Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Catholic

Private

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $127,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

Central Catholic; I graduated in 1969. Perhaps I did not fully appreciate the experience at the time. But it has served me very well everyday since. College, Graduate School, Military experience are things I had been well prepared for. Everyone there from Charlie Fahey to Big Jim Wheeler etc. had a positive effect on my development as a man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

One of the finest institutions not only in pittsburgh but nationally. The school is very prestigous and often in quotes as being in the "top 3" of pittsburgh schools. (Ellis, Central, Shady Side) The school provides students with a ceomprehensive curriculm and offers many opporitunities outside the classroom. Central also takes advantage of nearby educational facilities such as those at CMU and PITT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

Central Catholic is an institution of higher education that turnes out the highest caliber workers, students, and responsible gentlemen. It instills values of leadership and comrodary that will pay off both in college and the wold beyond. Believe me, being a grad has opened countless doors and it is in all industry. Central is synonymous with men of fortitude and of strong moral base. As for the bullying, it's nonsence.. Noone, football player, basketball star, or bad ass guitar player was left out. There is no ganging up on one person or group, everyone gets flack from other students and it's reciprocated. No hard feelings felt, if your walking down the hall and your books are being held too far from your body, a friend of yours is going to smack them out of your hands all over the ground. A central man doesn't jump to anger from this atmosphere. Any graduate will tell you he laughed almost all day long and built lifetime friendships and bonds with the men they walked with on the quad. GO VIKES


Posted September 12, 2010

The school believes that football is king...they do not properly respond or even address bullying. I had 2 sons who attended. The experience was fine with 1 of them but with the other the administration put their "heads in the sand" and did not address bullying. After talking to many parents, this response is not unusually especially if the bullies are football team players. This response is not in-line with the school's mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

My sons both attended Central Catholic. One was an athlete and was involved in student governement, and one was involved in student governement, masque, forensics and several other activities. Both did well academically because they were pushed in a spiritual atmosphere by a great faculty. Of course there are 'boys will be boys' things. Cocky athletes? No more or less than at any other high school. Does the previous poster think these do not happen at other high schools? Central Catholic is a great high school and well worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

as an all boys school there is lots of 'boys will be boys' things. Students are selfish and ignorant. They have some of the best sports teams so most kids get cocky. Even if you do have the money, think about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

An incredible teaching institution where the Christian Brothers make men out of boys. Army service was a breeze after attending Central!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2009

a first rate high school, with an excellent faculty, who care about students to an extent one would never see in public schools where teachers are government employees there for a good paycheck: believe me, I know, I have 12+ years teaching in the publics and put 3 of my kids through them. Mind you, they are good teachers, but once again are employees, Long winded answer,but written to explain the Central difference. The tuition is way to high, prohibitive for too many families. Extracurriculars are outstanding, not only football. Discipline is not what it once was and is noticably dropping, but it is a safe school, unlike some of the areas high schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 10, 2009

A private school for boys, Central Catholic is the premier Catholic high school in Pittsburgh. The diversity it achieves is phenomenal, drawing students from neighborhoods like the Hill Disctrict to surburban communities such as Fox Chapel. In addition, it sends numeorus students to top schools every year. The experience for my son has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

I am glad that my son was afforded the opportunity of attending Central Catholic High School and has since graduated. Central is an optimum school and has greatly prepared my son for college. I'm proud to be the parent of a Central Catholic grad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

This school is not what it appears to be. The school brakes down the children and teaches them that Central Catholic children are the only people that matter. Most of the children who graduate from here are selfish and have a hard time in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

Central Catholic was the best decision my husband and I made for our children. We had to sacrifice financially to send our boys there, but it was worth it. The teachers at Central are top notch. They are highly qualified and most have at least a masters degree. They are also willing to stay after school each day to help children that are falling behind. Central Catholic ranks among the nation's top high schools both academically and in athletics. Their football team is consistently ranked nationally. One of my sons was on their highly competitive Crew team. My other son was involved in their Masque drama club program and performed in all of their seasonal shows. Central Catholic offers activities for everyone. Almost 90% of students are involved in activities. Parents, if you can afford it, send your children to Central Catholic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

I strongly encourage parents to send their children to Central Catholic. The friends I made during my four years at Central are going to be my friends for the rest of my life. Over four years, students really starts to develop a sense of brotherhood toward each other. Not only does Central Catholic do wonders on a college application, Central also does an excellent job preparing young men for college. The teachers at Central Catholic were amazing. I believe all of them have at least their masters degree. They have every extracurricular program a school could want and their sports teams rarely lose. The four years I spent at Central Catholic were the best four years of my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2004

An excellent place to send your son for educational and athletic purposes. Central provides the student with many opportunities and teaches them more than they can learn in a book. It also prepares the student very well for college. Many of the things I learned in entry level classes I first learned at Central. I intend on sending my son(s) there in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

I go to Central. I am a Freshman, and I'm loving it. It is very challenging but rewarding. Our sports teams are the best around. One student is training for the Olympics in swimming. Every day is exciting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Its a great school to get a boy in the right direction in life and a great entry school for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 71%
Black 9% 15%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4720 5th Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: (412) 621-8189

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oakland School
Pittsburgh, PA


The University School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT