Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Constitution High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

This school is terrible, if you don't fit in you won't have fun. If you aren't a basketball player, cheerleader, or a friend of a basketball player, you are a nobody. You'll feel alone and often times bullied and annoyed. The teachers are amazing but cannot teach due to the level of disrespect towards students. It's unbelievable. If you had to choose between a Central and Constitution: Please go to Central.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2011

Great School in all. the school is extremely diverse. it has high standards for its students. the students have a voice. the mock trial team is amazing and progressing fairly well. this school is on a direct acclivity to excellence. Great place to send your prospective student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2011

Great concept....poor leadership. I had high expectations for this school,unfortunately, it hasn't come close to being what it promised. The entire concept was supposed to be based on democracy,yet when students and staff disagree with the administration, they are belittled and sometimes eliminated.I am extremely disappointed and wish we had made a better decision when sending my child here! I may even encourage my daughter to take summer courses to finish her remaining credits (1.5) so that she will NOT have to finish her senior year there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

This is my son's first year at Constitution. I think this school is GREAT! You can tell that the teachers are really interested in the children's education and them suceeding. They take the time to help the students one on one if needed by offering tutoring. The school is very big on discipline and the students respecting each other.From what I've seen, the students are very nice and supportive of each other. I havent heard of any fights or too many discipline problems. The teachers keeps the parents informed of what is going on with your child and if they are having any issues, so it could be corrected before it gets too late. Overall, this is a great school to attend in my opinion. The staff and students takes great pride in Constitution High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

My daughter has attended this school for 2 years now just about done her sophmore year. The teachers and administrators are wonderful caring people who seem to truly care about the students. There is nothing elitest about the school and they certainly are not predjudiced. There are students of every race and creed at this school working side by side to the the best they can be., They expect the best of their students and they give their best to the students. They are always there to help out even if the problem is personal. I have seen great repore between the staff and students that is obvious at every event I have attended. The teachers expect the students to take responsibility for themselves, their work and their belongings. My daughter loves this school. The only people who would not are people who do not want to be responsible for themselves and want to blame everyone else for their failings.......The school teaches the students to have pride in themselves and the work they present...I can't say enoiugh good things about this school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

i Hate this school! no other school makes their students enter a national competition. I don't think that fair, they force us to do a nhd project! it is so stressful! you dont want to go or send your kids here! i was a atraight a honor student but now i have d's and c's!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

NHD is our entire 2nd period grade. We go on awesome trips too! in fact tomarrow we are going to Washington DC. we get special access to certain rooms in the white house because we are a law school Tomarrow, we will get to view a debate of a bill being passed. In June, we are going to New York. Anyway, we have proms and dances and a lot of other things of that sort. My favorite extra articular class in GSA (Gay straight allience) because we discuss issues in society. Anyway, if you or your child is interested in law and equity, you/they belong here! School starts at 7:50 and ends at 2:24! See you there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

This school is a great school for my daughter. She is learning so much about law and politics. She is excited about learning and the education she is getting is great. This school is a great fit for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I love the Constitution High School! I can not think of a better place to get an education. If your child is interested in Law and Government, then CHS is the place for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

i love this school. my child has been there for 3 years. she is now a junior. They have helped my child to excell in her education. She comes home so excited that she learned something new. The other day my kid came home happy that she got and A+ on her English3 vocabulary test. There were 75 words she never knew, and she learned them in no time at all, and she uses them in her vocabulary now!


Posted September 29, 2008

I enrolled here to have a great education and a great experience in high school and thats just what im getting and we are not prejudice
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

this school is great and the students are wonderful


Posted September 14, 2008

I go to CON HIGH and it is the best.... The teachers are great the staff is great and the Principal is the coolest.... I love it there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

this school is great my son and daughter love it and they have a great learning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This school does not work well to ensure student success it is elitist and borderline prejudice
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
17%

2009

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male56%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female70%
Male79%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students13%
Female8%
Male21%
Black5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 15%
White 17% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18 South 7th St
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone: (215) 351-7310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT