Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Cecilia School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pawtucket

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $143,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I sent you daughter to this school for 3rd grade not only did they not move forward with the IEP form her previous school but they didn't do anything to let me know she had gone past the point of failure. I was forced to remove my child from the school in order for her to receive all the assistance that is needed to help her progress. The school not only tried to tell me they would not send the paper work to the new school until all the years tuition was paid but then gave an added amount of money owed. among other issues such as teachers and facility quitting in the middle of the school year without notice. This school is terrible and they are not good catholic people they are a scam !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

St. Celia is time andmoney well spent. Students are learning and recieve care and vvalue parents can bank on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

As a parent of a child at St Cecilia's I couldn't be more pleased with the education and overall foundation that my son is getting. He has made great strides in education compared to most of his neighborhood friends who attend pubic schols and is much more respectful of others. He is eager to begin each school day and looks forward to after school activities. It is refreshing to have a warm feeling when you child is happy and you know they are getting the most out of there educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

The comment about not having parties and/or celebrations is NOT true. I had two kids go through this school and I know for a fact that they did celebrate as appropriate. There were lots of special activities provided such as field day, student holiday lunches and an end of year breakfast. I didn't send my kids to school to party. I sent them to get a great education and they got that. They both went on to be very successful in high school and I credit this school with giving them a great start. The teachers are very dedicated. Evidence of this is the fact that many have been there for many years. They are willing to help wherever needed and treat the kids with kindness and respect. That doesn't mean the kids always get what they want. It does mean they get what's best for them. I loved this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

Horrible school, students are never put to their full potential, nor recieve all consequences when in trouble. School barely lets you be a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

My son has had an excellent experience at St. Cecilia's. He loves going to school each day and is excited to learn. Having a foreign language available from the first grade on has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I went to SCS for nine years and I loved it! The teachers are so nice and I still love to go back and visit even though I'm in high school. It is a small school with a family environment. The best teacher was by far Mrs. Martin who challenged her students and Miss Viera who was probably the hardest teacher there. But I loved them all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

students are not held to high enough standaeds


Posted July 24, 2008

It is a fantastic school with a great teaching staff led by the Principal Mrs.Kennedy who does an unbeliveable job and is a great role model for my children. Yes the school is demanding academicly ,but that is what you pay for,to have your child have the best education possible. The only negative would be the amount of children in the second grade class is too high,but this is supposed to be fixed in the upcoming year 2008-2009
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

overall good school, but it is really strict. My biggest complaint is that it is low on creativity and fun in general. They do not have an art program. They don't even allow classroom partys for the holidays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

I would never think of sending my children (3 of them) any where else...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 64%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Black 2% 8%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

755 Central Avenue
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Phone: (401) 723-9463

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Potter-Burns School
Pawtucket, RI



Curvin-Mccabe School
Pawtucket, RI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT