Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woonsocket High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2011

I went to woonsocket middle school for three years and woonsocket highschool for one. I hated my whole woonsocket school experience, I had some close friends, but I got picked on by A LOT of the students there. Plus, the teachers have a lot of kids in their classrooms and they can't pay attention to all of them individually.


Posted November 17, 2011

There are a few great teachers in this school, but a few is not enough to make a great school. The amount of homework and the length of assignments given to the students are ridiculous and not fair for a high school student. "College Prep" students are receiving harder and lengthier work than the "Honor" and "AP" students. The recent change back to a Period system instead of a block schedule has also set this school even further behind. Students are now crammed with so much info in one day that there is no way they will be able to retain it properly. The school has went backwards in terms of advancement for the education of the youth. I won't even mention the school's participation in the NECAP.


Posted October 28, 2011

This year's high school football team was mentioned on a USA forum as being named the worst HS football team in the country for 2011.


Posted April 12, 2009

I am a junior i WHS. Most teachers are extremely deticated to their students and more than helpful. The problem with this school is the stupid tardy and attendence policys! you only get four days to be absent in a quarter and if your late you have to miss a whole class .. Even if it is just one minute that your late. And if your absent 5 times in a quarter you get 10 points takin off your average. I hate that about this schooooooooooooool
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

I am a senior at Woonsocket High School. I've been here for four years, and I absolutely love it! We have one of the highest ranked music departments in the area, our sports teams are competitive and fun, and students here get a quality education. The teachers here truly care about their students, and they go above and beyond their required work to help the students. Sure there are occasional fights and such, but what school doesn't have them? If you're not ignorant, and you mind your own business you're completely fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

I am a current 9th grader , and this school is terrible. There are so many gang related fights. And its a hidious school with all its horrible traits, Dont go there
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2004

The school is definatly a great school. They have a large diverse student population. The only downside that I've seen so far is the Lunch staff. If your child doesn't know their I.D. number the lunch staff calls them stupid. I wouldn't recommend letting your child buy lunch there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

I'm a transfer student from the Cumberland system. I'm taking Automotive at the Career Center. Woonsocket is a great school. The teachers are great and actually seem to like the students they teach. They support us and help us as much as they can, not to mention everything actually works properly. I haven't met all the teachers I'll have this year, but I've heard good things about them all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2004

I have only been involved with WHS since the beginning of school year 2003-2004. This school has done wonders with my son. He prior school actually told him he was stupid and shouldn't look forward to much from his life. Wrong. WHS has helped my son realize he is not stupid and he has a lot to offer. He now carries a B average in school. He is happier than I thought he would be and he will graduate from high school to receive his diploma. I say kudos to WHS for digging in their heels to provide all these children what ever resources necessary to help them become success no matter what that would be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
13%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students21%
Female15%
Male26%
Black or African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
Multiracial18%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander31%
White (not Hispanic)24%
Economically disadvantaged students13%
Not economically disadvantaged students32%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities2%
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English22%
Not migrant21%

Reading

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
Multiracial45%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander88%
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged students63%
Not economically disadvantaged students77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant70%

Writing

All Students34%
Female39%
Male28%
Black or African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
Multiracial45%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander44%
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged students24%
Not economically disadvantaged students47%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English36%
Not migrant34%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 64%
Hispanic 27% 22%
Black 10% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

777 Cass Ave
Woonsocket, RI 02895
Phone: (401) 767-4707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Viola M Berard School
Woonsocket, RI



Beacon Charter School
Woonsocket, RI


Cumberland High School
Cumberland, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT