Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lehigh Christian Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2013

I have attended this school for eight years. This school is not great. It only brings in trouble making students that were expelled from their previous schools. There are no sport teams. The gym classes don't teach anything about sports. This school doesn't offer any honors courses or any enrichment class. The kids in this school are rude. I was bullied. The kids there can be racist against some ethnicites and they are not accepting of some other types of people. The teachers don't even do anything about it. When I transferred into another school, it was so hard for me to get good grades. I didn't even know how to write an essay because LCA didn't teach me. I was a really good student in LCA but when I transferred it was a whole different world for me. Please don't send your kids to LCA. They will not get a good education. They may be bullied or be the bully.


Posted August 3, 2012

My daughter went to LCA for 2nd and 3rd grade before we moved. She absolutely loved it! Even today as she is in high school, she says it was the best school she has gone to. She liked how the classes were so small, it made it so there could be individual attention, to each student. The teachers were very helpful and kind, you could tell that they actually cared about the students. I would definitely recommend LCA, it is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

My child has been in LCA since Pre-K and now is in 1st grade. I love all the faculty and lunch ladies they are all awesome people. The classes are small but that is an advantage for the children that are having a little trouble with some subjects. It is a little expensive but I feel your childs education is worth every penny, I would highly recommend LCA for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

both of my children attend Lehign and Im totally pleased with the staff. even though we are moving across the city the kids will remain until 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My daughter has attended Lehigh since Kindergarten. She is entering the fifth grade. The teachers including the pastor and priciple are actively involved with the development and growth of the students. I will highly recommend Lehigh to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

This is a superior school in almost every way. My child had an excellent experience. He went on to great things in high school because of the great academic foundation they laid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

I was a graduated student of Lehigh and I loved the school. The environment was friendly and I and my classmates had a very close relationship with the teacher because of the small class ratio. It's a good school for such a small number of teachers. Keep in mind, that the faculties need improvement because of its small ratio. But the scool overseers are working to provide the school with as many programs as possible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2006

I went to Lehigh for 6-8th grades. I haven however attended the church since I was a baby. The small ratio allows the students to get more one on one learning. The biblical teachings are so clear and so wonderful that it really helps. Your children will meet a variety of people from all races and get the best education they deserve to get here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 3%
Black 24% 15%
Hispanic 13% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

934 Alburger Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19115
Phone: (215) 673-3169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greenberg Joseph School
Philadelphia, PA


Maternity Bvm School
Philadelphia, PA



Politz Hebrew Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Frank Anne School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT