Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sullivan James J School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Clark because before she has gone out on maternity leave she was always there for my daughter as well as me to tell me where to help and progress my daughter. Steps to take at home to help her stay on top. She worked with my daughter to keep her intrest because she was ahead of the class and would become distant and unfocused at times. She always met with parents before or after class if needed. All round good teacher

Sullivan James J School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
They have no real help and its hard to control the classes they are more like bouncers than teachers. The assistants they do have do the bare minimum and act like they dont know whats goung on on a day to day basis


Sullivan James J School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Right now for kindergaten it is just right. She gets 3-6 small things to do

Sullivan James J School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was so excited to start school that she wanted a school theme for her 5th birthday in August so she was prepared for kindergarten in September.... Now she hardly ever wants to go. She cant stand the class cause she cant concentrate because the kids are wild and crazy. All the teachers do is yell.... Which she brings home when she plays school with her younger sisters.

Sullivan James J School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Its not towards my daughter or kids of other mother that i have talked to in other classes and grades but then i also dont know about all others.


Sullivan James J School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Because they dont protect them against the bullying and when you as a parent go in and talk to them they make you feel like a nuisance, you talk to vice principle then principle fill out incident report etc it take multiple time for them to even approach and correct the situation. Also they are unprepared when it comes to a teacher taking maternity leave... Lack on help in the room... Also thwy do not assist or direct the substitutes with the routines and curriculum being taught to keep kids on track. These poor kids are losing before they even get a start

Sullivan James J School 1

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Bullying is a problem and they sweep it under the rug!! There is no communication. Everything is last minute, never enough time so parents can be involved. No direction, everyone has an excuse or blame someone else. They lie in the office say one thing then say oh no i didnt say that. They are tude. If you have a care or concern they make you feel like you are a problem... Well if your not lookin out for my kid Im gunna. So sad because my daughter was so excited to start school and now in kindergarten already doesn't want to go! They have no control over the kids. And innocent children are loseing their light love and luster for learning!!! Take a pole in the school yard bet youd get this same response!

Sullivan James J School 4

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
I love this school last year my grandson was in kindagarden and he did great now he will be going into 1st grad and I cant wate to see how he dose this year


Sullivan James J School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
This school smell when you walk into the hallways and in the front door. The children are horrible and may influence your child in a negative way. On the flip side it is one of the better school in the neighborhood but if you have a choice choose another school because this school is not good for my child. The teachers are great and will work with you but the school conditions make it hard for them. The school district of Philadelphia has gotten worse and it shows in their classroom sizes and lack of extracurricular activities for the children.

Sullivan James J School 4

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended Sullivan for many years. The present Principal cares about the students and the former teacher who says she talks down to the staff is not telling the whole story. The principal abides by the rules. Sullivan has mostly excellent teachers. I do have issue with the lunch aides who I have personally witnessed yelling at students and giving out detention without good cause. Parents aren't notified . Besides that issue, I feel Sullivan is a good school.

Nearby schools

Sullivan James J School
5300 Ditman St, Philadelphia, PA  19124
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (215) 537-2524
Last modified Sullivan James J School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top