Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plum Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

School deserves it's 9 out of 10 rating here. Nice school, improved Keystone test score, PSSA (highest ever), area becoming more wealthier. Several remaining farms have been or will be sold for housing development. Extremely easy and convenient to get to downtown Pittsburgh. Plum schools are pretty good and very safe. A good, solid choice in the east suburbs. Much of the town is still rural and older and newer neighborhoods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

If you are moving to Pittsburgh, this school district continues to get better and I strongly recommend it. Plum is growing and the district continues to improve as seen by the 9 out of 10 rating. Plum is becoming one of the best in the east. The town has recently been rated as the 6th safest city in the United States. New schools are being built and many of the teacher staff have masters and doctorate degrees. Probably one of the reasons over 100 of the district's 300 teachers make over $100,000 a year. All the elementary schools are excellent and getting better. There has also been a lot of upscale housing developments and new ones on the way. Homes are available in the low 100k to 700k range but unfortunately inventory is low, especially with preexisting housing which is driving up home costs. Good schools, safe neighborhoods and demand for homes will continue to drive the prices up, but compared to other good school districts in other states, prices are still very affordable. Plum is a desirable Pittsburgh suburb which has an up and coming school district and a growing community of professionals that will is attracting families moving into the area. Buy Here Now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

I am very pleased with this high school. The guidance counselors and teachers have been incredible and worked hard to meet my child's needs. The music department is top notched with the best music wing and auditorium in the entire Pittsburgh region. Plum's auditorium rivals theaters in Pittsburgh's downtown cultural district. I do believe a lot of attention is focused on PSSAs. The high school grading scale is much higher than all the schools in the region, but I have heard that scale is being adjusted to the same level as the other high schools. I truly recommend this high school and the districts other schools. The area and district have become much more progressive. It you are looking for an area with good schools, safe and growing neighborhoods and reasonable housing (150-500k) than Plum is definately the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Very well educated teacher base, and I guess that justifies one of the highest teachers salaries in the region. Strong teacher union. Not sure if that is negitive or positive. Probably positive in attracting top teachers. It is known that Plum has an incredible retirement packages for their teachers and it appears younger and well educated instructors are filling positions throughout the school district. The high school is very lovely and I feel very safe here after relocating my family from DC. A lot of new homes are being built and will continue to drive up prices, but for excellent schools, low-crime and easy access into Pittsburgh, it makes it very worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

The school year just ended and qualified teachers is something that is definitely missing from this high school. This should be a major concern for all parents with students in this school district. Administrators and guidance help is positively nonexistant! I am looking for an alternative place for my children to attend school next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My child is a special education student with an IEP. He has yet to pass a PSSA test and can barely write. Guidance/adminstration assures me he will graduate, but I don't know how if he can't pass the PSSA tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

I only have one child but if I had other children I would definitely move out of the Plum Borough School District before that child reached high school age. It has to be among one of the worse high schools I have ever seen. If the teachers teach at all, it is to the PSSA tests. Try getting help for your child who is struggling and you get pushed around from guidance to teachers and back and forth. NO ONE will help and NO ONE wants to take responsibility for your child's learning!!!!! If you have a gifted child get out of Plum as soon as you can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

This is the last year I will have to deal with this school and am anxious for it to be over. If an average school, teach for standardized testing is for you, this is it. Keep in mind, it is a public school and they teach to the general population. If you have an above average student or an achiever, find somewhere else. If you think things will improve as your child gets higher in the grades, it doesn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

PHS is just an 'ok' school. The administration is lacking, yes, and the teachers are a mixed bag. Some teachers are gems and others are just awaiting retirement and coasting throuugh. Some genuinely care about their students and some are just there for the paycheck. In my experience, PHS teaches extremely to standardized tests. The school in general is far too focused on athletics. There is very little student motivation and teachers do little to engage students in learning and excite students about education. There is a huge divide and tons of tension between teachers/administration and students/administration. Don't get me wrong though, PHS is not as bad as I make it sound, but with so many other brilliant high schools in the surrounding areas, one should explore other options before choosing Plum High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

Teachers who teach AP classes seem more motivated than others. Most of AP teachers follow the requirement of the College Board guidelines. Most of teaches at this school do not cover enough materials so that students are not able to take various College Board SAT II tests. The honor classes are not very challenging and teaching pace is slow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Despite long-held perceptions about Plum's dominance, I would say that Plum SHS is average at best. I graduated in 2009 and feel that my education was good in some ways and poor in many others. For example, the teachers at Plum Senior High are all intelligent individuals capable of teaching compelling, extensive concepts, but the overall faculty attitude is based in static apathy. The unfaltering trend amongst teachers is to find a methods of teaching that yield average results, and to rarely go the extra mile. Enriched courses are great but in regular classes, little is expected of students beyond staying awake. Very few students see knowledge as uplifting or helpful. There's a 50/50 chance that a given classroom will be noisy, disruptive and lacking respect and control. Students can be verbally bullied within earshot of teachers and they will ignore it. There's definitely an athelete obsession at Plum as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

Moving into Plum was a great mistake for my kids. The kids here are mean and hateful. If you aren't born and raised here, you will never fit in unless you are an athlete or among the popular kids. Parents involved in the school system are out of control. PTA rules the school here. They hold the hands of these kids until they reach high school then release them and expect them to act like pre-adults. The teachers don't care and my kids have stated the classroom environment is out of control. I personally am pulling my children out and enrolling them in cyber-school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I moved to Plum my freshman year and went to Plum High School because I didn't have a choice. I graduated in 2003 and I am so happy to get out of there. Everyone is very snobby and catty. Not that all high schools are like that but this one was ridiculous! If you don't do any after school activities you will hate it. The athletes are treated better than everyone else also. I also don't find the education I received to be satisfactory either. The teachers don't care.


Posted February 2, 2005

This school is very competative in athletics but offers little in the way of academics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 26, 2004

As a graduate of the class of '99 I would have to say that I got the best education at Plum Senior High School. Everything is wonderful, from the classes, to activities, and the teachers. I truely feel that I couldn't have gotten a better high school education anywhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2004

I graduated in the class of 2000, and I'm more than satisfied with the education I received. In fact, after years of speaking to public school graduates from other areas, I've found that my education was far superior. I was, however, an honor student, and it seems the school catered best to the smart students as they enjoyed the lowest concentration of complacent teachers (which you'll find, to some extent, anywhere). Furthermore, many of my more creative and cultural hobbies were cultivated in Plum High. Make no mistake of it. Plum is a great public school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2004

Being a former graduate of the class of 2002, I feel that Plum has provided me with a real world education. I took this education to a private University were I have excelled in all fields. With the recent renovation Plum is a great school to attend. The environment is full of great teachers and staff. There are plenty of activities to be involved in. Plum is always high rank among other schools in the state of Pennsylvania and anyone would be a fool to go anywhere else
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 19, 2004

As a Plum graduate, I can say that Plum is an excellent school. Teachers are great, course selection is excellent, class size is great, etc. I went to a different high school for my sophomore and junior years and hated it. So, I decided to return to Plum for my senior year. It is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter graduated in 1998. I was very satisfied with the school. Did find that Football Players and Cheerleaders were treated differently. Very snobby school. Education at Plum was very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2003

As the parent of plum students as being myself a former plum student myself I have to say that Plum is one of the best schools in Western Pennsylvania. They pride themsleves on having some of the smartist and and most succesful students on the eastern coast. Almost every student is involved in an estrscurricular activity and the parents are always willing to help with the extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

310 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

304 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students48%
Female40%
Male57%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Black94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 71%
Black 5% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Elicker Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15239
Phone: (412) 795-4880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT