Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
It is a Great school. There are many wonderful opportunities to succeed as a student. Great community...recommend highly.

Young Scholars Cs
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely greatful to Young Scholars Charter because they have some exceptional teachers. There's a teacher in particular that stepped up to the challenge and made my child feel comfortable and safe, and was a true student advocate. This teacher showed a genuine interest in my child's education and interests. The actions of the teacher are exemplary and of a true role model. The school has a community feel and this teacher blends well with the open communication and interactions with parents. I recommend this school as my child has been at this school for 2 1/2 years and has learned a lot since then and has advanced further in her education, artistic abilities and social skills. I nominate this school for its excellence, student advocacy, community-based actions, and opportunities to excel in the greatest high schools and higher education (universities and college). A parent


Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
Young Scholars Charter School is a very good school. They have a lot of expectations but they also give a lot of assistance. The teachers genuinely care about the students excelling. I have 3 children who graduated from Young Scholars. One graduated in 2003, one in 2004 and the last one graduated in 2012. I would recommend Young Scholars to anyone looking for a school that prepares their student for high school and college. I only have good things to say about the school.

Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a 6 grader in this school and she loves it. It has a lot of different opportunities for the children. The teachers are great, they work with your child so they can excel above and beyond.

Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted February 23, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a sophomore, who use to go to your school. She attended Young Scholars for grades 6th through 8th, and i was very pleased with the school. Now i am interested in sending my son their; but i have to make sure this is the right school for him; because he has a iep.


Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted April 02, 2012
- a community member
Young Scholars Charter Schoool is a wonderful school that is filled with great teachers and a beautiful environment. Young Schoars hace reached many goals like, having outstanding scores on the PSSA`s, Great attendence, Having many children on Honor Roll, and many others that are outstanding. They teach students the fundementals and responsibilities that they will need not only as a child but as an adult too. Students graduate from tthat school with their heads held high and ready to take on the challenges that face in life.

Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
I am the proud parent of a Young Scholars Charter school student. My child is now in the eighth grade. I have not had any complaints about the school or the education she is receiving. Her test scores (pssa) show this school is on par with teaching, and reaching the students. I recommend this school to parents who are looking for a great school that will allow their child to be prepared for High school. Not only are the students well prepared for Special admission schools, but can compete and shine. Don't let the North Philly location fool you into thinking the school is not funded. This school is well funded and has exposed my child to activities she has never been given in the private school she attended prior to this school. . This is an awesome school.

Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted August 28, 2010
- a community member
I am a student here at Young Scholars in the 8th grade and it is the best school I ever attended. The teachers show care for every single student and help them set goals that they WILL accomplish by the time they leave the school. YSCS prepares all students for the best possible futures and give them lots of opportunities to shine. Every class challenges you, there are lots of extra-curricular activities for kids to participate in, and the school takes more trips and gives more rewards than any other school in the city. I highly recommend this school to other kids.


Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
I am a student here at young scholars i just finshed my sixth grade year in penn6.The school is the best. My teachers actually show care and i dont think my school deserves a 4 out of ten it deserves a 15 out of ten. the school is very challenging. we do a great job without a gym, lockers or a second floor. we use our limited supplies and get through the day.

Young Scholars Cs 5

Posted June 20, 2010
- a parent
Young Scholars is an excellent school. The school really challenges the students. The teachers are very helpful and caring. I would recommend this school to any parent that has a child entering the sixth or seventh grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young Scholars Cs
900 North Marshall St, Philadelphia, PA  19123
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (215) 232-9727
Last modified Young Scholars Cs is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top