Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oaks El School 1

Posted July 07, 2016
- a community member
Due to the heavy and ever growing population going here, the classrooms are over crowded. 1st graders with close to 30 kids in the class and one teacher. If your kid thrives in a smaller class environment or more importantly, needs a smaller group to learn and not fall by the waist side, I would not suggest this school.

Oaks El School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
We recently upgraded from a town home in the Oaks Elementary attendance area to a larger single home near Oaks and we are SO happy that we could keep our son at Oaks Elementary. We love the school and have nothing but good things to say about it. The only bad thing is that is doesn't go past 4th grade!


Oaks El School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to my son's first grade teacher, Mrs. Moser! He has made such amazing progress this year in reading and I am so impressed with his teacher!

Oaks El School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
THANK YOU MRS CHESTER FOR BEING A KIND AND CARING ESL TEACHER WHO WAS LIKE FAMILY TO OUR KIDS WHEN COMING FROM UKRAINE!

Oaks El School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Our 2 children, then ages 6 & 8 started at Oaks two weeks after we adopted them from Ukraine in December 2006. They spoke a FEW words in English, their native tongue was Russian. *****I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH about the FABULOUS, professional, KIND staff there!!! From Mark Moyer, the Principal, to Tara Chester, the English As a Second Language Teacher, to the Art Teacher, English, Homeroom, Gym Teachers, Librarian, to even the janitor knew us on a personal basis!! They were ALL SO KIND to our kids!! They took them under their wing, and our kids felt like it was HOME! My 17 yr. old daughter was just saying last night she wants to go back soon to visit; Mrs. Chester even attended her induction ceremony into the SFSD National Junior Honor Society in 8th grade! They TRULY were like family! In fact, in April 2005, the school Walkathon chose our son's former orphanage in Ukraine as the benefactor! We raised $6K, half went to JDRF & 1/2 to our son's former home! The proceeds bought clothes, vitamins, shoes, toiletries, toothpaste, toothbrushes, etc for the orphans left behind there in Donetsk Ukraine. (Equaled $24K in USD). Mr Hullman also helped with the assembly we had for the kids for WalkaThon kickoff. They also have an "International Night" for the ESL kids; to celebrate their home countries. I brought in 2 Ukrainian Dancers to entertain the kids; and lots of Ukrainian Food, Hand Carved Ukrainian pens/ whistles for the kids, and our kids wore their native traditional costumes. ethnicity is celebrated and embraced at Oaks at the highest level! WE MISS OAKS SO MUCH! EVERY SCHOOL IN THE COUNTRY SHOULD HAVE THIS MUCH LOVE and really care about the level of one on one education as Oaks does!!!


Oaks El School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Oaks overall take great interest in their students success. The curriculum is average but there is the opportunity for a gifted student to participate in the AT program which offers enrichment to the curriculum. The Principal's leadership is evident in the overwhelming positive atmosphere of the school. The moment you walk through the doors you will feel the positivity through the welcoming faces of staff and the creative annual themed art adorned on the walls. Just to add---their art teacher and gifted teacher are phenomenal.

Oaks El School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
What a great school. My son is in First grade this year and attended KG last year. His answer to "How was the day" moved from "Good" to "Great". :) I am very happy with the staff and teachers who take personal interest in kids. I would rate 9 or 10.

Oaks El School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
I have two boys (now 12 and 15) that went through all 5 yrs at Oaks. I can tell you even today, they miss the staff at Oaks and try to visit whenever they can. My younger son was identified by his teacher in 2n grade as needing assistance and joined the IEP program in 3rd grade. The teachers and staff had so much patience with him in not only helping him learn, but to be comfortable with his peers, it was amazing. As a parent I cannot say enough about Oaks and how much they care about their students! He is so proud of his accomplishments and is now a Spring Ford Honor Roll student!!!


Oaks El School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Children love their school and the teachers They work diligently to help students achieve their potential.

Oaks El School 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is amazing. My son has been experiencing some difficulties with his ADHD, ODD and other issues. The teachers, principle, gym instructor right down to the janitorial staff havebeen so kind and supporting to him and our family. They helped to facilitate him getting the additional help he needed and genuinely cared about his well being and our family. Thank you Oaks, staff and district for all your help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oaks El School
325 Oaks School Dr, Oaks, PA  19456
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (610) 705-6008
Last modified Oaks El School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top