Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus

Private | PK-3

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Scranton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

St. Paul's is certainly an "absolute diamond". If you live in Greenridge, welcome to your safe haven. Otherwise, prepare for judgement and a torturous experience for your children during the critical development years of their lives. The teaching staff is comprised of a few competent teachers, but prepare for a majority of teachers to have qualified for the position solely because of a fortunate last name. The facilities may have been acceptable during the early 1900s, but renovations consisting of a few paint jobs will not allow you to believe that they are acceptable today. The school's principal is not interested in your child's education or emotional well-being, but she will be happy to accommodate you if you have political powers that may benefit her career. If you have money to waste on an education that is no better than any in the area (public or private), and you want your child to develop character by being placed into a hostile environment (assuming you live outside of Greenridge, of course), then send your child to St. Paul's School.


Posted August 2, 2009

This is one of the worst school, my children have ever been to. the staff is below satisfactory, save a few members. The uniforms are dreadfully expensive and my children cannot stand them. The children appear to hate the school and the school is in awful condition. I walked up one of the staircases and the railings felt so shaky I was scared to hold them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

The Saint Clare/Saint Paul community is comprised of parents committed to a quality education for their children. Unfortunately, the administration, particularly the principal, is not willing to make her teachers accountable for the day to day activities in the classrooms. Consequently, I have heard my son tell me about the free tome and noneducational movies that are a large part of the day, particularly at the end of the year. I am also disgusted that the school calender allows for so many half days. Between the lost curriculum due to half days and the snow days that are not made up, I feel my tuition dollars are paying teachers that are not always teaching. The positive side is the students are wonderful and my sons' friends come from solid families that appreciate education. The administration and faculty should act on that and make a good school the best school in Pennsylvania.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

If you notice, reviews have gone downhill since 2003. That is because there has been restructuring within the last 2 years. As can be expected the weak links (the principal, the academics, disorganization, lack of vision) have taken their toll on the school. There is unrest among the shaken-up faculty and staff that are bounced around, the parents that want better leadership and organization, and the students caught in the middle. The school is 50+ years old. Hopefully things will eventually straighten out under the right leadership. But until then, I do not want my children lost in the shuffle to figure out what the Scranton Diocese will do with the elementary system. It is a shame how quickly quality can be undone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

Overall these two schools are socially wonderful. If you are looking for a sheltered religious environment then this is the place for you. Academically they are SERIOUSLY behind the times. Many familes in the upper grades need tutors in the acdemic subjects. When these same students transfer to High School they are behind many of the other kids. Again loving environment, but at what academic cost? Administration is difficult, and often misses the bigger picture of academic instruction. (Please note the principal of St.Clare's left in 2007,that the previous reviews mention).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My sons love St Pauls and St Clares. They are like Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

There is no better place to send your children in the area. The school is absolutely dedicated to teaching great values and a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2003

I wouldn't send my child to any other school and I highly recommend St. Clare to anybody with young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This little school is an absolute diamond!! The teachers, principal and all other employees are truly fabulous and irreplacable. The education our children are receiving is an absolute bargain for the quality of the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2215 North Washington Ave
Scranton, PA 18509
Phone: (570) 343-2790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Robert Morris #27
Scranton, PA



Dunmore El Center
Dunmore, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT