Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nebinger George W School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Nebinger is a wonderful and diverse community. The Principal is truly amazing and, in spite of the PA budget crunch, has brought back music, art, dance, and theater. Our son is loving his time at Nebinger and is thriving. He is learning so much from his teachers and from his classmates. The school not only offers one of the best autism support programs in the city, it also has a robust and challenging mentally gifted program. Every teacher we have met is engaged, dedicated, and goes above and beyond for the kids. There are also dedicated community groups, including the Friends of Nebinger and the Home & School, that work tirelessly to bring new resources into the school. Nebinger is such a loving, diverse, and open environment. More and more young families are staying in the catchment and choosing Nebinger. We could not be happier that we stayed and sent our child to Nebinger. All of that said, this is just a website. You should take a tour and see for yourself.

Nebinger George W School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Principal Brown is great, but really a thanks to the entire team! Everyone works together to make Nebinger a great school.


Nebinger George W School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Yes! The curriculum is challenging and made more challenging for those who need the extra challenge.

Nebinger George W School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Openness and diversity, as well as trust, responsibility, and fun, make Nebinger a great place for students to develop these skills.

Nebinger George W School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Nebinger is a loving, open, diverse, and respectful place. The ethos of the school's leadership with regard to honesty, integrity, and fairness pervades the entire school in the best possible way.


Nebinger George W School 4

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
The school, staff and principal are great. They genuinely care about the students and work hard. They go above and beyond what is required of them. The principal is in the classroom daily and the teachers take personal interest in their students. This is my daughter's first year here and she loves it. She is learning so much.

Nebinger George W School 1

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever....teachers don't care and the ones who do care do not really provide the support that students might need. They do not teach they just entertain the students....children are better off with no education at all...unless you want your kids in a non American dialect....which is awful....!

Nebinger George W School 1

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Nebinger, its principal, and teachers convinced me to remove my son from the Philadelphia public schools. Extremely negative environment for learning established by new principal. Numerous fights in the often unsupervised playground as well as supervised cafeteria. Half of the children in my son's 1st grade class spoke little or no English. The teacher spoke only English albeit poorly. Once a week a bi-lingual aid would come to the school, but that was hardly adequate in meeting the school's needs. My son's teacher choose to amuse herself and her class by making fun of my son's name. I attempted to report this to the school and the district administration but they would take no action. The few good teachers at Nebinger seemed frustrated in their circumstances.


Nebinger George W School
no rating

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
My child is in an autism support classroom at Nebinger. He just started September 2009 and what a difference I see in him already. His teacher is truly dedicated and cares alot about her students.

Nebinger George W School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
My son is currently enrolled in the Autistic Support Program at George W. Nebinger School. This program has done wonders for my child. They work with your child based on their personal abilities, as well as working with their disabilities. I feel as though they make the children feel like they are individuals. Not just a child that could be pointed out in a crowd. If your child has been diagnosed with any kind of autism disorder, and is entering kindergarten, then this is the place for them. Trust me, I was skeptical at first, but this school has showed me and new light for my child. They will do the same for you.

Nearby schools

Nebinger George W School
601 Carpenter St, Philadelphia, PA  19147
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (215) 952-6202
Last modified Nebinger George W School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top