Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Newtown, PA
Students enrolled: 2,033
 

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Council Rock High School North 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
I honestly hate going to this school every day. It's such a shame because Council Rock has such a good academic reputation, but it is completely wasted because of the social atmosphere. Some of the teachers are really great, but the reputation is mostly because there are a lot of smart kids. I agree with another post; the students that go here are possibly the lowest-quality people I have ever met. Don't let the 'good academics' fool you into sending your child here, it's not worth being miserable.
2 people found this helpful

Council Rock High School North 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of two daughters who have both graduated from Council Rock North High School. Overall this high school has provided a quality education with a comprehensive curriculum, first rate teachers and a host of extracurricular activities, clubs, sports and opportunities so that the students can receive a complete and thorough educational experience. I am also very impressed, in this modern day of peer pressure and negative outside influences, with the steps and measures that the school employs to highten awareness of the dangers and consequences of drinking and driving, drugs, sexual relations, etc. Most important is the proactive stance that the school and administration takes with regards to other matters as well such as teenage suicide, a growing concern and problem across the country that Council Rock has met head on and provided counciling and continued and repeated education on. The school should be applauded in this regard. One area of potential concern is with regards to the math curriculum at the school. Despite being overall good students both of my children struggled mightily with math across all years of their high school experience. Thank you.


Council Rock High School North 2

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
Let's see...a large number of students initiate a huge food fight. Instead of dealing with it proactively, Council Rock, again, deals with it by having a 'police presence', then later, of course, overreacts and actually has some kids arrested? But alas, the usual 'my child does no wrong' parent strolls in and threatens to sue? And this is a well-disciplined school? How about calling the parents and telling them their kids WILL be responsible for cleaning the mess up after school? This type of behavior happens constantly. What do the well-behaved kids gain from this? Not a school district I want my kids to be in again...ever.
2 people found this helpful

Council Rock High School North 4

Posted April 29, 2012
- a student
This school, I believe, was better than Newtown Middle. The reason I don't give higher than a four is: not much help at times, some teachers make you feel like nothing or annoying, and the only way you get kicked out is by doing a serious crime, other than that everything is pointless rules or the trouble people cause are little to nothing to the district.

Council Rock High School North 1

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Council Rock High School North 1

Posted September 18, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student at Council Rock North, and I can honestly say that I hate it here. The school, in terms of academics, is excellent. However, the students who attend this school are some of the most low-quality human beings in this world. If you are a transfer student, like I am, you're life here will be a living hell. Do not come to this school.
1 person found this helpful

Council Rock High School North 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
We moved to Newtown with high school aged children and I have been so pleased with Council Rock North High School. The counselors have done a great job in helping my children feel welcome and adjust to a new environment and have gone the extra mile in making sure they were placed in appropriate courses. The academics have been outstanding. They have a history program that builds from year to year, an English program that focuses on vocabulary, grammar and the classics, excellent math and science teachers that engage the students in the learning process and their after-school clinic is a great chance for all students to receive extra help in any subject as needed. There are a wide range of extra-curricular activities that allow every student who wants to get involved the opportunity to do so.

Council Rock High School North 3

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Council Rock High School North 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
Both my children have attended this school and got a great education Once they got to college they found exactly how good their high school was. They were ahead of many other college freshmen.

Council Rock High School North 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
What a school district! My three sons have all gone through Council Rock North and have achieved so much! The teachers are incredible, with degrees from Penn, Georgetown, UVA, Penn State and Colgate. The honors programs, AP, and accelerated academics are unbelievable! If you're looking for a great town to live in with topnotch schools, Newtown/Washington Crossing is the place to settle down!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Council Rock High School North
62 Swamp Rd, Newtown, PA  18940
(215) 944-1300
Last modified Council Rock High School North is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Council Rock High School North Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top