Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ellis School

Private | PK-12 | 400 students

Ellis is known for creating confident, competent girls and young women.
 
 

 
 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $157,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

We love Ellis. The teachers and staff are amazing people who want the best for our daughter. It has helped her become more confident and willing to try new things. So glad our daughter is an Ellis girl!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

The Ellis School is a 100 year old model for single sex girl's education. It has a culture and program dedicated to the success of female studetns and leaders. What I respect most about Ellis is the continued dedication to providing a state of the art education with the latest teaching styles and technology. My daughter comes come from school every day happy, and skips to school in the morning. This is not a sentiment that any school can easily create in students and it is emblematic of the culture of excellent. As time goes by, we are learning more and more about the necessity and impace of a single sex education especically for young girls. In our society at the corporate, political and leadershp venues women are underrepresented. A significant proportion of our female leaders in these domains have been a part of a single sex education which adds further credence to Ellis and its mission. I simply cannot imagine another school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Ellis is an amazing school! As a parent, I very much value the strong focus on learning that's a key part of the curriculum. In addition, there are many sports opportunities currently available, as well as initiatives to further increase its athletic program. The school provides an environment that reinforces all the right values -- academics, sports, leadership -- that develop a young girl into a well-rounded individual. It's also important to note that Ellis girls set high standards for themselves and in the process, encourage each other to stretch. And last but not least, the Ellis community has a lot of fun together!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

My daughter is just finishing the 9th grade at Ellis. She has been there since 6th grade. She now says she wishes she'd been there since K-garten! When she came she was a bit behind those who had been there a long time, but the teachers were amazing and patient and she caught up soon. She is now exploring arts such as photography and ceramics, and has joined a sports team. She has learned to analyze and think for herself, and how to be a stronger writer. She is also gaining confidence in making presentations and talking with adults. I can see her growing in the all-girls environment, where popularity is determined by a girl's deeper character, not by how many boys pay attention to her. In the past there were times when Ellis was so focused on hard work that the girls seemed too stressed, but for the past two years the administration has been really focused on the "whole child" philosophy. They now make sure that there aren't too many projects due at the same time or too many tests the same week, and they encourage the girls to figure out how to balance academics with sports, volunteering, family life, and anything else they want to pursue. I highly recommend Ellis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

I love Ellis! They teach and encourage empowerment to the girls and I have witnessed first hand how it has shaped my daughter. My daughter has had the opportunity to participate in sports that I know she would not have tried if she were at any other school. The environment and supportiveness of the teachers and staff are second to none. I cannot fathom sending my daughters anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

There are many things that distinguish Ellis: Caring teachers. The best student/faculty ratio in the city. A learning environment that combines cutting-edge developmental knowledge about how girls learn best with exceptionally strong, hands-on interdisciplinary curriculum. Stanford University has rated Ellis among the top schools in the U.S, for its innovative approach to design thinking in education. The new Active Classroom for Girls (the product of a recent E.E.Ford grant) and other initiatives are strengthening Ellis's standing as a leader in STEM education for girls. Beyond the terrific academic experience, Ellis instills great core values -- personal integrity, kindness, work ethic, responsibility, thoughtfulness -- that build self-confidence and an intrepid sense of creativity in students. Graduates are prepared, self-reliant and motivated to succeed, typically outperforming their Ellis GPAs in college. This is no one-size-fits-all education, but very customized and responsive to each student's talents, needs and aspirations. The sunny, upbeat girl-power atmosphere nurtures strong, healthy individuals and prepares its students well for success in the wider world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

My daughter is in the Lower School and she loves going to school everyday and has really enjoyed the school. The curriculum is in-depth in STEM and art and music. Additionally, the girls write in journals everyday so they really learn to express themselves in the written format. The smile on her face when I pick her up is all the recommendation I need each day to know that we made the right decision to send her to Ellis. We utilize the after school program, both the extended day and classes which conveniently runs until 5:45 and on teacher workdays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

As an Ellis parent, I am constantly impressed by the value that the all girls experience brings to my daughter's education. Everything that Ellis does is about how girls learn best. I am so grateful that my daughter has an opportunity to be part of a culture that encourages her to ask questions, find her voice, develop her self confidence and grow as a learner every single day. The program is a great blend of tradition and innovation and the teachers take great pride in getting to know every student well. Ellis has become my daughter's second family, and we are so grateful that she has this unique and extraordinary opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

The Ellis School provides an exceptional education to girls PreK-12. From their youngest years through the middle school and then as they grow to be young women, each and every girl is recognized, valued, challenged, supported, and believed in. My girl entered in 6th, and now as a 10th grader she freely articulates how it's made a difference in her life to be at a small school with a caring faculty who know her strengths, help her with her challenges, and celebrate her individuality. She can be exactly who she is at Ellis, and be accepted. I feel that its the greatest gift that I can give to my daughter, to have her in an environment that is teaching her to believe in herself, find her own voice, and become a leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

