Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Markham El School 1

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
If your child has any learning difficulties, I would strongly advise against this school. We had an extremely negative experience here and promptly transferred elsewhere.

Markham El School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
We have moved a number of times, have several children and so have experience with five different elementary schools. What we noticed was unique about Markham was our child really liked his teachers, which made him motivated to do what they asked of him. We found most of the teachers reasonably demanding. Also all the schools in Mt Lebanon are "neighborhood schools" (no busing). This makes the neighborhood feel strong ties to the school. Therefore the support Markham receives from the parents and community is fantastic.


Markham El School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
My Grandchildren attend Markham Elementary it has been wonderful to them. Since they have moved to Markham I have seen great improvement in their interest in school and their grades are way up! Good Job Markham!

Markham El School 1

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
It would be nice if the teachers here could actually "teach". Not very impressed with what this school has become.

Markham El School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers in this school act like they are in High School still. When I walk into the school, I constantly feel as though the teachers have something to say behind everyones back and are spreading rumors like teenagers. Very uncomfortable here.


Markham El School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a community member
It's understandable that the students get bullied so much when a majority of the teaching staff appear to be adult bullies as well; the school is also not very accepting of others. Markham certainly was one of the best schools in the past, probably not anymore.

Markham El School 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Don't send your children here if you can avoid it. My child was bullied, with the teachers and staff happily participating. The PTA parents put themselves way above the children, as do most of the adults working there. Most people who live in Mt. Lebanon are too scared to say anything negative about the town, schools, etc. -- it's very "Stepford" -- so don't be surprised that there are so many positive comments here. Markham is very good at teaching children that conformity is the only way to survive.

Markham El School 1

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
My child was targeted by a teacher who used to call and harass me about my childs attire, said it was not what she thought "nice enough" there was nothing wrong with it, at all, She also gossiped to all the other parents who started to avoid me and then no one would talk to my child anymore, we had to move away. Apparently if you are not excatly like everyone else here, your be targeted by this teacher...she called me when I was very sick with ammonia and harassed me almost every day. I will never forget it, sadly this teacher got away with gossiping and hurt our family and I found out she has done this to others too, still the damage is done...


Markham El School 1

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
IF You have a child with special needs, stay away from this school. My normal child is doing great; the staff is very nice and attentive. However, my other child's teacher is anything but a teacher. She probably doesn't have children of her own, otherwise I cannot qualify this hostile horrible behavior from her. Without getting into to many awful details, just remember if your child is normal, this can be a good school, VERY PRISSY but OK if you can overlook that; but if your child has any special needs of any sort especially Autism related, stay away, as schools in Arizona are far better than this one. I am EXTREMELY disappointed with how they've singled out my poor kid.

Markham El School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
Having visited each of the elementary schools in Mt. Lebanon and having talked with parents and teachers from each, I can think of no better venue for children than Markham from the standpoints of education, culture, parental involvement and safety. It presents a caring environment - one where parents can take comfort and pride knowing that their children are being well-educated while being nutured. While not as diverse as more urban schools, it is a true "neighborhood school" that is reflective of the involved residents in its surrounding areas. (Contrary views from a few disgruntled parents may be explained by an understandable tendency to blame the school for problems closer to home.)

Nearby schools

Markham El School
165 Crescent Dr, Pittsburgh, PA  15228
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (412) 344-2152
Last modified Markham El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top