Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Falls Sr High School 1

Posted January 09, 2012
- a community member
Necap .They through the baby out with the bath water. Changed a lot of class offerings and requirements for Nothing. Dont let this happen to your school.

Central Falls Sr High School 3

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
The teachers at Central Falls High School care about my children. I am disappointed that they are all getting fired. I do not understand why anyone would think that the turnaround model will benefit children. I am trembling with fear that my children will have more than 50 percent of teachers that have no experience or background in teaching. How will the test scores go up? What about accreditation? My children were in advanced placement classes and I drive them each day to do their homework. There are families that move in and out of the city and when parents take their children out the students are counted as dropouts, even if they graduate in the city next door. Students who stay back are also considered dropouts if they take more than 4 years to graduate. How is that the teacher's fault?


Central Falls Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
First, read the teacher's statement of the facts surrounding the failures of CFSH posted on 02/19/10. Considering the extremely difficult demographic these teachers are confronted with, it's amazing the graduation rate is as High as 50%. When I read about the firing of all the teachers, I too was outraged at Dr. Gallo, that is, until I read the truth easily found online. Dr. Gallo was handed an impossible mandate for improvements from the RI Education Commissioner, Deborah Gist. Four models were provided by the state and the decision was narrowed down to two. *(the specifics of the two rejected models is unknown). Between the two choices, the 'improvement' plan and 'turnaround' model were decided upon for debate. Of these two, the Central Falls Teachers Union decided on the 'turnaround' model, leaving all teachers to be fired with 50% rehired. The 'fault lies with the Commissioner and the union, not with Dr. Gallow or the teachers.

Central Falls Sr High School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
I am certain the funding is very low compared to other schools.

Central Falls Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a community member
While the teachers may contribute to the poor scores the students earn, Dr. Gallo should be the first to resign for the lack of leadership she has provided. The buck stops somewhere, and as head leadership she should accept her failure first and foremost. Why don't the students, parents, teachers demand her resignation? and take back their school with pride and pleadge to make the improvements! Take it back


Central Falls Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted February 19, 2010
- a teacher
CFHS has gone through multiple changes in administration and curriculum based on the whim of the revolving administrators, although the teachers tried to voice their concerns and knew which programs were most effective. No program was kept in place for more than 2 years regardless of the change in student success. The touted graduation rate of 50% is based on a state formula which considers students entering day #1 grade 9 and the same students graduating in 4 years from the same school. CF is extremely transient, students move and sometimes return, they visit their home countries for extended periods of time and often have gaps in school attendance..,thus the low graduation rate...it is not a drop out rate. Over the course of the years of change in administration the teachers have been the constant in students lives.

Central Falls Sr High School 1

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
By far, the worst school in RI. No leadership, no discipline, and a lack of interest on the teacher's part. What a shame!

Central Falls Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a community member
CFHS has and continues to improve by leaps and bounds, and the students and teachers have a very respectful relationship. Poverty and other 'circumstances' sometimes overshadow the excelent education offered to students in CF. Constant administrative changes have slowed the progress of forward movement, but this year should prove better


Central Falls Sr High School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central Falls Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
I think the school has come a long way. There are plenty of opportunities for the kids-whether it's Sports or after school help! I've been VERY satisfied!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Falls Sr High School
24 Summer St, Central Falls, RI  02863
(401) 727-7710
Last modified Central Falls Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Falls Sr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews.