Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Lebanon Montessori

Private | PK-5 | 182 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

I was told Montessori education is for every child. Having been part of this school for a year, I must say, "Montessori Education is for EVERY child. But, Montessori Education is NOT for EVERY family." It takes some will power to modify our traditional methods and mind sets to give room to extend the Montessori education beyond classrooms and into their day-to-day life. Montessori education promotes independence, self-discipline; self-motivation; as well as social awareness, cooperation and internal peace/calmness. Our child was shy and intimidated easily. He has been in school for over a year. In the restaurant, he orders his own food. In the stores, he asks store clerks for item locations or shopping bags. He used to keep his idea all in his head, now, he has plans, sometimes, written plans and drawings of his plans, which allow him to discuss, to modify and to think through the reality of his idea. However, Montessori Education is NOT for every family, if the family does not make substantial effort to encourage, to promote and to allow the child to take what s/he learns from the classroom into their daily lives. I am grateful to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Nothing beats the Montessori method of learning! The teachers here are wonderful! They really get to know your child and are able to tailor the lessons to how your child learns best. No child ever feels left behind or far superior to their peers... it's a community of respect. Children really learn to be self motivated and respect others and their environment. The exposure the kids get to more than just the 3 R's, including science, geography, history, art, music, etc. from Pre-K to 6th grade makes them so much more well rounded. This school also has a great parent association that plans lots of fun social activities for the kids and raises money for field trips and classroom supplies, but it is only for K-6 - which unfortunately leaves Pre-K parents a little bit less engaged and results in many transferring to public for kindergarten. The only down side to this school is that the administration, while made up of very nice and dedicated people, is a little be stale and set in their ways. A changing of the guard would definitely breath new life into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Our child has attended the lower academy for over a year. It was a difficult transition from public school. Like several other reviewers, we did not thoroughly understand the Montessori principles that foster independence--such as mixed age classrooms where students help each other with projects, and teachers allowing children to struggle with projects instead of stepping in too soon. But now that we've seen our child's self esteem and confidence skyrocket, we understand, and are grateful that we found this exceptional school. Our child is learning at least 4 times more than in a Mt. Lebo elementary. Our only regret is that we didn't find this school sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

We enrolled our child in the 2's class, but then decided to our preschool after having negative experiences in the 3's class. While many of the teachers there seem to genuinely care about the students, the teacher that our child had was not one of them. When we discussed our concerns with the administration, we were essentially pushed aside. When we discussed potentially unenrolling our child, rather than showing concern, the administration asked us to let them know as soon as possible, so that they could fill the slot that our child was giving up. I was very disappointed. This school is run like a business and not a warm environment where we would want our children to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

We have really enjoyed sending our son here (first year almost completed). He previously had a difficult time at age three of following instructions and sitting still and he has really gone through a huge transformation. You will not find another school that is introducing such amazing concepts and teaching things that kids in grade school are just learning. We are extremely impressed. The staff is top notch and the directors I'd follow anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

As a teacher of 30 years I feel Mt. Lebanon Montessori School offers a stellar education. The staffs dedication to the Montessori Method and enthusiasm toward the child is to be commended. It is a joy to work with such a diverse and enthusiastic team!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2011

My two children have gone through the school and now attend their local elementary program. They were both well prepared and are doing excellent in the Mt. Lebanon school district. I credit Mt. Lebanon Montessori for their self discipline, and high academic standards. I recommend this school to all families of young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

We found this school to cold and unwelcoming to parents. We removed our child from the 3-6 class after a number of incidents that occurred on the playground, which we felt were lacked supervision. When we brought this issue up to the administrative staff, they were defensive and refused to listen to our concerns. Ultimately, we enrolled our child in another pre-k program and had a much better experience....at a much lower cost, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

I just submitted this. Would you please use my previous one. I was doing this to verify the email address. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

This school is the largest school in the area, with 180 students and 25 staff members. All classrooms are fully staffed. The school's mission is to provide preschool and elementary education using the Montessori method. Please visit the school website for more information.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2010

My last child graduated from 6th grade this past year, all of my children had a wonderful experience with this school. They are extremely successful in middle and high school, this is due to the top notch staff. I highly reccomend this school to anyone and everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Maybe this school simply grew too fast, but we felt that there were too many students and too few teachers. It felt more like a daycare operation, than an environment suitable for developing your child's growth. We were disappointed, especially considering how expensive this school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

Mt. Lebanon Montessori School is a great place for students to learn! Teachers are incredibly resourceful and willing to do anything to meet your child needs. The office staff is kind, professional, and they make sure the needs of students come first. I would recommend this school in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

This school was a true blessing for my son! While having problems with mathematics in the public school my husband and I investigated other options. We enrolled him in Mt. Lebanon Montessori's Elemetary and within one month saw a change and an understanding that had never been there. He is now successfully completeing tenth grade in a public school and his abilities, confidence and joy in learning are again intact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

We decided to send our child to a different school after the first year. We felt that the teachers simply didn't provide enough individual attention to students and were able to find another school that was a better fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

My children entered Mt. Lebanon Montessori School mid-way through their elementary school years and found a welcoming and academically challenging environment. What I particularly appreciate about this school is the emphasis on self-discipline and self-motivation, time management, personal responsibility, and respect for self and others. I have witnessed how these traits have served my oldest well after leaving the school and entering a traditional middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My children have been attending the school since preschool. I have two students in the academy and I would not have them any other place. The teachers, the education, and environment is a parents dream!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Mt. Lebanon Montessori School and Academy Head Teachers are all Montessori Certified. Half of the teaching staff have completed master's degrees. Each classroom is fully equipped with Montessori materials. The staff and administration are dedicated to the school's mission to educate children using the Montessori method.


Posted May 11, 2010

We pulled our children out of this school after a year. We just didn't feel that this school offers a warm/caring environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

This is a great school. All of my children have attended from the toddler program through the elementary. The school fosters independence and allows each child to develop at their own pace. The classrooms are beautifully prepared and the Montessori materials are plentiful. The foundation that my children received from this school has given them a strong academic start and a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 3%
Black 5% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 Sleepy Hollow Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15228
Phone: (412) 563-2858

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Howe El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Myrtle Ave School
Pittsburgh, PA



Foster El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Washington El School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT