Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 551

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northeast Catholic High School 1

Posted October 03, 2012
- a community member
North Catholic, you have inspired me TO SEND MY FUTURE KIDS TO A GOOD SUBURBAN PUBLIC SCHOOL! Number One, stop hitting me up for money and chasing me down to every address I move to. The Alumni Association are like vultures. Number Two, you're closed. Alumni- PLEASE STOP THINKING THEY WILL REOPEN! The fate of the other 4 high schools last winter should have went with NC and Dougherty. Yes, I can clearly understand the frustration over North getting the shaft before West, but come on both schools are clearly outliving themselves and depleting Alumni money. Number 3, the demographics for being able to charge $7,000 for tuition and fees have left. Our industrial base that supported the mammoth classes in the 1950s thru the 1970s is long gone along the free labor the AOP enjoyed in the past. Number 4. Most successful alumni were from those 50s to 70s classes. North fell badly behind even the average suburban public schools. Honors track NC grads were ill prepared for college and usually provided good STEM universities Freshman cannon fodder SAT scores and college attendance % were on par with George Washington, while for 7K, they at least need to be on Cherry Hill levels.

Northeast Catholic High School 1

Posted June 13, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Northeast Catholic High School 1

Posted June 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Northeast Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
My son is currently in the 10th grade at Northeast Catholic and his experience has been wonderful. The school has helped him grow into a fine young man.

Northeast Catholic High School 5

Posted March 04, 2007
- a parent
With the addition of the new onsite Microsoft and Cisco Academy programs in 2007-2008, Northeast Catholic is taking a leading role in technology education in the area. As the parent of a current senior (2006-2007), the thing I found most amazing is that my son is being taught by many of the same teachers who taught me 25 years ago. That's a committed group of teachers!


Northeast Catholic High School 5

Posted February 05, 2006
- a parent
Excellent selection for your child. The teachers are very well versed on every topic that rose up in the class to give the students various ways for solutions to the problems.

Northeast Catholic High School 4

Posted January 26, 2006
- a parent
I consider North Catholic to offer an excellent education, an abundance of activities and an excellent faculty. The level of parent involvement is significant, although it could always improve.

Northeast Catholic High School 5

Posted September 10, 2004
- a parent
Teachers at North are here because they want to teach at NC. Many could teach elsewhere for more money but chose to because of the school's history, tradition, discipline & pride. The faculty is talented, loyal, fair & compassionate. NC has many great activities including football, baseball and basketball. And with a famous tradition in soccer which has won 25 league titles and wrestling; winning 10 out of the last 13 championships. The chess team has even won 2 titles in the last 3 years. 'the good news' paper and 'model UN' teams are also noteworthy clubs to join. But above all NC graduates gentlemen in tradition of the oblates of st francis de sales who continue to lead the faculty & students here. As a parent who drives my son to NC 15 miles each way I can say it is worth every mile.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northeast Catholic High School
1842 Torresdale Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19124
(215) 831-1234
Last modified Northeast Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Northeast Catholic High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top