Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
Wilkes-Barre Academy has been wonderful to us so far! My daughter has been attending WBA since 2011 and I have nothing but good things to say! The teachers are so over the top caring and concerned about your child, just like you would be. As far as the one review below that reads "they are way too heavily involved in selling everything from candy to coupon books to christmas wreaths to to tickets for horse races to raise money. A little too tacky to be a truly classy private school, uniforms or not. " OH PUH-LEASE! Having gone to Catholic Schools myself for 12 years, its all about the selling! We sold everything under the sun. Second day of high school x4 years, we were dragging our chocolate bars home to sell. This is a great school. If you have any questions or concerns, call the school, take a tour, meet the teachers! I just wish more people would review the school, so others could see these few bad reviews are not true, only made to tranish the school.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 1

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
very very bad. My kids were mistreated at this place. The TV is on all the time. I have visited that place every hour of the day different days between 8 and 6 and The big TV is on. I pulled my kids and nothing i could do better. They are in building block and that place proven heaven and kids love their teachers and want to go there.These people took the lunch card for both kids for the entire summer ( Joan) and never paid me for it. I was treated very poor when i went to drop the entry cards and lunch cards. It has been months. PLEASE DONT SEND YOUR KIDS AT THIS PLACE. I am mother of 2 and i cannot say any better than this, I felt responsible to tell whoso ever you are reading this.


Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely first rate! Very responsible teachers and staff. The children are there for academics, respect for themselves and others, and vision toward the future. This school provides a fantastic foundation for a child's future.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
WBA strives to provide a strong educational foundation for all children who attend. I believe any school is what you and your child make of it. As a past parent, i can not say enough about the curriculum and how prepared my child was for high school because of this strong foundation. Fundraising and altruism should never be held against a school or its students. We should focus on creating strong leaders for the future and not belittle efforts to teach our children the importance of team work and helping those in need.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a parent
It is not possible to be licensed by the Dept of Ed if ALL teachers are not cerified to teach. Willkes BArre Academy has all licensed teachers with a minimum of a BS required. Many teachers and administrators have multiple degrees, also many have masters degrees. Because of the accelerated education program some students find the program to difficult and withdraw. This causes comments like the one about one licensed teacher:)


Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a teacher
Wilkes Barre Academy is a private academy licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. You ARE NOT allowed to have this license if ALL of the teachers are not holding proper certification. All teachers have a minimum of a BS, some have MS's and others have multiple degrees. It is a shame that anyone can write anything on this site, even try to sound like they know something and yet be lying. Facts are easily checked at the Department of Educations website, or by the license outside the schools office.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 1

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
This school has only ONE teacher that is licensed by Pennsylvania to teach, and she is supervised by non-licensed teachers. (Anyone with a list of the teachers can call the Dept of Education and verify this) There is no diversity on the teaching staff and they are way too heavily involved in selling everything from candy to coupon books to christmas wreaths to to tickets for horse races to raise money. A little too tacky to be a truly classy private school, uniforms or not. This school gets NO stars.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a teacher
The environment is top notch for learning! Each child is respected as an individual and encouraged to reach his or her potential everyday.


Wilkes-Barre Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
Wilkes-Barre Academy is a excellent learning institution. The teachers and students have a very cohesive relationship for learning. Education is the key to success. Success is what you will fine, if you put in the time at WBA.

Wilkes-Barre Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
Wilkes-Barre Academy provides a quality and affordable education in an advanced placement cirriculum for grades pre-K through eighth. Every teacher is dedicated to the child as a whole and is always willing to go the extra mile to help each child reach their potential. Well worth looking into for your child or children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilkes-Barre Academy
20 Stevens Road, Wilkes-Barre, PA  18702
(570) 823-7574
Last modified Wilkes-Barre Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Wilkes-Barre Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.