It's been "several years" since my 2 daughters attended Ellis. I simply want to report to prospective parents that the eldest is now doing her final year of residency after completing a MD/PhD program; my youngest is in a PhD program in the sciences... They have stood on the foundation Ellis provided them via rigorous, meaningful, and interesting curriculum/classes led by a passionate faculty. I'm as pleased as punch and highly recommend Ellis for your daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

I am a parent of a student who attended The Ellis School for the middle and upper schools. We live in a very good public school district, but recognized the negative impact standardized testing has had on education, especially on writing and required a strong English department for a middle school experience, so we compared SSA and WT to Ellis, and Ellis won. After my daughter visited all three, she came home from Ellis beaming, and said, Ellis is my school! There is no better school for the smart and motivated girl, in which to learn liberal arts, fine arts, and critical thinking, especially in math, science and technology. My daughter is now in the upper school and is thriving, happy, and very competitively positioned for any of the top colleges and universities of the world and of her choosing. She is strong, confident, accomplished, self-assured and happy. Ellis has given her the knowledge, skills, and the opportunities to develop the critical self-awareness she needs to plan and execute her own vision of her future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

This school was a waste of time and money to send my daughter to. I feel very disappointed from the attitude from administration people and teachers when my daughter encountered bully. There is no any action from this school to stop bully. Very disappointing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

After attending Ellis K-12, I gained an exceptional education and invaluable life skills. Even in the darkest hours of middle school (when many girls are in fact "too cool for school"), the staff at Ellis fosters an environment that helps shape happy, courageous young women who know how to think and work hard to reach goals that may seem out of reach.


Posted March 1, 2013

The Ellis School has changed my daughter's life. She's a precocious 9-year-old who felt bullied and stressed all the time at her last school. Since coming to Ellis she's relaxed into herself again. She skips in the hallways. She sings songs. AND the academic work, though more challenging than the last school, gives her great joy to complete. School administrators are kind and caring. There are many engagement opportunities for us as a family to know the school, it's programs, and other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Do not send your girls to this school. Both the board and the administration have demonstrated a benign neglect for educational excellence that suggests a motive of wanting to ultimately shut down the school. The administration alienates its faculty and continually erodes it's own educational standards by pandering to the whims of the few remaining wealthier parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

From the perspective of a lifer (Ellis' word for a girl remaining from K/1 12), I can only say that my parents and I both admit to being tricked to attend with rather false advertising. Difficult academics, strict uniforms, and a single sex education, already should strike perspective students as a warning. Both the students and teachers refer to this type of environment as The Ellis Bubble. Here, girls come to loose sight of the world and the broader image I have seen girls cry when receiving a B+ on a Math test. . On the whole, most of the students here have no social skills around the opposite sex (even in grades 11 and 12). Yikes! This can be an issue in college Which by the way, Pittsburgh Public School students gain admissions the same ones. Although its graduates come out of Ellis with many memorized facts and numbers; personal style, socialization, and self-understanding do not exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Ellis is awesome. Ive been here since kindergarten and am about to start 6th grade. The teachers are great and really take time to help you. There is sometimes a lot of homework and it can be stressful, plus, if your like me and don't go running off to paris every weekend, it can make you feel a little bad, but overall, a great place!


Posted February 28, 2010

Ellis is a friendly and cozy place. Students are encouraged to pursue their interests as well as try new things. I graduated last year with more knowledge and skill relating to art, culture, and history than most of my peers at MIT. The science curriculum at Ellis could be a little more rigorous, but motivated students will generally find challenges if they seek them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2010

Ellis... you get such a great education, the teachers are wonderful, and the students are ok. Not all of them are very nice to some kids, and it always makes me feel bad. I do recommend it if you want your daughter to have a good education, but if she wants to have fun, send her to another school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2010

From a student's point of view, The Ellis School for girls is one of the most stress inducing schools that I have attended. When I first arrived to Ellis in kindergarten, I remember thinking how much fun I was going to have here. Unfortunately, I was very wrong. I am currently in 9th grade, and I must say that Ellis is very stressful. There are many projects and papers to write, and many of them are all due in the same week. There are also unbelievably high expectations of the students. Many teachers expect us to be able to complete projects and reports, and write essays and other papers, many due on the same day. Overall, I would not recommend sending your daughter to The Ellis School, unless you want her to rip all of her hair out from stress.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St,. Edmunds
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Edward E. Ford Innovation Grant (2013)
  • Stanford: one of top 50 K-12 Design Thinking Schools (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Girls on the run
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Parent/student seminars
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Robin O. Newham
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (412) 661-2287

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Parent/student seminars
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The Ellis School prepares, empowers, and inspires each and every girl through an excellent education in an all-girls environment. We are a leading school for girls, providing an excellent education for every student and continuing to innovate so each girl thrives in school and excels in life. The single-gender educational environment maximizes girls’ intellectual, physical, emotional, and social growth. Girls are empowered to take risks, work collaboratively and pursue their dreams.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St,. Edmunds

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Parent/student seminars
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6425 5th Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 661-5992

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pittsburgh Obama 6-12
Pittsburgh, PA




Pittsburgh Linden K-5
Pittsburgh, PA


Kentucky Avenue School
Pittsburgh, PA


Kentucky Avenue School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT