Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers High School

Public | 9-12 | 510 students

Rogers is known for its excellent academic and sports programs.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2013

Rogers is the best!! Although sometimes the work can be easy the teachers are all fantastic and we have so many things to offfer! Our performing arts department is great and filled with the most spectacular people I have ever met. Everyone is welcome and we have enough AP courses to keep you busy as well as many study abroad and scholarship opportunities. Everyone I know is happy that they go to Rogers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2012

Rogers High School has something for everyone! It has done more than meet my expectations. The teachers are just incredible and the individual attention that the small population affords the students is remarkable! Why anyone would send their kids to a private school is beyond me when we are fortunate to have RHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

My daughter is a freshman at Rogers and I could not imagine her being much happier than she is there. Here grades are stellar, her classes are challenging, her teachers are encouraging, her friends are good people and she is involved in varsity sports as well. Rogers is a diverse group of students and staff and all are encouraged to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

My son loves Rogers. He especially thrives in the fine arts department. If only, there were more course offerings and the arts got the recognition they deserve. Thank you art teachers for helping build my son's confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

have you ever wandered into a bad part of town? roger's felt like that to me. i wish this high school was nicer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2010

If your child does not flourish in a low teacher/student ratio then Rogers is not for you. If your child doesn't flourish in individualized AP courses then Rogers is not for you. If your child doesn't want access to an amazing fine and performing arts program than Rogers is not for you. If your child is not prepared to meet diversity head on then Rogers is not for you. If on the otherhand, you want a child who is prepared to be self motivated and ready to make good choices in college and in life then Rogers is the place to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

I am part of a military family, and finished ninth grade at Rogers. The students were very outgoing and friendly. As for the academics, I don't feel challenged enough, and I'm in all Honors classes. In German class, I was surprised to see how apathetic my classmates were. In German, we have books which we're supposed to bring every day, and very few students brought them. The teacher would only get irritated and tell them that they need to bring their books, yet allowed them to do their own thing during the readings. Cell phone use was also a huge problem. Rogers has a huge variety of classes, which is really nice. Unfortunately, the actual learning is lacking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

I currently go to this school, and although there is a lot of diversity, I feel that I am not prepared for college at all. I am in the AP classes and am ranked in the top ten percent of the class, however I feel that the level of difficulty in the classes is low and that teachers tend to not push the student to the best of their abbilities. At the same time I believe that students who work hard are punished by being paired with those that do not. There is no standard to be allowed into the AP courses and kids often get away with skipping class, cell phone use, and ipod use. The athletic program is strong but has not recently been succesful. If I had the chance to do it over again I would have attended a private school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2009

After visiting other high school in the state i would have to say that school spirit as well as parent attendance at all sporting events is lacking. The acedemics standards seem to have lessoned over the years. If your student is in AP classes they are allset otherwise I dont think they are being adequetly prepared for college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Many people hear myths about rogers and assume non of the students know anything. This school does offer some of the hardest classes and does prepare you for college. On of my children spends about 3 hours on homework a night and feels they were well prepared for the three AP exams she took. For new students coming in, there should be no worries about not receiving a proper education. Making friends may be harder because these kids have all known each other since they were born. Just give Rogers a shot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Over the years, rogers has become better. Smaller class sizes, more AP courses, and a lot of desire to succeed.


Posted February 19, 2009

To tell you the turth Rogers is an amazing school. Near bye schools, have little to no diversity in them., Rogers is full of diversity. In the real world nothing is perfect and the same. Rogers has a great athletic program (rogers is one of the smallest schools in the state [enrollment wise], but still competes against D1 sports and many grads play in d1 d2 and d3 in college), it has great history, the teachers challange each and every student, the AP program is top of the line, The community is so involved and supportive. Rogers is an excellent school. Its top of the line in my eyes. Go Vikings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I'm a junior. Honestly, Rogers is whatever you make out of it. To have fun here, you have to be involved in some way, whether it is the theater company, sports, our community school that's starting to gain some steam, and music programs. Agreed, the music programs are starting to lack. Teachers are usually very willing to help students out who are struggling. You'll get some shining star teachers, others that are much less than exciting. Rogers is slowly getting stronger and stronger within academics so I expect great things coming from Rogers in the future. If I had another chance, I would be torn. I like some of the teachers here and absolutely love the theater program, but I wished that I went to a school that had much more AP classes. Still, Rogers is great for me. I am happy there. I feel like I'll be prepared for the real world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

I owe all of my success to this school. THis truly is an excellent school.


Posted June 24, 2008

I have two children at Rogers and the school is excellent. The principal is very involved and they have a very good AP program. In addition, Rogers, and the Newport School System, is very diversified and that is a real positive. Today's workplace is diversified and I believe that schools, like Rogers, better prepare students for the future. It is too bad that so many parents in Newport send their children to private schools...............they really should give the public schools a chance. The student population is such that Rogers may not score incredibly well on the standardized testing, but, there is more to judging a school than a test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Rogers has been fantastic for my children. My son transferred in as a junior and the counselors did everything to help him get the AP courses he needed. He graduates in a week and really enjoyed it. He is a National Merit Semi-Finalist and took three AP courses and thrived. Perfect, no. But they work hard to help the students and bend over backwards to help the military children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

I was a former student of Rogers High School and I would not reccomend this school to anyone. I moved to the Newport community at the start of my high school career and from freshman to senior year my grades gradually decreased. While there are some teachers who deserve praise, for the most part the teachers play favorites and don't seem to expect much from students. Luckily for me I was able to do well enough to get into a good college, but I've had to work extra hard in school to do well because of my poor high school education. I wish that my parents had had the resources to send me to a private school where I could have recieved a much better education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

this school is an amazing school it haqs alot to offfer and i find the teachers very helpful they do not harass or pick on students as some schools do they have wonderful programs and career choices and some one is always there when you need help the teachers are understanding and there is no problems if you want to drop out of the school every thing is fair and really makes learning fun teaches student alot and it iks always a great invorment i recomend this school it is truley wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2007

I have a student at this school and visit often. The teachers are tremendous, the AOIT program at NACTC deserves tremendous praise. The principal provides outstanding leadership. I doubt a better education can be had at any private institution or neighboring school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

We have two children attending Rogers High School and cannot say anything bad about the program, the curriculum, the staff and the administration. My children are learning what they need to know to go on to college and then do very well. Thank you Rogers High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students27%
Female21%
Male37%
Black or African American4%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged students15%
Not economically disadvantaged students34%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English28%
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged students81%
Not economically disadvantaged students88%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Writing

All Students52%
Female57%
Male46%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged students39%
Not economically disadvantaged students61%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 64%
Black 24% 8%
Hispanic 18% 22%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Frank E. Thompson Middle School
St. Michael's Country Day School
Sisters of St. Joseph of Cluny School
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Rhode Island
Brown University
Community College of RI
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Skills USA (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • SADD
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School Based Career Coordinato
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • James Nelson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (401) 849-3295

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School Based Career Coordinato
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Unified Basketball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Unified Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • JROTC
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Boosters Club
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Rhode Island
Brown University
Community College of RI
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School Based Career Coordinato
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Wickham Rd
Newport, RI 02840
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 847-6235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St George's School
Newport, RI


Middletown High School
Middletown, RI


James L Maher School
Middletown, RI



The Prout School
South Kingstown, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT