Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 2360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

82 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2006

This school has a top quality academic program. Also offers diverse activities. Good location. The percentage onf students going on to college is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

Central High school is one of the best schools in the U.S. and the top one in pennsylvania. This school is very thought for students that are just coming in especially Freshmans. There is a test or quiz on every subject every day of the week. The students that attend Central high Also get homework everyday. The reason why this school is so tought is because it prepares you to go to college. The best Colleges from all over the nation come to Central to admit students to their schools. Princeton, Harvard, NYU, and PENN are among the colleges that come to our schools. Central high school isn't only the top school in Philadelphia but it also is the school that has all the sports you can think off and 85% of the students that attend Central are enrolled in an extra curricular activity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2005

This wonderful school combines academic excellence with a diverse student and staff population and a large range of course offerings. Nine foreign languages, many AP course options, and academic offerings in art and music add to the atmosphere of learning. You will also find many extra curricular activities and staff that are invested in their students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2005

The Greatest school ever! it has so many activities that its impossible for students to even think of being bored. It also very competitve highschool which is good cause it will prepare you for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2005

Simply stated, this is one of the best high school's in the country. Those who attend can get a top notch education at a public school ('free) price. I'm not sure why anyone who resides in Philadelphia would send their high schooler anywhere else. The location isn't the greatest but the education at this school is top notch and its history and influence in the Philly area are unmatched at any other local school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2005

My daughter goes there and so far, she's loving it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

Central High School is a very good school. All my sisters and brothers have attended here. One is still attending Central and I have already graduated. The academic programs are wonderful becuase there are programs for the gifted, the more advanced and the regular learners. They provide assistance with homework if the student needs or wants it. Central is extremely diverse and offer a great variety of clubs and sports for students to join.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2005

Central High is one of the best school this state has seen in a long while. It's a great learning institution that provides students with many long term oppurtunities for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2005

Central is very competitive. Not all of the classes are top-quality, but many are, and the students stimulate one another. Although there is a great deal of ethnic and economic diversity, the school feels safe and the kids are generally glad to be there and focused on having a positive experience. Cliques and the like are relatively unimportant; kids cross the boundaries all the time. There is an impressive culture of math/science research, and students focused in that way have many opportunities to do first-rate work on an extra-curricular basis. The language programs are spotty. Faculty and administration do a great job of personal focus on students, even though the school is very large. Parent involvement is limited, but less necessary than at some other places because the kids are self-motivating, and the school encourages them to take responsibility for themselves. Top students go to top colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Central High School is a great school. I learned a lot in the classrooms, but also out of them from the teachers, administration, and other students. Central exposes students to things that will be very helpful in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 4, 2005

The quest for academic excellence is best obtained at CHS. CHS has continully churned out high achieving graduates from average joes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 23, 2004

Hello. I am a member of the 266 class of central high school. When i first came to central i didn't know what i was getting myself into. The school was bigger and there were a lot more people in my one class then in my whole middle school. Now that i am a sophomore in central i am part of the school. I am a member of the varsity soccer team and the varsity volleyball team. Central is a great school and everyone should go there. Central's sports are so outstanding! i love being at central. The only thing that i do mind is the teachers there. Some of them are great teachers and know what they are doing but others are just there by luck i think. I believe that the teachers at central should be more highly picked. But besides that i love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2004

I am a 2002 graduate of Central (261) and I want to say that this school truly is exceptional. I say this with a more knowledgeable perspective, as I am now a junior Elementary Education/Child Development major at Spelman College. All day I learn about what it means to be a good teacher, a change agent, a leader and an advocate for students. I spend my days not only in the classroom as a student at Spelman, but I visit classrooms in Atlanta Schools as an observer and teacher's aide. I have gained knowledge about what makes a school and its curriculum responsive, how schools operate to prepare students for the life. With this mindsight, I can truly say that Central is an elite school; my experiences there and new knowledge about the ways of schools tell me so. I spend all day learning about what I experienced at Central.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 17, 2004

Central is one of the best schools in Philadelphia. As a graduate of 261, Central has broadened my horizons in ways previously unimaginable. My knock on Central is my sincere feeling that certain people were encouraged to do more than others. Some of my peers were told to achieve Ivy League, Honor Roll grades, others with just as much talent were told they were 'doing well' with B/C work. Granted, certain people have different strengths and weaknesses, and for some, a B might be an accomplishment. However, I know that I was capable of A+ work, having secured all As coming into Central, and a 1340 SAT score. Yet on the whole, many teachers were content with letting me underachieve. I am now an A student again at HBCU. I can't say Central didn't prepare me somewhat. I just think that I would be at an Ivy with better counseling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 3, 2004

I am currently a 12th grader at Central high, and I would have to say that this is one of the best schools in Philadelphia. The teaching is excellent and the students are very competitive. (The top-notch students, at least. Unfortunately a good part of the current pool of students does not do justice to the school's record of excellence.) The classes are taught by extremely qualified teachers and every student has the opportunity to get involved in a multitude of extracurricular activities. The building is in desperate condition and during the winter one can risk freezing to death when the heaters malfunction, but besides that, I would not change my school for anywhere else in the city. The academic excellence of this school is shown by its students: in the 2004 graduating class 31 students got into Ivy League colleges: Harvard, Princeton, MIT, Yale and Upenn. Great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2004

I graduated from Central High in 2003 and now attend the University of Pennsylvania (along with 30 other Central students). Central High could not have made me happier. The school is a wonderful combination of spirited students, dedicated administration, and enthusiastic teachers. Central really is as good as you make it: Although all classes are very good, I highly recommend honors classes, which are filled with students and teachers who particularly love learning from one another. Central has great extracurricular activities and a very welcoming atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 28, 2003

Amazing school. Diversity abounds and the education is absolutely first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

It was a very good school educationally speaking, but alot of the students are very rude to the teachers, which takes away from the class experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

This is a really good and friendly school it has a very good academic grades. To top it all of it's a really good environment for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school's Alumni association of 20,000 members keeps it very well funded. Also, the music program (specifically the orchestra) is incredible, having made five trips abroad and planning a sixth. Also, any year in which their sports teams don't win 5 or more titles would be a surprise.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

620 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

620 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

606 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

607 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black94%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multi-ethnic92%
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black97%
Asian98%
Hispanic93%
Multi-ethnic92%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female70%
Male77%
Black63%
Asian76%
Hispanic61%
Multi-ethnic69%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black99%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnic100%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 31% 3%
White 27% 71%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
College counselor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 West Olney Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19141
Phone: (215) 276-5262

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Widener Memorial School
Philadelphia, PA


Girls High School
Philadelphia, PA





Better Way Academy
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT