Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
407 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Gordon School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers I've met this year are phenomenal. Not only do they know how to reach and engage kids, but they also know how to engage parents. It's the whole philosophy of the school -which then hires teachers who are excellent. Each time we meet a new teacher at the school, we are impressed.

The Gordon School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
So far we are facing more homework that we had in past years --as we transferred from a public school. We believe it is about 3-4X as much as the previous school year. it's a bit challenging at times but we hope that the work feels more meaningful (at home).


The Gordon School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The positive energy and acceptance of all students allows for kids to feel motivated in school to persist. I have -0- doubt about this based on what I've seen in the school.

The Gordon School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
There is no question that the school develops respect in the students as it's modeled, embedded in the school and embraced. It does it better than any other school I've seen.

The Gordon School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
it's just incredible how issues of empathy and care are just a part of the school -- it's embedded in all things in the day (from the songs chosen for music class to the books discussed in class). Teachers are stunningly wonderful.


The Gordon School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
This school is very honest, fair and non-judgmental toward all students. Differences are embraced here vs. other places where differences are defined as lowering test scores for the school.

The Gordon School 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
This school is new for us and we could not be more pleased, despite the cost and change in our commute. Our child's previous school was a short walk up the street. The teachers are very smart, aware, intone with subtleties, interested in expanding and not simply teaching in a rote manner. We are new and are finding it so helpful that it is a "give and take" between parents and teachers, with teachers being very interested in changing what they do to help the child. Going outside for daily play and letting kids be kids, seems so common-sense, but this was not our experience in our previous years in the local public elementary school where kids were not allowed to even run during recess. It's an A+.

The Gordon School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a community member
My math teacher ERIC KRAVITZ in the 8th grade is so awesome, sad he won't teach classes next year, and he has been here for 15 years. HE IS THE ABSOLUTE COOLEST


The Gordon School 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school. Students are kept engaged throughout the day with various hands on learning experiences. The focus of education is on the process, with the children getting a deep understanding of the material. If you a looking for a private school for a bright kid who is bored with mindless and unneccesary paper work (work sheets), this is the place.

The Gordon School 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
Definitely not worth the cost! Enroll your child in a very good public school like I did, and sign him/her up in all kinds of extra curricular activities. I went for a school visit and noticed that my child was receiving the same education, if not better. My daughter walked out with a fruit loop necklace. (That's what they were doing in the first grade :/ ) It made me appreciate my child's 1st grade teacher. Save yourself thousands of dollars and do the research for a good public school. ;)

Nearby schools

The Gordon School
45 Maxfield Avenue, East Providence, RI  02914
(401) 434-3833
Last modified The Gordon School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top