hell. Do not come to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Council Rock High School North
62 Swamp Rd, Newtown, PA  18940
(215) 944-1300
Last modified Council Rock High School North is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Council Rock High School North Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top