Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Easterly Parkway El School 3

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
We have had kids at EP for a total of 6 years. Pros- most diverse school in the area, handful of superlative teachers (plan to network to know who to ask for), beautiful facility and campus, low adult to child ratios in instructional settings, opportunities for enrichment. Cons- intermittently helpful office staff; feckless principal (shifted from middle level to reduce number of administrators in district?); nursing quality seems much better this year but is still inconsistently staffed; some inexperienced and/or judgemental experienced teachers.

Easterly Parkway El School 4

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
We've been at this school for over a year and have had generally good but occasionally mixed experience. The principal is pretty new and the front office staff is infamously unfriendly. Most of the teachers are great but some are more experienced than others. The school does have great facilities--the library, and the playground for example. Overall all a good school but be prepared to have to push for what you need especially if your child has special needs/interests.


Easterly Parkway El School 4

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
No school is perfect, but this is a great elementary school! We have had some amazing teachers, who really get to know each child's abilities and challenge them. The teachers who weren't amazing were still good teachers. We never had a bad teacher in 7 years, with 2 kids. The library is a great space with a nice collection. There are many international students at this school, so children are naturally exposed to other cultures. Sometimes that is a con, when friends move back to their home country. There is not a stand alone gym, it's an all-purpose lunch room/cafeteria, so that isn't ideal, but it works. The playground is spacious and they keep a small garden, with the help of volunteers. The school has been renovated, so it feels modern and maintained. Overall, my kids have been lucky to be here.

Easterly Parkway El School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
Moved to the area this past year, and have a fourth-grader who absolutely loves the school. Our overall impression? Great school; great teachers; great kids!

Easterly Parkway El School 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
Wow, I stumbled across this site somewhat by accident and was taken aback by that commenter in 2005. Perhaps everything is different now, I don't know. My wife volunteers a lot in the school and she thinks highly of the whole operation. Our youngest is presently in Kindergarten and her sister is in third grade. The teachers and staff have been wonderful. My third-grader keeps a journal where she shares letters with her mom, her sister, and me - I mention this because after writing this review I need to get back to my task of answering her latest letter regarding poems...


Easterly Parkway El School 5

Posted May 16, 2008
- a parent
Lots of fun activities for families, and the teachers are exceptional and caring. The playground is to DIE for and boasts new garden beds for the children to learn about farming. Tons of parent volunteers, friendly office staff/principal - zero complaints and we have been in this school for three years.

Easterly Parkway El School 5

Posted February 16, 2007
- a parent
My son has been in the school for the past three years and has had tremendous support from the principal Dr. Scanlon as well as from the new principal Mr. Peters. The teachers as well as the help amongst student teachers are excellent! I give them an A in terms of their ability to teach effectively and help the students become life-long learners.

Easterly Parkway El School
no rating

Posted June 18, 2006
- a teacher
Most diverse student body in the area.


Easterly Parkway El School 2

Posted February 03, 2005
- a parent
It is a shame that such a beautiful facility is such a poor school. Many of the teachers are either bored or boring; the few really wonderful ones are truly outnumbered. There is a total lack of discipline, with no consistent enforcement of rules for disruptive behavior or failure to respect others' property and feelings. They are blessed with a state-of-the-art kitchen, but the children in the cafeteria act like it's feeding time at the zoo. The principal is clueless, and the office staff are terse and officious. There are the same great PE, art, and music teachers as other schools in the district, and a library with staff and resources to die for. They are blessed with a terrific playground with a variety of equipment for all ages. The school looks great, but if a quality education -- both academic AND interpersonal -- is important to your family, look elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Easterly Parkway El School
234 Easterly Parkway, State College, PA  16801
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (814) 231-1170
Last modified Easterly Parkway El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top