Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shady Side Academy Junior School

Private | PK-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $89,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

Shady Side Academy Jr. School is an amazing place. My daughter is completing kindergarten now and we could not be happier with our choice to send her to SSA. The faculty and staff are warm and welcoming but also personable and knowledgable about each child that walks through the door. The facilities are bright and airy and conducive to open ended and project based learning. My daughter has absolutely thrived in this environment and we are ecstatic to have found such a good match for our highly creative and analytical kid. We strongly recommend taking a look at SSA- it is not an old-fashioned, male dominated elitist place-- it's a great place for smart kids to flourish and grow into independent and creative thinkers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

We loved their pre-K program, which was very much hands-on and age appropriate. However, this year, they've completely fixed what was a fantastic program into an environment that was much more rigid and traditional learning style - sit, listen and be taught to, not engagement. (Three of the four passionate pre-K teachers are no longer teaching classes.) The leadership and teachers seem to want to help, but with a little more interaction, you'll find that the rumors are true. It's not a very accommodating environment. It doesn't truly advance children who are truly excelling as they're suppose to be accelerated. (The teacher did not realize my child knew phonics and all the sight words taught at the time.) And if your child is underperforming (academically or behaviorally), then expect their recommendation to hold your child back another year to "build their leadership skills." They do create a great sense of tight-knitted community. That, comes with a tremendous amount of involvement from the parents. Parents assist with carpool, in-class events, library, yearbook, provide snacks/breakfast for faculty meetings, to name a few. It's a more prestigious charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

My husband and I think the Junior School is a truly remarkable place and has seen some wonderful enhancements within the last few years. Our children are benefiting from a new math curriculum which complements the strong balanced literacy program. The campus is a gem too and last year they added a "farm" to the campus which the children help plant and harvest. Love the teachers and staff and that my child wants to go to school everyday. If you need after school I can't imagine there is a better program elsewhere - it helps us make it all work. So worth taking a look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Administration in the 2010-11 was very old-fashioned. My child was in Pre-K then. Someone new in leadership was coming, but declined a 2nd year. At an awards assembly certificates were handed out by the administration without smiles and with no feeling. Maintenance needed on the gym roof that year. Old/plastic chairs in the gym for a holiday program. A woman sitting in front of me had her chair totally collapse. Next program, rented wooden folding chairs. They send a very polished looking magazine to donors and parents. You'll read about all the expensive events and then you'll think about the basics the school needs. Paid full tuition. Functionally obsolete items should always get noticed. My husband/brothers went here. My uncle's aristocratic cousin and his son went here.The school is still boy centric. Not quite right for our warm and creative child. Thankfully, we have a great public school walking distance. Happy I could review SSA. There is a general feeling in PGH that you can't make unfavorable remarks about any long-standing institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

Don't listen to the other people. This school is amazing I'm in 7th grade and every day when I am with my friends and in class I am having a good time. This school is not to hard but a little challenging I've learned so much from this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

Shady Side Academy Junior School Art program is excellent! Science, Social studies, writing above average. Math, music, languages, computer just average. Teachers, as with any school, some great and some average. Administration not quite on top of current trends. Basically, Shady Side Academy is overrated. If I would do it over again, I would find a great public school with options for many advanced placement courses. This is something SSA doesn't have. Other schools educate students within a more academically stimulating setting, challenging electives, preparation for AP exams and SAT subject tests, and rigorous classroom experience. In the Senior School, sports and athletics are not an option. Your child will not only be pulled from class to participate in his/her sport, they will still be held accountable for class work they missed in order to compete in the required sport. It's like scheduling math and physics at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

It was okay but not very challenging. Good in reading and writing; really weak in math. The 'everybody's a winner' philosophy gets in the way of allowing children to excel. They should consider grouping students in subjects according to their ability.


Posted April 1, 2009

Can't say enough good things about the Junior school. We've found all areas of the curriculum to be strong. The reason there are no allowances for gifted students is beacause all classes at Shady Side are considered to be advanced. Take a look at the website, 100% of graduates go on to college. Most go to Ivy League Schools. There is plenty of opportunity for parent involvement and the school holds many fun activites. It is very expensive but there is aid available to those that qualify.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Overall we love the school's environment and the teachers. Having said that, I must say the math program is weak. Also, no allowances (acceleration or gifted instruction from AIU) are made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

I could not ask for a better education for my child. She receives personal attention and every teacher and staff member knows her by name. The teachers encourage the students' interests and expand on those interests and student strengths. My daughter jumps out of bed every morning to go to school - and anticipates her day. SSA is a challenging environmment but not a stressful one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

Excellent school that provides each student with personalized attention, and developmentally appropriate curricula and activities. Parents are very involved and are asked to be involved by teachers, faculty, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Ok school, comparable to a good public school. Uses Everyday Math which we have found to be a very weak program. Strong in writing and reading.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ellen McConnell
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Independent
Associations
  • CASE
  • CSEE
  • ERB
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
  • PAISTA
  • PCIS
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 S. Braddock Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15221
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 473-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kelly El School
Wilkinsburg, PA


Pittsburgh New Church
Pittsburgh, PA




Pittsburgh Faison K-8
Pittsburgh, PA


St Bede School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT