Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Providence, RI
Students enrolled: 788
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Wheeler School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
One will never realize how great this school is unless they are exposed to vast majority of public and private schools in RI. In terms of acedemics and sports, Wheeler is so elite it is hard to describe. The number of ivy league acceptances is about 40% of the graduating class (by acceptances/class number). A SAT score of 2000+ is average, and students always strive for A's. We have a great number of nationally ranked athletes (falling shorts to Moses Brown and a few other schools) but still have a great number of college recruited athletes as well. Socially, it is quite hard to fit in, and maintain social image, but you are never ostracized or bullied. The worst that happens is you are labeled "not very popular". Teachers are great as well, on a personal level. I treat many of my teachers like friends.

Wheeler School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Wheeler is an exceptional school -- across the board. I'm the parent of 2 recent grads who followed their own pathways and passions, so my exposure to different elements of the school was considerable. Academically, whether a student is in advanced classes or on a regular track, the teachers are committed and are subject specialists. Students develop a strong academic foundation and build on it in a seemingly limitless way. Athletic programs are superb and varied. Wheeler Farm is an unbelievably sweet facility. The arts and music programs are fantastic. Learning and striving for excellence permeates the environment. There is an aura of respect, kindness, and acceptance. It's a very exciting campus and experience. My kids and their friends were fully prepared (brains, souls, hearts...) to excel at top tier universities both academically and socially. Most important, they loved to get up in the morning and go to school, see their wonderful friends and engage with their caring and capable teachers. No experience is absolutely perfect, but their's probably was, or came very close. We remain grateful to the school. May it continue to inspire many more young minds.


Wheeler School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of a former Hamilton student, Wheeler has embraced the different learning styles of individuals and provides over-the-top support with HASP, Student Fellows and other aids. They are innovative with the use of iPads and other technological tools. As a lower and middle school student, the teachers integrated the Hamilton students with the Wheeler students at lunch and other activities, and all were an integral part of the Wheeler community.

Wheeler School 1

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attend this school and found the female student body to be shallow. The is a focus on material things and who has what. She also had a friend that in eighth grade was told that she would no be able to measure up academically, and was asked to leave. She stayed a has performed well, the administration's top concern is not the student's performance but the impact on SAT scores and destinations matriculation.

Wheeler School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a community member
this school is the best school ever. the teachers actually care about and will spend extra time with you if you need it


Wheeler School 5

Posted August 09, 2011
- a parent
An amazing school that truly makes each child successful in their own way. The parents are warm and welcoming and it is a pleasure to watch my children love their education.

Wheeler School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
This school is worth every penny. The school provided my son a strong foundation for his college experience. Great teachers that care about the student's development and outstanding upper level leadership.

Wheeler School 5

Posted June 16, 2010
- a community member
Wheeler is an excellent school that is extremely supportive of bright, independent, creative kids. Compared with other private schools, it has a strong arts program, students that understand one another's differences, and faculty that reward and foster originality. Junior high school is notorious for being a ferocious, competitive, clique-ish place, but Wheeler doesn't fit that negative stereotype. If you're a parent to someone smart, someone artistic, maybe someone that doesn't fit into the usual molds, Wheeler would be a really good fit.


Wheeler School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My children received a fantastic education at the Wheeler school. Kudos to Wheeler's teachers! They're the best!!

Wheeler School 5

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
Wheeler is an amazing school for all kids. They challenge all the children at their levels so if your child needs extra support, they get it and if your child needs to be given enrichment in a subject they get it as well. The teachers are fantastic as is the administration of the school. My experience with the families has been incredibly positive as well. Wheeler truly creates a community to which you all belong.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wheeler School
216 Hope Street, Providence, RI  02906
(401) 421-8100
Last modified Wheeler School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Wheeler School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top