Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Pius V Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 246 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Providence

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

My son has attended St. Pius for 6 years. The Sisters and Brothers set this school apart with a foundation in love and learning beyond any price tag. There are school sports and great music opportunities. The children get along well across grades and seem polite, respectful and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

I originally chose St. Pius V School as a school for my 5 year old son because it came so highly recommended. When I took the school tour they talked about how nurturing they were with their students. Yet, choosing St. Pius V School for my 5 year old son was a big mistake. I am so happy and relieved he no longer attends this school. My son now attends another Catholic school in Providence and he is striving thanks to the love, patience and commitment his kindergarten teacher has for all her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

This is our first year at St. Pius. We have been very pleased with the friendly, respectul atmosphere, the responsiveness of teachers, and a wide variety of extracurricular activities. The Dominican sisters are invaulable for their gentle influence and Christlike witness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

As an educator who has two children attending St. Pius V, our family has been extremely happy with the academic as well as moral education of our children. We were big believers in the 'private, pricey, old boy network'. However, after having our daughter spend a year at St. Pius, we saw how superior this school was to the fancy, overpriced private school our son was attending. The following year, we moved him over to St.Pius, with no regrets! He is now in Honors classes at Lasalle Academy,enjoying every minute! Thank you, teachers and staff! - Mrs.W
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

St. Pius has a great tradition of community and parish involvement. Providence College, located across the street, is also very involved in academic and extracurricular dimensions of the school. The teachers and staff are caring. The Dominican influence has brought a sense of peace and commitment to the parish. Our children are in great hands. There is a drama club, chess club, after school care, scouting, basketball, swim (thanks to Providence College and the use of their facilities). The Priests at the church are very involved and the Youth Ministry is a strong organization. It is overall one of the best places to educate our children, as well as, a great feeling of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

St. Pius V School is a a vey nurturing enviroment for your child. The teachers are the most caring people I have ever come across. They enjoy what they do and really take the time to listen to the children and work with them individually. There are a mixture of Nuns and Lay teachers. The sisters have recently come to our school within the past year and they are wonderful. The whole school is family oriented and we have made many new friends here at St.Pius. I wouldn't put my child anywhere else. It is a wonderful school. Any parent wanting their child to get a top notch education then I would suggest giving our Principal a call and coming to see for yourself what a great school we have at St. Pius V.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

It's a good school now that the nun's have come. It is very big in basketball. other sports are soccer. Over all I give it a 8 out of 10
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 67%
Hispanic 8% 19%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Black 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

49 Elmhurst Avenue
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 421-9750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


La Salle Academy
Providence, RI





Veazie Street School
Providence, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT