Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
4-12
Private
Upper St. Clair, PA

2 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
This school and organization is all about the bottom line. The school has changed for The worse since my child has been there. I am so thankful we don't have to return. The amount of stuff that goes on in the school that doesn't make the news is quite unreal. It is unsafe for both the teachers and students. The academics are a joke. Over the past two years, all the good staff have left and it's a shame. I would never in a million years recommend this school to anyone.

Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My son went there for a little over a year and it was a complete nightmare! Don't let your school district send your child there!


Wesley Spectrum Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
I go to Wesley Spectrum Academy and I think it has helped me throughout the years that I have been there but this year everything has changed a lot. For starters some of the staff there are to involved in our lives. For example my best friend and her boyfriend had to sign a contract to agree to stop talking about their relationship for a week but the worst part of it is they didn't listen to the students. I think if you are thinking about sending your child here you should those staff members did what they thought was a good thing and the boy and girl agreed it worked for them I love this school it is a very helpful school they want you to succeed not fail. plus there is a great sports program it is a great school. I love the staff there and if i had a child with a disability i would definitely send them here.

Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My child has been attacked in this school on more than one occasion. NEVER was I contacted until far after the fact.

Wesley Spectrum Academy 3

Posted May 07, 2013
- a community member
I attended WSA and graduated a few years ago. While the emotional support was nice (and needed at the time), I was not challenged enough in some of my classes to prepare me for college. The two teachers that really had a "regular ed" class layout was Ms. Kulla and Ms. Capperrelli. However, there still was no honors classes that I should have been taking instead of regular high school level. If your child does not have a serious behavioral problem and needs college prep classes, I would not recommend enrolling them at WSA. However, if your child has learning disabilities and needs a slower, one on one learning environment ... it could work. Thankfully, because of my previous schooling and some test prep, I still received a 25 or 26 on my ACT and I am attending a good university. I would also like to say that I loved all the staff I worked with very much and if the school had less behavioral problems and more difficult courses, it would have been perfect.


Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
The assaults happening this past week in the dungeon basement 8th grade classroom have not been reported to the Police or to the PA Dept of Education thereby creating an unsafe atmosphere for all the students at Wesley Academy. We wonder if ignorance is an excuse or if it just tuition lost if students were transferred to other W programs? In the meantime short staffed situations should be remedied if that is excuse presented to parents.

Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
not only does this school not academically challenging, the good teachers are eclipsed by the sub-par teachers, and the admin do not involve the parents in decisions impacting the child. they also overstate (overstate at best, lie about at worst) their capacity to offer children an individualized curricula and appropriate support. wholly disappointing and worrying experience. please, please consider other alternatives before subjecting your child and yourself to the frustration and disappointment. know your rights, know your child's rights. but, also, don't be surprised if the admin act out of spite when you question the way they've handled situations. oh, and if you're child is in pittsburgh public schools, please consider the pps cyber academy as an alternative, which will still allow your child to be eligible for pittsburgh promise, which pa cyber school does not.

Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
i would not go with anything with the wesley spectrum name, school or otherwise, it has been one of the WORST companies to deal with.


Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a community member
The school is very low in the Academic scale the hold all the students to the same academic level which hinders the other students learning time. they also base the students behavioral on a scale and on Friday they shorten all class periods and then "Reward" the students whom have behaved all week and have earned a average of 93.5% of there points and the other level below that is is also rewarded. Life is not graded by points the world grades you on how successful you are in life so that being said teach some real classes

Wesley Spectrum Academy 1

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
A private school that offers some emotional or mild behavioral support.Classes are designed to be small thus providing more of a 1 on 1 interaction with student and teacher.The school is not up to par on it's education standards and often 'dumb' down the qualifications to pass tests or even graduate.Many students come to this school do to being bullied at their district school but the atmosphere here is just the same.Most of the teachers are fresh out of collage and lack well established teaching skills.My child was given a education here for 4 years it left them with very little skills to use in collage and I regret my decision of enrolling them. Putting the cons aside if your out of all options with helping your child then this school is better than nothing...Tho I would suggest anyone to look into the Pa cyber charter school before considering Wesley Spectrum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wesley Spectrum Academy
243 Johnston Rd, Upper St. Clair, PA  15241
(412) 833-6444
Last modified Wesley Spectrum Academy is a Private school that serves grades 4-12
Wesley Spectrum Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top