Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Markham El School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

If your child has any learning difficulties, I would strongly advise against this school. We had an extremely negative experience here and promptly transferred elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2014

We have moved a number of times, have several children and so have experience with five different elementary schools. What we noticed was unique about Markham was our child really liked his teachers, which made him motivated to do what they asked of him. We found most of the teachers reasonably demanding. Also all the schools in Mt Lebanon are "neighborhood schools" (no busing). This makes the neighborhood feel strong ties to the school. Therefore the support Markham receives from the parents and community is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My Grandchildren attend Markham Elementary it has been wonderful to them. Since they have moved to Markham I have seen great improvement in their interest in school and their grades are way up! Good Job Markham!


Posted March 12, 2014

It would be nice if the teachers here could actually "teach". Not very impressed with what this school has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

The teachers in this school act like they are in High School still. When I walk into the school, I constantly feel as though the teachers have something to say behind everyones back and are spreading rumors like teenagers. Very uncomfortable here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

It's understandable that the students get bullied so much when a majority of the teaching staff appear to be adult bullies as well; the school is also not very accepting of others. Markham certainly was one of the best schools in the past, probably not anymore.


Posted November 6, 2013

Don't send your children here if you can avoid it. My child was bullied, with the teachers and staff happily participating. The PTA parents put themselves way above the children, as do most of the adults working there. Most people who live in Mt. Lebanon are too scared to say anything negative about the town, schools, etc. -- it's very "Stepford" -- so don't be surprised that there are so many positive comments here. Markham is very good at teaching children that conformity is the only way to survive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

My child was targeted by a teacher who used to call and harass me about my childs attire, said it was not what she thought "nice enough" there was nothing wrong with it, at all, She also gossiped to all the other parents who started to avoid me and then no one would talk to my child anymore, we had to move away. Apparently if you are not excatly like everyone else here, your be targeted by this teacher...she called me when I was very sick with ammonia and harassed me almost every day. I will never forget it, sadly this teacher got away with gossiping and hurt our family and I found out she has done this to others too, still the damage is done...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

IF You have a child with special needs, stay away from this school. My normal child is doing great; the staff is very nice and attentive. However, my other child's teacher is anything but a teacher. She probably doesn't have children of her own, otherwise I cannot qualify this hostile horrible behavior from her. Without getting into to many awful details, just remember if your child is normal, this can be a good school, VERY PRISSY but OK if you can overlook that; but if your child has any special needs of any sort especially Autism related, stay away, as schools in Arizona are far better than this one. I am EXTREMELY disappointed with how they've singled out my poor kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

Having visited each of the elementary schools in Mt. Lebanon and having talked with parents and teachers from each, I can think of no better venue for children than Markham from the standpoints of education, culture, parental involvement and safety. It presents a caring environment - one where parents can take comfort and pride knowing that their children are being well-educated while being nutured. While not as diverse as more urban schools, it is a true "neighborhood school" that is reflective of the involved residents in its surrounding areas. (Contrary views from a few disgruntled parents may be explained by an understandable tendency to blame the school for problems closer to home.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I was a student at Markham and have to say that this is truly an amazing school. I just so happened to have Mr. Mikesell as a teacher and he was amazing but so was all of my other teachers even though i dont support favoritism i agree with that comment. Overall, Markham has really great parents and staff which i think is great for an elementary school. Markham rocks!


Posted September 24, 2010

Markham rocks! Markham is a great school. I loved it when I went there. The teachers are great and while the bully program seemed a bit over the top I enjoyed my time at Markham


Posted September 20, 2010

My daughter has enjoyed this school very much. As a parent, I can attest that the level of parent involvement is extreamly high. So much so that there is a lottery for parents to be able to volunteer in the classes. The academics are wonderful, the teachers are superb, and the children are polite. The lunchtime clubs during the winter months are great (yoga, french club, chess club, etc). Markham is a model school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

Markham is a very average school. Fortunately retirements are starting to take hold and it is my hope that some fresh thinking will address the unfriendly culture of the school. My daughter watched boys in her fifth grade class being bullied all year. Unfortunately, the school, in spite of the Olweus program, turned a blind eye. My daughter tried to raise the issue numerous times but was only allowed to discuss specific incidents in a way that suited the school's needs. It has taught her a valuable though sad lesson about bureaucracy. The academic programs are good, especially when strong district guidelines are followed. Fortunately, she is off to middle school, which have a much better reputation in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Everything about Markham...the faculty, the progams, the parent involvement, etc... makes our kids love learning and helps them be happy, inquistive, resourceful, and creative individuals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The best school with the best teachers. Mr. mikesell is the best teacher in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

The academic programs are very good. Children are excelling in math and reading. However, at the elementary level, social intelligence is as important and the rather rigid 'anti-bullying' program makes kids narc on each other all the time and teachers less likely to resolve classroom managment issues on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

This is as great school. It is safe, with a caring staff. Two kids went through Markham. One question--why would anyone even mention favoritism at an elementary school as another writer did? They are worried about all the wrong things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

I must agree with the last statement...Overall, I am not that 'impressed' with this school and some of the staff. I will point out that there are tons of parental support when it comes to volunteering-then there is 'favortism' but that is yet another story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

This is an excellent school if you have a average child. There are not many resources for gifted or special education needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female93%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female84%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)75%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)75%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female97%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 15%
Hispanic 1% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

165 Crescent Dr
Pittsburgh, PA 15228
Phone: (412) 344-2152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foster El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Washington El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Hoover El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Jefferson El School
Pittsburgh, PA



Howe El School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT