Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Martin Of Tours School

Private | PK-8 | 455 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

My son graduated from SMT going to a Catholic high school were he received a four year scholarship. I know that the teachers did a good job. My son has been an honor student for four years. He is also taking college courses this year. GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SMT. I want to thank the teachers that work with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

SMT is such a diverse and exciting school! I think if you're more of an extrovert and like joining activities, then you'll just fit right in :) I must admit, it's becoming less and less diverse every yr. after the 8th gr. classes graduate. The diversity is , in my opinion what helps this school keep going strong... I love it here though It feels like home, you make so many good friends, and even though the curriculum is not the best, our teachers enable us to make our own decisions and strive to do our best! ... When you pass by SMT, please consider your child to attend OUR school.


Posted September 3, 2013

S.M.T. is a very welcoming and diverse school. The teachers will always be there or you if you need help, or are struggling in your classes. Although their academic skills, are a bit mediocre and I feel like they're not teaching us enough on our levels. I love the extra curriculum, there's so many things to join!! If you're new to Philly and are looking for a school to attend, Sm.T. is your place- guaranteed!! BUT- if you want your children to have a better education & are looking for more challenging classes I think St. Martha's or any other private school is best =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

SMT is the best school ! I have been here for 9 years and it has been great . The teachers and staff are really helpful and experienced . I see new kids come in from different countries and they all seem to fit in . I am thankful that my parent decided to let me come here .


Posted August 20, 2012

I've been going to S.M.T. for 6 years and it's a very fun and good school to go to. But they do ask for money (like all the time) and every activity has to be paid for. But as long as we're getting the learning experience that we deserve and good facilities then alright. I like our teachers and their routines shout out to best Math teacher~ Mr.P! I love our music teacher and coaches for sports. Cons ~ there are some snobby people there and demerits given. Sometimes I don't like how they tell you don't eat junk food and complain about our weight and then they sell soda and junk. Hypocrites but other than that...we are S.M.T. family. Send your child here!! =) There's scholarships!


Posted June 29, 2011

The MOST MONEY HUNGRY School i have ever come across! I'm willing to struggle for my kids but when St. Martins raised tuition DOUBLE, I just thought this is not right Am i supposed to get a third job now? then I'll never see my children! They say God starts in the home, Yeah well us parents are never there because we are working for catholic tuition and this is NOT what being a catholic is about! These people call out the kids names in class in front of everyone if you are behind with tuition and exclude the children from in-school activities. Completely unacceptable! Nice Knowing you SMT. Thanks for completely turning me off from the Catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

St. martin of tours school is a very awesome school! The teachers and staff are really nice.The students are disciplined and most are very kind.


Posted April 27, 2010

this is the biggest mistake i do in my life i have two kids there and i cant wait to the year end to change them two student honor roll before right know just bad grades they call kids irresponsibles and remind then if they dont bring the homework every they they failed the grade my dauther cry for that and she is so nervous that is a mental damage im tired of taking with the faculty and express my feelings in this place is not GOD present in this school is all about MONEY and making peoples life a real inferrrnnnnnnnnooooooooo save your child dont make the same mistake i did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I have had two children at SMT and have been quite impressed. I grew up attending schools in the suburbs and have advanced degrees from one of the best colleges around, and I can honestly say that the they quality of education and dedication of the teachers is unmatched anywhere in the Philadelphia area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I have something to say to those who complain about 'money-hungry' and 'overcrowded classrooms.' You show your ignorance. When my children attended St. Martin's, there were almost 1,500 to 2,000 students in the school. There were almost 50 in the classroom and they excelled because of the parents seeing to it that the children were prepared for school and did homework. The students at St. Martins won many scholarships then even though they had large classes. What are you naysayers doing to help your children after school? You parents are their primary teachers. As for 'money-hungry,' it is evident that you never had to meet a payroll every week. 'Pay alot [sic]?' Try sending your childto private schools such as Friends, Episcopal or Nazareth and see what 'pay alot [sic] is about?


Posted April 11, 2009

My son attended St. Martin's grades 1-8 and now attends Roman Catholic HS. My daughter has attended since 1st grade and she is now in 6th. This is an excellent school. We love it so much that my granddaughter will start KIndergarten there in the fall. I give it and it's teachers 5 stars. Most especially Mr. Pavonarius, who I feel is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I took my kids out of public school to go to SMT and they love it. My daughters are in evey activite there is at that school. One thing I don't like is every min I turn around we are spending money when i know I pay alot already for them just being there! Overall it's a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

No. I went to this school for 9 years (against my will) and I can truly say that this is a horrible school. From teachers talking about students behind their backs, to fights in the schoolyard, this place is downright terrible. I stayed home as much as possible and never wanted to attend. The students that DID attend make public schools in the area look like Harvard University. Do you, and your child a favor and please stay as far away as you can from this place.


Posted June 11, 2008

St. Martin's is wonderful! The teachers are so kind and understanding! They really try to help every child and they have an amazing learning support program for kids, like mine, who need extra help. I can't say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

The school is okay. I have a second grader who has been there for one year so far. I agree that they are money hungry. Some of the extra curricular activities require money. I don't think they realize that parents do not have money for every single activity that the children are offered to participate in. The education is good for the most part. I don't have any other reservations outside of them being money hungry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

St. Martins is the best!!! Four generations of my family have belonged to this church and school. I have been a Lunch Monitor at the school for the past 2 years and I love it. The kids are great, the teachers are the best and they provide a very loving but strict environment for these kids. I have a child with learning difficulties and she is thriving in the Learning Support Center. SMT is the the greatest and I am so proud to be not only a graduate (1979) but to also be included in the SMT family!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

Ruined many lives. If you love your child. Do not send them here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

this school was okkk. nothing excting.. typical school that's all. the teachers were strict when they needed to be. however, there were times when it was 30-40 kids in one room. How can a teacher teach well like that?
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

great school it has help my children with discipline and learning skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

Their are to many kids in a classroom. I believe it can and will hinder a childs learning ability. Less kids and more time for one on one between students and teacher. To many students does't allow the teacher to know there student weakness or there strong point.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 9%
Black 28% 15%
White 15% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephen Frances
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5450 Roosevelt Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19124
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 535-2962

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carnell Laura H School
Philadelphia, PA


Edmunds Henry R School
Philadelphia, PA


Ziegler William H School
Philadelphia, PA


Spruance Gilbert School
Philadelphia, PA


Northwood Academy CS
Philadelphia, PA


Mastery Cs-Smedley Campus
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT